Customer Reviews for

Uncle Tom's Cabin: Or Life Among the Lowly

Average Rating 4
( 331 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(164)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Very realistic!

Uncle Tom's Cabin is an eloquent classic that vividly exposes the brutality of slavery. The personality and morals of various characters in the novel really engage one's attention, reflecting the mindsets of individuals from 19th Century Southern Society. Although an ex...
Uncle Tom's Cabin is an eloquent classic that vividly exposes the brutality of slavery. The personality and morals of various characters in the novel really engage one's attention, reflecting the mindsets of individuals from 19th Century Southern Society. Although an extremely long read with an uninteresting plot, the novel's realistic and gruesome account of the lives of slaves will surely astonish and intrigue the reader.

posted by Anonymous on October 3, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Do not buy this!!!!

This is only the first 4 chapters!!!!!!!! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by 15572509 on December 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2007

    Very realistic!

    Uncle Tom's Cabin is an eloquent classic that vividly exposes the brutality of slavery. The personality and morals of various characters in the novel really engage one's attention, reflecting the mindsets of individuals from 19th Century Southern Society. Although an extremely long read with an uninteresting plot, the novel's realistic and gruesome account of the lives of slaves will surely astonish and intrigue the reader.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Classic

    After so many years i finally read this classic and i must say its an emotional rollercoaster.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Great book.

    Something that everyone should read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    good but sad

    Good book but sad how slaves lived that way

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Thought provoking

    Made me think of slavery in a whole new way. Highly recommended reading material.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Emma**

    "Well...what?"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Emma

    "Yes." She nodded softly, pressing into him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Riveria

    "Mornin'"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Loved it

    For the lovers of slave narratives this is a must

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Love the history

    In social astudies we learned a bout this book and how presadint lincon told harriot beacher stowe that she was the little woman that started the war and i totally bilive it know that i read this i also love the history in this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Good book. Hard to read sometime because of the dialect used but you can normally figure out what they are saying. Tom was very patient and a caring person. Brings Jesus into your heart what his touching words. Recommend to everyone to read. Does have a lot of really UGLY scenes lije you would expect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Avery

    Really? Really? You guys sound extremely desperate right now...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Great book

    I'd heard of this book for forever and finally decided to read it. It was written about 10 years prior to the Civil War, so it's nice to see what people were thinking and what was going on during this time period. I found myself wishing the author wasn't so wordy a lot of the time, but other books of this period also use more words than required to tell the story. As a person from the Deep South, I felt that Stowe was fair in her description of slave owners from Kentucky, New Orleans and southern plantations - some were good and some not so good (putting it very mildly). Glad that I bought and read the book. I bought the 99 cent ebook version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    recommend it.

    it is a good book if you are into history. i love old things and reading old books like this one is an adventure to me...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    Typos

    Just so all u people out there know the "typos" in this book are just how they spoke baxk then

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Thought Provoking!

    I downloaded the free copy and it was full of typos but I did enjoy the story nonetheless. My heart breaks for poor Uncle Tom who suffered so much and had no chance to see his wife or children ever again. Slavery was a such shameful time in history!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Uncle Tom's Cabin - remarkable

    Everyone should read this book. What an outrage. So glad the author depicted the South and lead us through this horrible time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2007

    good read

    I enjoyed this book. The book is well-written and easy to read. I found myself laughing and crying with the characters. They were easy to get to know and to love. However, this book also gave the reader an insight to the personal happiness and peace one can get when he sticks to his beliefs and convictions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2003

    Uncle Tom's Cabin

    Uncle Tom's Cabin is overall a pretty good book that has some amazing and tense parts. However, some parts are very slow and lagging with a point. This book is mainly about a slave (Tom) who is switched from master to master and the reader examines what Tom has to endure while being a slave for different people. Along the way he meets nice people, mean, half hearted people, and kind, pure hearted people. Some are kids like Topsy who is a troublemaking slave, and masters who have no heart whatsoever. This book is sometimes with a very happy tone, but it can also be extremely sad. These mood tones are what keeps you reading so you can find out what happens next. I highly recommend this classic to all readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2003

    Good Book, Bad Message

    Uncle Tom's Cabin was a great novel, full of plot twists that never failed to hold my attention. The sadness brought tears while the happiness brought smiles. However, as entertaining as the book was, it was full of racism and stereotypes that have continued to this day. Harriet Beecher Stowe did not know what kind of a monster she had created.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4