Customer Reviews for

Undaunted: One Man's Real-Life Journey from Unspeakable Memories to Unbelievable Grace

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    Beautiful. Well done.  In the beginning, Undaunted is a diff

    Beautiful. Well done. 




    In the beginning, Undaunted is a difficult read. Josh McDowell's childhood was filled with pure evil: an alcoholic father,  sexual abuse, and family discord. On the other hand, Undaunted is  the story of redemption and restoration.




    As a reader, I valued Mr. McDowell's rising to challenge, putting forth questions until answers came ,and his pursuit to find God in the midst of his suffering. Our God is Mighty to Save. I value his desire to make his journey of faith more than just an intellectual exercise. In the book, I love the way Mr. McDowell shares his calling to minister specifically to young people (being a recipient of this blessing), and  I love how Mr. McDowell sincerely cries out to God and follows His message of extending forgiveness. 




    Mr. McDowell's truth resounds in other languages:  Err irrt der Mensch solang er strebt. Man errs until he stops striving. Truly, a life molded by the hand of God and another transformed life...we will overcome by the Blood of the Lamb and the Words of our Testimony. .. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    "undaunted" is a very hard to put down book! it is ama

    "undaunted" is a very hard to put down book! it is amazing to see how josh mcdowell was able to find christ and become a christian after having such a tough childhood and having so many difficult questians to deal with . this memoir awnsers the questian how he has become such a fine man of God great gift idea for a friend or family member

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Such An Inspiration

    I found it so amazing how McDowell found faith, hope, and grace through all the bitterness and hatred that had consumed him. When he was a boy, someone who lived in the house molested him. He had to keep his father from killing his mother. Josh could not wait to leave his hometown in Michigan.

    While away at college, Christians intimidated him. , and he confronted them with a challenge. He was bitter for most of his childhood and teen years, for all he had gone through who would not be! Yet he took on the challenge to prove the resurrection did not happen. Instead, the evidence he had was overwhelming but it was by reading about God's love that his life dramatically changed forever.

    I recommend this book to anyone who has doubts that God exists. In addition, for anyone who feels like there is no hope in their lives, and need some real inspiration.

    Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of the book for review purposes from Tyndale House.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2013

    What an excellent book! McDowell shares his heart-breaking stor

    What an excellent book! McDowell shares his heart-breaking story of his early life in an abusive family and an abusive situation with a farm hand, through his years of searching for the truth and into his seminary years.

    At times this book was hard to read because of the depth of pain that McDowell experienced in his early life. However, while he shares his painful memories, the focus is on the amazing power of God's grace and redemption, and how forgiveness and love can overcome all.

    I can't recommend this one highly enough! It truly is one of the best books I've read in the last six months, so I can only say, just read it. If you have a past that is colored by alcoholism, abuse, or neglect, read it. If you are searching for meaning or truth, just read it. It is a quick read that is so encouraging!

    Now I can't wait to see the movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    I have heard of Josh McDowell and his book More than a Carpenter

    I have heard of Josh McDowell and his book More than a Carpenter since I was a child. Yet I never knew all the trials he went through as a child and all the ways God revealed Himself to Josh as a young man. What a case this makes for forgiving others - seeing the results in his life was amazing! I loved this story - it gave me goosebumps at times to see how God provided miraculously for Josh in so many different ways!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2013

    Dramatic, Heart-Breaking, and Inspirational. Very well written.

    Dramatic, Heart-Breaking, and Inspirational. Very well written. This biographical book told of an intellectual quest that led to spiritual awakening. The early experiences in his life were difficult to take, even heart-wrenching. His trials show he can relate to those who are suffering. Knowing where it led because he is such a public figure, I was not surprised by the conclusion, but the journey leading there was quite interesting and inspiring. His life can draw you to renew your own faith. I was reaching for the tissues when he wrote how God answered prayer in Chapter 19, at the end. This book did not take long to read, it flowed like a novel, and it had the evangelism I expected from Mr. McDowell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    This was a really good book; amazing how God can use us if we ar

    This was a really good book; amazing how God can use us if we are willing.  It doesn't matter what our background has been.  It was a very well written book as well; it easily kept my attention.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    Josh McDowell ('Joslin' is his given name) has led a life that m

    Josh McDowell ('Joslin' is his given name) has led a life that most people would crumble under - or at the very least be bitter and unproductive in life.  Born in Michigan in the late 30's -with much older siblings, and during wartime- Jos quickly realizes that his dad is an alcoholic and his mom is abused.  His animosity towards his dad quickly turns to hatred and he dreams of ways to make him suffer and perhaps hasten his departure from the earth




    Another major factor in Jos' young life is the years of sexual abuse he suffers at the hands of their family's hired "house help", Wayne.  All of these atrocities create a hurting and angry young man that becomes a very high achiever, a hard worker.  He graduates high school, has a brief time in the military, and goes to college where one of the pivotal moments of his life occurs.  He is running for class president, and while seeking to gain votes has a conversation where he is challenged by the "Christian clique", as he calls it, to disprove the resurrection of Jesus.  He takes this challenge extremely seriously, doing major research and even traveling to Europe in his quest to prove them wrong.  What he discovers shocks him to his core and his life (and the lives of countless others) will never be the same.




    What a powerful story - I read it straight through with hardly a break!  I wholeheartedly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1