Customer Reviews for

Undead Much

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Undead Much? by Stacey Jay Release Date: January 21st, 2010 Publ

    Undead Much? by Stacey Jay
    Release Date: January 21st, 2010
    Publisher: Razorbill (Penguin)
    Page Count: 306
    Source: From LibraryThing Member Giveaways for review

    Q: How many guys does it take to make your boyfriend wild with jealousy?
    A: Only one, if he's UNDEAD.

    Megan Berry had a perfectly average new-sundress-and-boy-obsessed life — until her power to settle the Undead returned. Oh, and then her best friend tried to kill her — and ruin homecoming — with a bunch of black magically raised zombies. At least she got a spot on the pom squad and a smokin' boyfriend (Ethan). But now Megan is in deep fertilizer all over again. Why? Well, let's see...
    Feral new super-strong zombies? Check.
    Cheerleader vs. pom squad turf war threatening half time as they know it? Check.
    An Undead psychic hottie (Cliff) who's predicting a zombie apocalypse — and doing his best to tempt Megan away from Ethan? Yum. I mean, Check.
    Earth-shattering secrets that could land Megan in Settler prison for life? Um... It wasn't me!!!
    Everyone thinks Megan's at fault for the new uber-zombie uprising. Looks like she'll need the help of both Cliff and Ethan if she's going to prove her innocence before it's too late.
    What Stephanie Thinks: Vampires and werewolves are overrated in the Young Adult paranormal scene, so it was really refreshing to be able to read a novel about, not only zombies, but zombie slayers, in Undead Much?. The second installment in Megan Berry's dedicated, dangerous, and literally deadly misadventures is one you don't want to miss. Both Jay's easy, entertaining voice, and the multiple dilemmas Megan faces in the life she could only dream was normal, will appeal to all lovers of the genre.

    First and foremost, I find this an excellent example of paranormal for teens. Megan is totally kick-ass and gets her job done right — though the Zombie Settler council suspects of her of dark magic that she isn't even channelling — but she also remains reserved about it — adolescent maturity at its highest — and has the exact same problems most non-Settler teenage girls have in their lives. As a Settler, her job is to use her powers to return the raised dead back to their graves and seal them in forever. However, she isn't just another Settler; she's one with massive powers that could, if used for the wrong purposes, destroy both her, and the entire magical community as well.

    Recently however, her powers have been ineffective in Settling zombies — and they've even failed her a few times during zombie attacks. With powers as immense as hers, she used to be unbeatable, but now, she's a bit disappointed. The worst part is that the Council, the authority, thinks SHE'S the one resurrecting the freakishly strong zombies. She needs to prove her innocence, as well as explain why she, the only one with enough power to even do such a thing, is the one who's in the most danger of all.

    This book is also a romance, one I think teenagers will swoon over. The love triangle created between her, her extremely hot and understanding boyfriend, Ethan, and a cute but mysteriously human-like zombie, Cliff, is very pure in relationship terms, yet the tensions sizzle on each page. Megan struggles with regular girl problems — such as dealing with the discomfort of going to second base — and these, alongside her mission to prove the Council wrong, as well as embark on an unwelcome path to discover her own identity, makes Undead Much? an engrossing and, for me, addicting read.

    My only complaint is sometimes Megan's problems seem really trivial; she makes mountains out of molehills often. Perhaps Jay was just trying to convey Meg's personality in that way, but it's hard to sympathize with a protagonist and narrator who nags and acts like a four-year-old sometimes. Other than that, I think Undead Much? is a highly successful novel that dignifies and embraces the Young Adult genre by incorporating adventurous, romantic, and moral anecdotes to satisfy readers in every way. I definitely am looking forward to the sequel.

    Stephanie Loves: "'I don't want you to ruin your chances to do something you love.'"

    Radical Rating: 8 hearts-Would recommend to lots of really good friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A zombie slayer after my own heart!

    I didn't think it was quite as fun as the original, but it still had its perks such as one dreamboat by the name of Ethan and Megan's entertaining narration as crazy events kept piling at her feet. I am a little sad that Razorbill pulled the plug on the series just when it was getting good, but I am totally grateful for Ms. Jay who is graciously providing a self-published Book 3 for her zombie horde of followers :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1