Customer Reviews for

Unclean Spirits (Black Son's Daughter Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Intriguing book

Main character is compelling, a misfit raised in a religious family who finds she has powers she didn't know she had. I really enjoyed this book because it allowed for her growth as a person and a team member to fight evil. You also come away from the reading wanting ...
Main character is compelling, a misfit raised in a religious family who finds she has powers she didn't know she had. I really enjoyed this book because it allowed for her growth as a person and a team member to fight evil. You also come away from the reading wanting to find out more about her and the other characters. I've grown VERY tired of Laurell Hamilton's obsession with sex and this was a refreshing alternative. I'm looking forward to more books in this series.

posted by bpotasz on April 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It only took me three days to read this. It's fine if you're int

It only took me three days to read this. It's fine if you're into a light summer read, but if you like to get lost in the story and care about the characters then this isn't the book for you. It seemed as though everything was glossed over. There was little character de...
It only took me three days to read this. It's fine if you're into a light summer read, but if you like to get lost in the story and care about the characters then this isn't the book for you. It seemed as though everything was glossed over. There was little character development and I found myself imagining the characters in a much different and interesting way than the author. I bought it at a used bookstore and I'm glad I didn't pay more than $3 for it.

posted by Tigrbny on March 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 18, 2009

    Intriguing book

    Main character is compelling, a misfit raised in a religious family who finds she has powers she didn't know she had. I really enjoyed this book because it allowed for her growth as a person and a team member to fight evil. You also come away from the reading wanting to find out more about her and the other characters. I've grown VERY tired of Laurell Hamilton's obsession with sex and this was a refreshing alternative. I'm looking forward to more books in this series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Unclean Spirits

    I thought that the plot was very well thought out. The book was written well and the characters were developed very well. The characters were all developed very well. Each which there own story behind the story. The idea behind the plot was not completely original but had a new twist added. This made the book very interesting and hard to put down. I would not recommend this for young readers due to language and some adult content scenes. I am interested to see how the story progresses in the next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    love this series

    stumbled upon this series by accident and now im hooked! cant wait for more

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A "Killer" Intro to a GREAT New Character!

    OK - I am hooked. The writing is smooth, the story cool (who knew there was such a thing as a varkolak?) and the main character extremely well written. She starts out as someone I can fully identify with, and grows, slowly and realistically, into who I wouldn't at all mind being. The additional characters are interesting, and I am totally hooked!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I couldn't put it down...

    The back really draws you in, and it was a really good read. Cant wait for the next book!! I dont read many books mostly because i cant find any that i can really get into. But this book was one i couldnt set down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Excellent debut

    This was a great start to a new series, I am looking forward to the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    read it, loved it. want more of it!

    Great book, and a keeper, the people in the book are awsum, they feel real and you feel like one of them, my fav was the cooking mummy ( X3 i would slay his name if i tryed spelling it off hand) just a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Great Read, Different from other authors

    I really enjoyed this book because it took a new spin on vampires and the like. It was very entertaining and offbeat. It really gave you a different way to view the world of science fiction as well as tying you to the character.

    Very well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Must Read

    Unclean Spirits was a GREAT READ!<BR/>I am looking forward to more from M.L.N. Hanover!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    An engaging urban fantasy amateur sleuth tale

    Like most young people, Jayne Heller has a full life between going to college and having a boyfriend. However, her normalcy is shattered forever when someone murders her Uncle Eric. Jayne closes his estate as his prime heir, but is unable to obtain emotional closure as she cannot understand why an uncle she hardly knows left her his estate and why he was killed; she already knows Randolph Coin of something called the Invisible College where the research is solely on demonic spirits conversion into sources of incredible power.<BR/><BR/>Obsessed Jayne is determined to avenge her uncle¿s murder. Several of Eric¿s friends and associates help her as they too want the killer brought to justice though their definition strongly differs from that of Jayne. However, as she explores Uncle Eric¿s weird world she begins to meet a horde of Hollywood mythical ¿UNCLEAN SPIRITS¿ who rock her physics based realism off its foundation as she wonders can this be Denver and keeps reminding herself this can¿t happen to Jayne.<BR/><BR/>This engaging urban fantasy amateur sleuth is more a character study than a whodunit as the intelligent technologically astute heroine is clearly out of her element with her former belief that demons are in games, movies and urban fantasies not the streets of Denver. Although Jayne¿s adept skill at fighting otherworldly monsters seems over the top of the Rocky Mountains even with her late uncle¿s ¿blessing¿, fans will enjoy learning alongside the heroine the rules of para-physics in the realm of the ¿Black Sun's Daughter¿.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2