Customer Reviews for

Unbroken

Average Rating 4
( 274 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(137)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely Breathtaking... If anyone is ever to ask me why I ta

Absolutely Breathtaking...

If anyone is ever to ask me why I take a chances with reading self published/indie authors, or wonders if they themselves should bother, I will point them in the direction of this book. This is why right here. Sure they're not all going to be...
Absolutely Breathtaking...

If anyone is ever to ask me why I take a chances with reading self published/indie authors, or wonders if they themselves should bother, I will point them in the direction of this book. This is why right here. Sure they're not all going to be winners but when you find one like Unbroken it makes it worth it.

I was captivated from the prologue and was basically breathless all the way through to the end. I think when it comes down to it all women...okay I'll change that because some of you will argue with me...a good percentage of us, we want that hurricane described in the prologue. A steady breeze is fine, every now and again. It may be steady. It may be reliable. But it leaves you wanting. We need that hurricane. It whips through and makes you feel alive. It may leave things messy and full of destruction, but if you can ride it out... that hurricane, in the end becomes your steady breeze. I for one...want that hurricane. Which is one of the things that makes this book so great. It allows you to feel like maybe that's all possible.

Because holy book boy hotness batman... Emerson is a freaking hurricane! In the beginning I briefly felt sorry for Daniel. Trust me it didn't last. He even kind of irritated me at one point! I mean he was a nice guy and all but he was far from perfect. He didn't inspire the passion that Emerson does. Okay I'm on the verge of full on swoon mode so *deep breath* I'm done. Ha! Juliet is so great to follow and easy to love. To me, she didn't have any of those annoying habits or weaknesses that so many leading female characters do these days. I mean she had weaknesses but they were warranted and not ones that had you dreading turning another page. Ohhhhh and Lacey. I love this character so much. I want a friend like her in real life. The girl seriously cracks me up. And (hint, hint) I'm hoping (hint, hint) that maybe (hint, hint) possibly (hint, hint) that Lacey might (hint, hint) get her own book maybe? Pretty please? *Nudges Melody Grace with elbow* (hint, hint)!! Ha! I can only hope... :)

This book is so full of emotions and I felt, right along side with Juliet, every one of them. The sadness, the frustration, the anger, feeling as if my heart was broken in a million pieces, the moments of happiness and oh my word the absolute mind blowing passion between Juliet and Emerson. Wow. There are no words. No seriously Melody Grace used them all already!

I devoured this book and now that it's done I feel a bit of a loss, sad that it's over. I fall in love with books a lot. All the time really. But every once in a while I feel a special connection to one, not out of the fact that I feel like I can relate to what's going on, I don't know. Maybe it's being able to connect to the passion that the author pours into their work at the time, there are some that it just comes across stronger than the others and I can feel the emotions they're trying to imply. Feel along with the characters. Fall in love with them. And then when it's over and when they're gone it's like you've lost something. I don't know, I'm just being silly and blabbing here! Basically I just wasn't ready for this one to be over okay? Okay!

Quite obviously I think everyone should read this book. It's hard to believe this is a debut novel! It seems like Melody Grace has been doing this for years.

posted by Sheri_B1975 on March 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

!

Another possible good book ruined by plot spoilers. One even quoted passages from the book. That is going too far. Bn, do something to these arrogant, egotistical ppl. They should be banned immediately!!!!!

posted by 8888649 on March 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 274 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Nice, quick read

    The story was ok. Felt too rushed.
    It was a wham, bam thank you read.
    No real substance.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Predictable & immature

    Dont waste your money. Another weak weepy main character who cant possibly make ir without her man. Pathetic

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Great book

    Oh my. Beautiful.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    The author, Melody Grace so nicely provided me with an eARC copy

    The author, Melody Grace so nicely provided me with an eARC copy of this book and it was such a great early birthday surprise! I was up until 1 am finishing this book because I couldn’t put it down.
    This book was about a woman named Juliet that had to return to a place that she ran away from due to heartbreak. Tragedy brings her back to a place she thought she’d never have to return to. I was hooked from the prologue!

    My favorite quote of this book had to be the first few sentences…"My mom always said there are two kinds of love in this world; the steady breeze and the hurricane…”. Emerson Ray was Juliet’s hurricane. I enjoyed the flow of this story and the flashbacks of what happened to Juliet and Emerson. The author did a great job keeping you on edge, wanting more. I became so engrossed in the story because I needed to know what happened in the past.Juliet has to be one of my favorite female characters in a book. Although she felt weak, the fact that she had the courage to get past heartbreak and face the past, head on, demonstrates her strength and her belief in love. What about Emerson Ray, you ask? Wow.  He is hot, strong, and the book boyfriend that will make everyone swoon. Seriously. He is the epitome of what true love means (go read and you’ll see what I mean!)My favorite  non-spoiler quote of this book that pretty much sums up what made me love it was  “Because I realize now, that’s the way it works. That if you’re lucky, you might get to fall in love so hard and so deep that it changes you. That love seeps its way into every atom and molecule in your whole being….". I have read countless amount of new adult books, but the way this one is written is just beautiful. The way the author allows you to experience the story rather than tell it.  You get to see what Juliet is thinking while it’s happening. I really enjoyed how well the story flowed.
    This author really has a gift with words.  Even the steamy scenes are amazingly written. 
    Did I cry? Of course I did. I will not say why, because that would be giving away the story. What I can say is that this book is seriously a great love story full of angst, sadness, and every emotion out there. I believe this is a stand-alone. While I would love to hear more about these characters, I believe the author did a great job of wrapping things up. However, I would not complain of more Emerson and Juliet. Thanks to Melody for allowing me into the hearts of Emerson and Juliet before it’s released to the rest of the world. If this is any indication of what’s to come, you have a fan in me.  I highly recommend this book to anyone who believes in true love.  

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Sweet story

    Love, sacrifices and lost are all part of the story that leads to a HEA. Easy to read. I did find some spelling errors and editing issues but nothing crazy that would make the book horrible. My only negative comment is that the author uses to MANY exclamations points which did drive me crazy! LOL

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Disappointed

    This story certainly has potential but fell flat. The story line was very simple and "duh". It pulled me in and left me wanting more (expecting more) but didn't deliver. It almost seems as though the author was given an assignment to write this novel in an hour or with using as few words as possible. AND don't even get me started on the editing or lack there of; it completely ruined the end of the story for me. This story would make a horrible cheesey chick flick movie so if I were you I would wait to watch it on Lifetime....if you really need to know what happens.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    It really moved me

    I love the way the author makes you feel the love juliet feels for emerson so strong and pure it was a little predictable but overall I enjoyed it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    No.

    Seriously, why does this have so many good reviews? This book is predictable and unrealistic. The sex scenes are chapters long , way too rauchy and boring. A wanna-be of The Notebook. Don't waste your time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Awesome book

    I loved this book. It drew me right in and i felt everything juliet was feeling. It is amazing when a writer can draw you in like thata. If you are looking for a great story to read this book is it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Read it this weekend, a really great read! I hope Melody writes

    Read it this weekend, a really great read! I hope Melody writes more of these!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Love

    This was a beautiful story! The writting kept you on the edge of your seat, and begging for more! I couldn't put it down!!!! I am a sap for a good romance, and this hit the spot!!! I love the fight in them, and the passion in every word! I didn't want it to end! This is a MUST read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    I couldn't put this book down. Read the whole thing in one sitti

    I couldn't put this book down. Read the whole thing in one sitting. There were parts that made me sad, parts that broke my heart and made me cry, and parts that made me happy. I would read more books by this author. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Wonderfully written!

    I was almost instantly captivated. The story of everlasting love through life and distance is one that will keep you engaged through the end. A love lost isnt always a love forgotten: that rings true in this story. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Loved it!

    Great book. Kept my intrest, was hard to put down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Loved it!!!!!

    Had alll the elements i love. Hot guy, heart breaking love triangle, passionate all consuming sex scenes, and most importantly well written. I can't wait for this author to write another book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Omg

    I'm about halfway done with this book and its so very good . I'm having to force myself to do everyday necessary things. I just do not want to put it down , the story sucks you in and puts you on the edge of your seat. I was hesitant about getting this ebook because I had never heard of this author before. But I'm really glad I took the chance. So if your debating on whether or not to get this please do you won't be sorry. I personally can not wait for this particular authors next book. She could become one of my favorites .;-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2013

    Enjoyed it

    Enjoyed it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Love love love this story!!

    Such a refreshing story. A very quick and delightful read. I'm going to check out this authors other work!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Omg

    This book was amazing! I couldnt put it down! I loved every minute of it! Loveeeee

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Good Book

    The read was great. The writing smooth with minimal editing errors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 274 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14