Customer Reviews for

Uncertain Magic

Average Rating 3.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Teen age favorite

When I was a teen in the 80s, I devoured romance novels, and this one was my very favorite. I loved the mysticism of it, the strength of both characters and the way she developed the love triangle. It didn't fit the normal pattern of historical romances of the time. Tod...
When I was a teen in the 80s, I devoured romance novels, and this one was my very favorite. I loved the mysticism of it, the strength of both characters and the way she developed the love triangle. It didn't fit the normal pattern of historical romances of the time. Today, I saw this addtion at the Barnes and Noble in my home town, and I cried! I thought it was out of print. It immediately took me back to being 16 and fascinated by the world of fairy tale romance. This book is a great escape and well worth the read.

posted by bandnerdtx on September 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disapointing

Both hero and heroine underwhelming, plot involving fairy magic and Irish rebeliion equally so.. only high point is the pet pig.

posted by Bananaface on July 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Booo

    Couldn't even finish this! Ugh!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Disapointing

    Both hero and heroine underwhelming, plot involving fairy magic and Irish rebeliion equally so.. only high point is the pet pig.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Teen age favorite

    When I was a teen in the 80s, I devoured romance novels, and this one was my very favorite. I loved the mysticism of it, the strength of both characters and the way she developed the love triangle. It didn't fit the normal pattern of historical romances of the time. Today, I saw this addtion at the Barnes and Noble in my home town, and I cried! I thought it was out of print. It immediately took me back to being 16 and fascinated by the world of fairy tale romance. This book is a great escape and well worth the read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2004

    terrible story

    this was not her best work. this book was very busy and confusing. too many things going on and way too many charactures.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kinsale creates magic in Uncertain Magic

    Roderica Delamore has been gifted with the ability to feel and experience the emotions of everyone around her, both in humans and animals, which she oftentimes feels is more of a curse than a blessing. She fears that she will never experience love or have a family, until she meets The Devil Earl, who seems to be the one person that she cannot "feel", so she offers him her fortune in the hopes of having an amicable marriage of convenience with the dream of a loving relationship.

    Faelan, The Devil Earl, is a brooding and haunted hero who believes the worst of himself and decides to throw caution to the wind at an early age and earn the title he has been given. His past and his memories surrounding the death of his father have led him and the Ton to believe that he murdered his father. His guilt drives him to lead a life of reckless abandon, until he finds Roddy. She becomes his desperate chance to save his soul as well as his Irish estate.

    Their journey to love takes them from the English countryside, to the hustle and bustle of London, and finally to the wilds of the Irish estate that had been abandoned and neglected where they find themselves embroiled an Irish revolt against English rule, as well as Faery magic. Roddy and Fealan's story is rich in emotion, love and experiences that I loved from beginning to the end.

    I loved UNCERTAIN MAGIC! It's not a new release, rather a re-release of the same title previously published in 1987. I found it interesting that it felt like a book that was written decades ago, not because it seems dated, but because the plot is much more expansive than romance novels that are currently being published. It's approximately 455 pages, whereas most romances today are usually no more than 350 pages (if that), and I think that allowed the author much more freedom to explore the hero and heroines love story in much more depth with many twists and turns that me guessing right up until the end. I would have given it a perfect 5.0 stars, but I thought the ending was a little weak after the magic of the rest of the story. I highly recommend it to anyone who loves historical romance....with just a touch of magic.


    Favorite Pivotal Moment (the heroine is gifted with the ability to read peoples minds, which has been a blessing and a curse, and until this moment has never been able to read her husbands mind)

    "He was not the Devil Earl--he was only a man, and he needed her. Wanted her. Let her look at him and see into his soul laid bare and still loved her, with a fierceness that made her want to laugh and cry at once. The way he saw her....she never would have guessed: her strangeness he thought beautiful; her obstinance he called courage; her childish whims were joy and laughter to him, who had never known innocent laughter before." p. 477-478

    Overall: 4.50 stars
    Sensuality level: 3.0 (while the love scenes are not lengthy or as detailed as romances currently published, our hero is a very passionate man)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Wow! A Keeper!

    If you've never read a Laura Kinsale novel, read one. Now. I'd heard how wonderful her historical romances were, but, somehow, I never got around to reading one.

    What a mistake.

    UNCERTAIN MAGIC is a vivid, atmospheric tale of deceptive appearances, high stakes, and wrenching emotion. Set in late Georgian England and Ireland, the novel adds Irish magic and mystery to a can't-put-down, sweeping drama of two misfits who find their fit with each other.

    Roderica can read minds. The constant intrusion of others' thoughts is so painful, she fears she will never wed--until she encounters Faelan, "The Devil Earl", the only man whose mind is opaque to her power. Faelan needs money to resurrect his impoverished estate. Roderica has a large dowry. Without telling him of her unusual ability, she encourages him to seek her hand in marriage. Faelan harbors his own secrets. Is he really the devil, as his nickname implies?

    Against the terror and tumult of the doomed 1798 Irish rebellion, Roderica and Faelan, afraid to trust each other, risk their love, their sanity, and their very lives.

    UNCERTAIN MAGIC was first published in 1987 and time hasn't diminished the power and appeal of this early paranormal. I especially like that Ms. Kinsale has written two of my favorite characters, the strong heroine and the wronged, decent hero.

    UNCERTAIN MAGIC is a keeper. I look forward to my next Laura Kinsale novel.

    ARC provided by Sourcebooks

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Uncertain Magic

    Uncertain Magic is a fun regency romance with a full complement of villains. The romantic lead, Faelan Savigar, the "Devil Earl," has a dangerous reputation and dark moods. While his reputation would lead most women to avoid him, Roderica Delamore isn't like most other women. She has a gift of being able to see what is actually there - she isn't tempted away or fooled by the fae. Somehow she sees the good in the Devil Earl and she's able to draw out his better nature.

    Not everyone is happy for the two lovers. They come across danger and opposition soon enough. When Roderica and the Earl try to stand true to each other and their love, it seems like everything will work against them.

    Uncertain Magic is a lovely historical romance -- full of ups and downs, excitement and romance. It's the sort of historical romance that's perfect for a lazy day in the park or a rainy day at home.

    ISBN-10: 1402237022 - Mass Market Paperback
    Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca (May 4, 2010), 385 pages.
    Review copy provided by the publisher.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Uncertain Magic

    My Synopsis:

    Uncertain Magic by Laura Kinsale

    Roddy can't decide if her "talent" is a gift or a curse. Being able to read the minds of every living creature around her, may sound like fun, but for Roddy it can be overwhelming. When Roddy meets, the "Devil Earl", Faelan Savigar she is shocked to realize that she cannot hear anything from him. Roddy realizes that this may be her only chance at a normal life. Who wants to marry a wife who can read their every thought? But the Lord of Iveragh has secrets of his own. His reputation precedes him and Roddy's family worries for her safety.

    When Roddy and Faelan marry, Roddy assumes it will be a marriage of convenience. Faelan needs her money to save his estate in Ireland and she wants to marry and have children. But, does she dare hope that the stories of Lord Iveragh are only rumors? Is it possible that he could love her and no other? Faelan has been plagued by bouts with what he calls "lost time", from his childhood. He just doesn't remember! His deep secrets threaten to ruin their happiness. Will Roddy's gift be able to save him from his aliment or will it destroy him?

    My Thoughts:

    Ireland is a land of mist and magic. Laura Kinsale draws on the legends and fairy tales of Ireland to bring Uncertain Magic to life. Uncertain Magic is a re-issue from 1987, and was Laura Kinsale's second novel. In 1987 the genre of "paranormal" romance didn't exist. This novel was a forerunner to the explosion of books we are now seeing with "magical" themes. Whether is be vampires and werewolves or more subtle elements like Roddy's gift of reading minds, paranormal romances have taken the book community by storm.

    In Uncertain Magic, Laura Kinsale uses characters that uncommon. They aren't your average Lord and Lady. Roderica's, character is torn between believing her 'talent' is a gift or a curse. She desperately wants to find love, but believes it is beyond her ability because no one wants to be with someone who lays them bare and vulnerable. Faelan's character is the strong and silent type, but we soon learn it is because he fears himself more than anything else. Both characters are have faults, but that makes them all the more accessible. We as readers, want to see them overcome their fears and find love.

    I really liked the way, Kinsale used point of view in this book. The story is primarily told from Roddy's perspective. We don't get to see what's going on Faelan's mind until the very end of the book. Though we are able to glean a lot from his actions we can't see him clearly and that adds a lot of mystery to his character. I think this is a very powerful tool in the writer's arsenal

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    Both Faelen and Roderica have their share of secrets. Faelen isn't exactly a gentleman but Roderica finds him fascinating. She has the power to read the thoughts of others, well, except when it comes to Faelen. He is in need of money and it just so happens that Roderica is willing to share hers with him in exchange for marriage.

    This wasn't one of my favorite books, but it did have some fun elements. I liked that it incorporated a little bit of everything. There were moments when it was downright hilarious and others that were touching.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2006

    Funny, isn't it?

    Funny how people can have such differing opinions. This is one of my favorite books ever, yes it has some weaknesses but very special moments!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1