Customer Reviews for

Uncle Tungsten: Memories of a Chemical Boyhood

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2007

    Chemistry--both substantive & familial--for the Scientifically Challenged

    Engaging memoir covering Sachs' life in London before and after the Blitz and WWII. Sachs specifically focuses on his boyhood introduction to chemistry as encouraged by his uncles. Allowed to experiment with metals, acids and other intriguing substances, Sachs gained a rare education regarding their properties and the genius of the periodic chart. 'Uncle Tungsten' also provides a clear context for modern chemistry, as Sachs grew up at a critical turning point in its development. It's the sort of book that textbooks ought to be--practical, humorous, poignant and bordering on the spiritual.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2002

    Re-kindled interest

    I always liked physics more than chemistry, but after completing this book I actually got out the old chemistry book to learn more. However, any "education" that comes with this book is secondary to the entertainment. The perspective of a young boy interested in science brought back a few memories of mine, and made this a difficult book for me to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    Uncle Boring

    Story drags. Not well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2009

    I expected it to be bad and it was, but not in the way I expected.

    I was forced to read this memoir for the Honors Chemistry class I will be taking in 10th grade. Having heard the grumblings of older students, who too were forced to read it, I was undoubtely dreading the 317 pages. When I finally opened the book I was suprised by the content. That's not to say that I enjoyed it or thought it was well written. I was suprised at how often Sacks goes into complicated chemistry. MOst of the memoir is in fact not a memoir but a retelling of the history of chemistry. While Sacks occasionaly included a childhood memory or two, most of the memoir was pure science. At some points, he goes so far into detail that I feel as if I'm reading a textbook.

    So, overall it wasn't good. If you have a genuine interest in science and the history of chemistry, then you will most likely enjoy this book. However, if you are reading it expecting a genuine memoir or being forced to read it by you chemistry teacher, you will not enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    Bad book

    The book was hard to understand there was too much talk of chemical processes. If I wanted to read a chemistry textbook I would have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2006

    Uncle Tungsten: Memories of a Chemical Boyhood

    For my 11th grade chemistry class I had to read two books relating to chemistry. One of the books I chose was this one: Uncle Tungsten: Memories of a Chemical Boyhood. It was okay it was not one of those books where you just could not put it down. I sometimes found my self drifting into other thoughts and not really paying attention to what I was reading at all. I think that if I was more interested in what he was talking about, then I would have really loved it. When I first started reading it, it was hard to stay with each of the chapters, because each one was a different story within its self. Basically, the title of the chapter was what that chapter was going to be about. In my opinion, on a scale of 1-10, 10 being the best and 1 being the worst, I would give this book a 5. I would because it didn't interest me, it couldn't keep my attention, and a lot of the time I thought it was boring. However, if you are into chemistry and science experiments, then this is a book for you. It tells you a lot of facts and may even make you more interested in the science world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2006

    Uncle Tungsten: Memories of a Chemical Boyhood

    For my 11th grade chemistry class I had to read two books realating to chemistry. One of the books I chose was this one: Uncle Tungsten: Memories of a Chemical Boyhood. It was okay it wasn't one of those books where you just couldn't put it down. I sometimes found my self drifting into other thoughts and not really paying attention to what I was reading at all. I think that if I was more interested in what he was talking about, then I would have really loved it. At first it was hard to stay with each chapter, because each one was a different story within its self. Basically, the title of the chapter was what it was about. In my opinion, on a scale of 1-10, 10 being the best, I would give this a 5. I would because it didn't interest me, it couldn't keep my attention, and a lot of the time it was boring. However, if you are into chemistry and science experiments, then this is a book for you. It tells you a lot of facts and may even make you more interested in the science world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2002

    You have to be a chemist to love it

    Although I majored in chemistry in college, I am now a professor in a major medical school, focusing on AIDS research. So I can relate to Sacks' intrigue with chemistry, but eventually his changing fields. It was interesting, amd I enjoyed the history of chemistry/science portions. But I wouldn't recommend it to my colleagues unless they had a 'chemical mind.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2001

    Uncle Tungsten: A great book for student or teacher.

    Uncle Tungsten is a great read for the chemist, science teacher or student. I'm using sections of it in my AP Chemistry course even. Dr. Sacks narrative is a wonderful read and his enthusiasm for science is very apparent. In an era where there are very few books that encourage an enthusiasm for science and investigation, this is a welcome surprise! Having come myself from a research background before becoming a teacher, I am an enthusiastic proponent of lab work, experiments, and investigation. I hope that my students will go into science because of me, not in spite of me, and I'm very glad to have a book of this quality to share with my students.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2001

    Bad Ideas for the Chemically Inclined

    New Scientist recently published an article describing the real reason scientists do science: It's FUN! Clearly the young Oliver Sachs knew this as well, and his autobiography conveys all of that fun. I work in scientific research myself, and I couldn't wait to try some of Sachs' experiments. The experiments themselves don't exactly advance scientific knowledge, but there I was, armed with a shelf of chemicals, a cupboard of equipment and a laboratory bench... If you want to know what makes scientists tick, this is the book. If you want to inspire an interest in chemistry, this is the book. My only complaint was Sachs' eventual departure from chemistry in adolescence. I felt immensely disappointed that he could leave so much fun behind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1