Customer Reviews for

Uncommon Criminals (Heist Society Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 435 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(315)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 315 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    Uncommon Criminals--what it's about

    Katarina Bishop has worn a lot of labels in her short life. Friend. Niece. Daughter. Thief. But for the last two months she's simply been known as the girl who ran the crew that robbed the greatest museum in the world. That's why Kat isn't surprised when she's asked to steal the infamous Cleopatra Emerald so it can be returned to its rightful owners.

    There are only three problems. First, the gem hasn't been seen in public in thirty years. Second, since the fall of the Egyptian empire and the suicide of Cleopatra, no one who holds the emerald keeps it for long, and in Kat's world, history almost always repeats itself. But it's the third problem that makes Kat's crew the most nervous and that is simply. the emerald is cursed.

    Kat might be in way over her head, but she's not going down without a fight. After all she has her best friend-the gorgeous Hale-and the rest of her crew with her as they chase the Cleopatra around the globe, dodging curses, realizing that the same tricks and cons her family has used for centuries are useless this time.

    Which means, this time, Katarina Bishop is making up her own rules.

    69 out of 88 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent read

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    21 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Amazing sequel

    I got an advanced readers copy of this book for winning a contest and almost as soon as it arrived in the mail I had finished it. The sequel defiantly pleased me. The amazing Kat gets conned and needs to fix it. The whole gang gets back together (even including Nick). Once again they go behind Uncle Eddies back doing things he advises not to. Kat and her crew must figure out how to steal back a jewel that Kat stole not too long ago to give to a woman who was supposedly sent by Visily Romani. The book kept me up reading through the night. The simplest thing Kat does leads to the end of the book and it really surprised me. All together an amazing read and I would suggest it to anyone who loved the first book.

    17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Uncommonly Good

    Among the vast sea of dystopian universes and paranormal creatures currently inhabiting a majority of shelves in the YA section of bookstores, Ally Carter's tales of teenage spies and thieves adds a refreshing twist to being extraordinary. Carter's characters aren't superhuman or special in any other way then in their ability to learn and become exceptional at whatever they put their minds to being. Part of why I read fiction is to get lost in another world, but sometimes the best fantasies are the ones not too far removed from reality.

    Katarina's struggles are always an interesting study in contradiction.

    I mean really, how does one rebel when they come from a long line of thieves? Kitty Kat may be back, but she's having a go at it alone. It seems her stint at the Colgan School was just the first of her dissent from the family. She's trying to define herself and create her own path in the world she grew up in. But in adhering to her new moral code, distancing herself, and alienating her crew, Kat's forgotten the most important rule: Family First.

    Of course, being fifteen and an old pro in the family business can give a girl the illusion of knowing everything, but some lessons you can only learn with time and experience. Katarina Bishop is taking her talent and applying it for good instead of greed. Morally Kat knows stealing is bad, but it's what she's good at. Toting the line between right and wrong, she's trying to use her skills to help return priceless items that were taken from their owners long ago. But someone is about to use Kat's altruistic endeavors against her and con the con artist.

    She's going to have to steal one of the most coveted items criminals of her caliber have been salivating over for decades, while pulling off the heist of all heists. Twice. In the process taking down a couple of very different crooks. And learning that she doesn't have to go about it alone. Because being a brilliant criminal mastermind with the ability to take whatever she wants, isn't worth anything if you have no one to share it with. And somewhere along the way an ingenue, playboy, diva, computer geek, a couple of thugs, and a wayward cop's kid became a crew of uncommon criminals and a more unlikely family.

    Uncommon Criminals is full of Carter's usual wit and charm. Kat manages to be both adorably clever and clueless. Constantly thinking through the angles of cons and jobs yet completely flustered when it comes to the social customs between boys and girls. She's surrounded by equally endearing characters, all of which you immediately want more of. Uncommon also has a solid storyline, and continued to slowly build the romance between Kat and her beau. After two books I think we have a good basis on each of the characters personalities, though Nick remains more of a mystery. I hope Carter will feature his motives more in the future. I think he's just looking for a place to belong, but not knowing enough about his background it's still a bit fuzzy. It's definitely something that will keep me coming back for future volumes.

    So if you need a break from fangs and claws, read a little five finger discount fiction. A smart fun hilarious heist, Uncommon Criminals is an Uncommonly Good Read.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Another great book by Ally Carter! The excitement of a heist continues!

    In Uncommon Criminals by Ally Carter, a teenage girl is anything but common. Kat had walked away from her past, or so she thought... But when a woman and her grandson give her an assignment so scary that even her master thief uncle Eddie forbids her to go after it, Kat knows what she must do. She must put aside the attempt to stop being a thief and steal the Cleopatra emerald from someone who wants to exploit his ownership for money. She must face bodyguards, the police, top-notch security measures, a con artist, her handsome best friend / crush Hale, her Uncle Eddie, and a cursed emerald. Hale says she can just walk away; her uncle says to stay away; but her heart tells her she can and must go through with the heist. Will she get it? Or will she be cursed?
    Ally Carter is one of my favorite authors, so when she wrote the next addition to the Heist Society series, I knew I had to read it and I'd love it. The way that Ally reveals the inner struggles that Kat must sort through is so relate-able. In the previous book and in Uncommon Criminals, I was rooting for Kat and Hale the whole way. I'm glad that they've almost figured out their feelings for each other, but I have a feeling the confusion will still be seen in the next book of the series. And I can't wait to read the next one!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    a quirky, sophisticated page-turner

    Fifteen-year-old Katarina Bishop is a small girl with dark hair and bright blue eyes. She is also the girl that, mere months before, robbed the Henley-the greatest, and arguably most secure, museum in the world.

    But Kat isn't a thief. Not anymore. At least not exactly. Think of a her as more of a return artist, a righter of wrongs maybe.

    When Kat is asked to steal the infamous Cleopatra Emerald she can't say no. Not when the Cleopatra has been waiting years to be returned to its rightful owner. Yes, the Cleopatra hasn't been seen in public in thirty years. Yes, it is essentially a concrete symbol of the doomed love between Cleopatra and Antony. Yes, there are rumors that the stone is cursed. And a history of jobs involving the Cleopatra Emerald going bad. Really bad.

    But Kat is smarter than that. And curses aren't real, not that the Cleopatra is cursed. There has to be some other, logical, reason for why the world's most famous emerald is bringing Kat and her crew nothing but trouble, right?

    Either way, before this job is over Kat is going to have take a long hard look at who she is and what she does because all of her old tricks-the tricks her family has been using for centuries-are useless this time. This job is going to require something different. Good thing Kat and her crew are anything but ordinary in Uncommon Criminals (2011) by Ally Carter.

    Uncommon Criminals is the sequel to Carter's delightful Heist Society and the second in what she has stated on her site will be an ongoing series featuring Kat, her crew, and her inimitable family.

    Heist Society was a smashing introduction to the world (and crew) of Katarina Bishop. The writing was sleek, smart and elegant. The story was well-paced, original and exciting. It was the kind of book where a sequel could go horribly wrong. Or it could be just as amazing as the first.

    Turns out Uncommon Criminals not only held up to the standards set Heisty Society, in a lot of ways it exceeded those standards.

    Filled with several surprising twists, a cunning foe, and all of the characters readers loved in Heist Society (like Hale and Gabrielle), Uncommon Criminals is another great installment about Kat's exploits. At the same time this book also deals with what it means to be a thief and, for Kat, what it means to be a part of her family. The con itself, and Carter's beautiful writing, are deceptively simple here making Kat's plans and the writing itself seem effortless.

    Uncommon Criminals is a quirky, sophisticated page-turner that will leave readers guessing until its clever conclusion (and eager for another installment about Kat, Hale and the rest of the team).

    Possible Pairings: White Cat by Holly Black, Strings Attached by Judy Blundell, Clarity by Kim Harrington, Once a Witch by Carolyn MacCullough, Hourglass by Myra McEntire, Leverage (television series), White Collar (television series)

    *This book was acquired at BEA 2011

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    KATelyn

    This is one of the best books i have ever read and i cant wait 4 the next book to come out. Im 14 and i think that any one could fall in love with Kat and the rest of the Heist Society,i no i did. The book has intrigue, mystery, love, fighting, lies, secrets, theft and ,personally, anyone who wants to steal anything as important as the cleopatra emerald should read this first. I read the first one too and new the next wud be better and was right. This book is about Kat and her friends stealing the emerald, finding its secrets , what it has to do with her uncle, and another person who uses more than one identity. Ally Carter is by far one of my favorite authors and has definately influenced my writing, i would like to become an author when i grow up, and shown me some new techniques and how to give a book one twist after another. The book is well worth the money ,or even a monet! It may not be as good as maximum ride, another favorite of mine, but it is one of the best books i have ever read.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Great

    I woke up at one in the morning to read this and justfinished! It was so good, and the lastline will make you want the next one!

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    WHERE IS PERFECT SCOUNDRLS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is an awesome! Ally is the best writer ever! Read the gallagher girls!! These books are perfect for teens advanced reading or more mature preteens and fans of the hunger games! Please read her books! Especally the romance parts;) anyone hav any seggestions please help me! NOW WHERE IS PERFECT SCOUNDRLS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    :)

    Luv it! Im a huge fan of the gallagher academy series! Cant wait for double crossed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Love!!

    I love ally carter!! All the galager books and these!! Cant wait for the next one!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Read this review

    I read all of the Gallagher Acdemy books, and I loved them. Now I have also read Heist society. I love Ally Carter's books they are so good. Now I just read the sample for this. SO GOOOOOOOOOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    This story is great

    I'm eleven years old and when I read this book. I felt like I was in the story. This book makes me want to read all books by Ally Carter!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Best book ever!

    Ally Carter is an amazing author. She translates the story beautifully and paints a magnificent picture.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Ah

    Shouldnt the third book be out for preorder

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Exciting News

    There is some exciting news for Heist Society fan and Gallegher Girls fans alike. Ally Carter is coming out with a new free e-book called Double Crossed. For the full bio, check out Ally Carter's blog.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Great

    I loved this book! I love all of the characters especially Gabrielle and Hale! There is only one thing that bothered me though. Y don't Hale and Kat start dating already?! Its driving me crazy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!

    Anyone who fell in love with the first book, will fall in love again!!!! It is a attention catching book!!!! I am 1/2 way in ans had to FORCE myself to put it down!!!!!! The author is great at writing!!! I hope that she writes so many more!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Anonomouys

    Is there another in the series?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Fantastically Written

    When I picked up Heist Society off my best friend's shelf a few months ago, I didn't know what to expect. Of course I absolutely fell in love with it. Uncommon Criminals, the second in the series, was just as amazing. Ally Carter has an amazing way of making her characters, especially the main character, Kat Bishop, the perfect mix of the awkward teenager we all are at some point and the kind of kick butt character we like to read about. The relationship between Kat and Hale was heartbreakingly beautiful, considering I had been expecting the typical (and sometimes superficial) teen-lit type of romance. This isn't an action novel, and it's not really a mystery either, but it's an intricate weave of cons, thievery, and human emotion that will keep your attention and make you want more. I wish I could remember all the wonderful ways to describe this book that I was thinking as I read it, but I was much too eager to turn the page to stop and write my thoughts down. Both HEIST SOCIETY and UNCOMMON CRIMINALS are a must for anyone who enjoys a great read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 315 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16