Customer Reviews for

Uncle Tom's Cabin: Or Life Among the Lowly

Average Rating 4
( 329 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(162)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Very realistic!

Uncle Tom's Cabin is an eloquent classic that vividly exposes the brutality of slavery. The personality and morals of various characters in the novel really engage one's attention, reflecting the mindsets of individuals from 19th Century Southern Society. Although an ex...
Uncle Tom's Cabin is an eloquent classic that vividly exposes the brutality of slavery. The personality and morals of various characters in the novel really engage one's attention, reflecting the mindsets of individuals from 19th Century Southern Society. Although an extremely long read with an uninteresting plot, the novel's realistic and gruesome account of the lives of slaves will surely astonish and intrigue the reader.

posted by Anonymous on October 3, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Do not buy this!!!!

This is only the first 4 chapters!!!!!!!! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by 15572509 on December 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Wow

    This was a very touching story and a hard read as a 12 year old. However, Tom, going through a few different masrers ranging from luxurious to abusive, and Eva, a religous kind girl were very inspiring and brought me to tears. I recomend this book, but be prepared for a heartbreak at humankind's cruelty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    To jeremy

    I am there

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Lights everything on fire

    *runs around*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Inexpensive paperback.

    Another paperback edition of an historical classic; I wanted this for my grandson who is a history buff, but I am disappointed in the quality of the edition. I am interested in purchasing books with a lasting value. Otherwise, I prefer to use the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    what is it about. What is it about?

    Heard of this not sure what it is about tho.. can someone explain it briefly?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Ehh...

    I dont want to give a bad review seeing as i didnt really get past the fourth chapter but i really couldnt get into the story..and a lot of the language is hard to follow..and the pages are always way off and hard to tell when the next chapter will be. Overall it just wasnt a story i could get into very well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Does this book haave its orginal language

    I havent read the book yet but does it have the orginal language

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    Great

    Must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    A classic, but a little long winded

    Uncle Tom's cabin is a classic that you really should read. My knock is that it is just a little long and I found myself ready for it to be over. I finished reading it because I didn't want to give up at the end. That being said I am glad I read the book I have heard so much about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2003

    Uncle Tom's Cabin

    Uncle Tom's Cabin by Harriet Beecher Stowe is a book about a slave (Tom) who is getting switched from owner to owner. When reading this book, the harsh life of a slave is examined through Tom's encounters. This book had a good but sad ending and the beginning was fairly good as well. However, I feel that the book was a little bit hard to understand and too slow paced. But that is also because I am a 14 year old reader and Stowe most likely did not intend to have her books read by such a young audience. Overall, I recommend this book so your eyes can be open to the lifestyle a slave lived.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2003

    A younger view

    Bob Rhodes 03/07/03 Period 2 Back when the slave trade was booming in America and cannons had stopped, plantations were popping up everywhere in the south. Most of these were tobacco and cotton plantations, both of which required heavy labor. Thus, the landowners needed slaves to do the work for them. The book Uncle Tom¿s Cabin, one of the best slave-topic books written in the nineteenth century, written by Harriet Beecher Stowe is a classic. It follows a slave mother named Eliza who worked in her master¿s home along with her child. They lived with their masters who, in her eyes, were very kind and unlike any of the other slave masters she had seen or heard about. When a slave trader visits and take a liking to Eliza and her son, whom had performed for the trader, that the masters, Mr. And Mrs. Shelby, fall into finical debt. The couples are then forced to part. When they are then placed with Uncle Tom on the plantation in a small town in Kentucky. The book is told in third person view, so we can get a better visualization of the area. The conflicts faced are racism, retaliation, and prejudice. The main theme of the story is that the life of the slaves is hard and painful lives on plantations. On the plantation they interact with other slaves, such as a young girl whose maturity is well beyond her age, and the sinful trader Haley abuses them. The books strong points are that it really goes into religious opinions, the people can compare real people to the characters, and because of that there are many clichés that are used in causal conversation. The conflicts are also a strong point by the means that they happened a lot in that time period. The constant whipping was a fact, and most slaves died because of their master(s). Some weak points of this novel are the scenery descriptions and the somewhat confusing parts from which they go from one person¿s thoughts to that same person talking and then to another person¿s thoughts and speech. In conclusion, this book is a must read for many people, especially the people who are interested in the American history or their heritage if they are African-American. Also if you are looking for a good book to read, this might not be your first choice but if you are feeling like getting a slightly better view on slavery, this is the book. I would describe this book as a page-turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2001

    Good Book

    I had to read this book last year for reading class. I thought it was great for people who love history. This book does help you with history. This is a good get into the story kind of books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3