Customer Reviews for

Uncle Tom's Cabin: Or, Life Among the Lowly

Average Rating 4
( 331 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(164)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Very realistic!

Uncle Tom's Cabin is an eloquent classic that vividly exposes the brutality of slavery. The personality and morals of various characters in the novel really engage one's attention, reflecting the mindsets of individuals from 19th Century Southern Society. Although an ex...
Uncle Tom's Cabin is an eloquent classic that vividly exposes the brutality of slavery. The personality and morals of various characters in the novel really engage one's attention, reflecting the mindsets of individuals from 19th Century Southern Society. Although an extremely long read with an uninteresting plot, the novel's realistic and gruesome account of the lives of slaves will surely astonish and intrigue the reader.

posted by Anonymous on October 3, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Do not buy this!!!!

This is only the first 4 chapters!!!!!!!! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by 15572509 on December 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 67 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2002

    A Sad State of Affairs

    I am aghast to think that there was ever a time in our American history when such oppressive laws, allowing slavery, were in effect. In a land of brave men who fought and died for liberty from the tyranny of Britain, it's hard to imagine that they could inflict such tyranny on others. This book is a heart-wrenching portrayal of the evils of the institution of slavery. It's definitely not a story for you, if you're looking for an uplifting read. But, if you are looking for a book which may bring a glistening tear to the eye every now and then, and which will cause your blood to boil at the cruel injustices inflicted upon some of the characters, this is it! I must admit that the first half of the book, at times, struggled to keep my attention. And the author, in my humble opinion, jumped from one character's story to another too often, leaving a character hanging in a suspenseful position for several chapters, before getting back to his/her story. But, overall, the book is a good, entertaining, if heart-breaking, read. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2002

    good classic

    this book was very good and I am glad I read it. It was a little long in parts but overall it gives you a very good sense of what slavery was like and some insight into the minds of plantation owners. Quite sad at the end though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2002

    read it+don't leve it!!!!!

    This book is one of the unic books that everybody has to read.....im really serious, believe me, you won't regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2002

    Makes You think!

    I am in the midst of reading it, and what I learned in our history class this book is good. THe author wrote about the ways slaves were treated back in the 1800s and it makes you think about the way things are now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2002

    Good Book

    Uncle Tom's Cabin, although in some parts a bit melodramatic, is a great read. The novel (especially at the end) is quite compelling, and informing as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2001

    ATTENTION, Readers!!!!!

    Uncle Tom's Cabin is known to be the most popular book in the world on African-American Slavery. The book was written by Harriet Beecher Stowe who was born on June 14, in Litchfield, Connecticut. When the book first came out in 1852, slaveholders dammed it as a pack of lies. But the fact was Stowe was African-American who actually was exposed to slavery and abolitionism, witnessed racism. Uncle Tom's Cabin is the greatest fiction success of the nineteenth century. When a Boston publisher first published the book, 10,000 copies were sold the first week. Uncle Tom's Cabin is about African-American slaves and the slaveholders. Uncle Tom is a slave who gets sold from place to place, and the book bases on his life story and other slaves around him. Stowe points out that the slaves wanted nothing, but freedom. Stowe went in great detail about how slaves were treated and abused by holders. Uncle Tom's Cabin is the most powerful work of art ever written about American slavery. I strongly recommend this book to everyone who wants to know more about the slavery or is looking for something great to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2001

    For American History enthusiasts, not beach bums.

    If you are looking for a page flipping beach read, I would not recommend Uncle Tom¿s Cabin because it¿s purpose is not to please the reader, but rather to inform the reader in the most accountable way possible about the institution of slavery. History enthusiasts, on the other hand, would enjoy this book in order to expand their perspectives and knowledge on nineteenth century American History. Harriet Beecher Stowe is known as the 'lady who started the big war (Civil)' during the peek of the American antebellum dissent, when blacks were not citizens and had no rights. Uncle Tom¿s Cabin is not a novel. It was used for abolitionist propaganda. Stowe wrote it to educate readers how awful and degrading the curse of slavery was to people and mankind. Uncle Tom¿s Cabin is most widely praised for its characters. While some think the main characters represent the two opposing extremes of saintly and evil, they fail to notice how all of the other characters fill in the spectrum of humanity. Stowe did this for a reason, to appeal to all different types of readers. This makes the book an interesting and the plot a thrilling journey. The scenes are eventful and thought provoking due to their diversity. They are full of high and low emotions, and skip from happy to sad scenes, which help the reader maintain a compassion for the characters. This creates characters which a reader will remember their whole lives. Throughout the book the characters are strong, resourceful, and respectable, thus defying the stereotypes placed upon their shoulders today. One cannot help feel empathetic for the characters who are good and honorable, or bad and flawed. Sometimes Stowe will lecture her reader, through first person, with her own added commentary and opinions. This enriches the book, making it easier to understand from her point of view, therefore opening up the reader¿s mind to think outside of it¿s own comfort zones. For instance, she often refers to Biblical references in order to claim that Christianity defended slavery. This tugs at the readers rising emotion. The accuracy of the story is factual, with added underground railroad and slave trade commerce scenes. Even though it is a bit melodramatic, it still keeps the same basic trends throughout the whole story, encouraging people of faith to express it everyday. Stowe lived in Kentucky, near Ohio, which was the boundary between free and slave states. This is where she sought stories from the black slaves in order to help her write this book. Nothing is significantly inaccurate in the story, for if there were, those who converted into abolitionist¿s after its publishing, would¿ve chosen to stay down south. Even though the ending is a bit unbelievable, and Stowe holds stereotypes against some of her characters, the insignificant impact to the book as whole is relatively small. Many think the language and some of the attitudes are outdated in Uncle Tom¿s Cabin, however, this does not keep it from withstanding the test of time. The nineteenth century era allows the reader to ease into a mindset which is passionate and compelling. Xolani Guanede, a critic from Johannesburg, South Africa proclaims, 'Love it or hate it, you can¿t ignore it!' Uncle Tom¿s cabin was written to educate people about the many perspectives and horrors of the institution of slavery in the 1850¿s in America. If you don¿t want to learn about the history, don¿t bother lifting a finger to hit the shopping cart button.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2001

    the light beneath the darkness

    This is a great story, i recomend it, we can learn about history and can see the great writting style from the author. Is a very interesting story, where slaves have a spot of light in their darkness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2001

    A powerful story

    This is a good book that made me feel sad. I am not against those who are for antislavery. We have seven kids (4 of whom are black) and we love them as if they were are own. It's hard to understand the characters of this book and it's hard to tolerate their attitudes towards the black slaves. This is more than just a book about slaves...it's about good and evil and it goes beyond your wildest imaginations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2001

    A Story You'll Never Forget

    Uncle Tom's Cabin was a great book in dealing with history and the detail of slave life. Stowe, I believe, was stereotypical and derrogatory in the portrayal of slaves. I enjoyed the overall content of the book. I disliked some parts of the novel but Stowe is an amazing story teller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 67 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4