Customer Reviews for

Uncle Tom's Cabin: Or, Life Among the Lowly

Average Rating 4
( 331 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(164)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Very realistic!

Uncle Tom's Cabin is an eloquent classic that vividly exposes the brutality of slavery. The personality and morals of various characters in the novel really engage one's attention, reflecting the mindsets of individuals from 19th Century Southern Society. Although an ex...
Uncle Tom's Cabin is an eloquent classic that vividly exposes the brutality of slavery. The personality and morals of various characters in the novel really engage one's attention, reflecting the mindsets of individuals from 19th Century Southern Society. Although an extremely long read with an uninteresting plot, the novel's realistic and gruesome account of the lives of slaves will surely astonish and intrigue the reader.

posted by Anonymous on October 3, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Do not buy this!!!!

This is only the first 4 chapters!!!!!!!! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by 15572509 on December 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 332 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    1 4 3 Jared Flores!!!!!!!!!!

    Dear Jared,
    I like you so much and I think that you are the nicest boy I have ever met. You give me so much joy throughout the day!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    My name is emma read thus book

    ?.
    ?
    .
    ???

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Emma**

    "Well...what?"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Randall

    "We don't have to do this right now. If your scared. Just tell me." He said, the britishyness in his voice really showing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Emma

    "Yes." She nodded softly, pressing into him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Randall

    He wrapped his arms around her and kissed her forehead. "Now. Ill go run you a bath. Does that sound good?"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Should I read it?

    I kinda wanna read it , heard its a good book, but I'm thirteen and have also heard that its really confusing and hard to read.
    Please reply- should I read it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Bad copy...

    Cant read a thing and there is only ten friggin pages...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Excellent Book. Should be required reading for schools

    I like the way the book was written. Good because Stowe actually lived during the time of the story and wrote her book based upon personal interviews with slaves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Icefrost

    He padded after Steelwing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Uhunn. J yi jh nuju bu

    Uu u bm.hbyniunmjnu.bhnjg nhn bhnjbnkiun mjuujhh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Wow

    This was a very touching story and a hard read as a 12 year old. However, Tom, going through a few different masrers ranging from luxurious to abusive, and Eva, a religous kind girl were very inspiring and brought me to tears. I recomend this book, but be prepared for a heartbreak at humankind's cruelty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    all time fav

    all time fav

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Meli

    Amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Jack

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Riveria

    "Mornin'"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    C

    Hi...

    -tori

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    FRANK

    Goes to steal the hotty at Leaves of grass result one from Alex.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Meghan

    Sat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Alexya

    Yah haha

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 332 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17