Customer Reviews for

The Undead Next Door (Love at Stake Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 365 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(229)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 372 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Suberb storyelling

    Wannabe fashion designer Heather Westfield is ecstatic that renowned designer Jean-Luc Echarpe has opened one of his Le Chique Echarpe boutiques in her small Texas Hill Country town. She sketches some of his work only to have Jean-Luc stop to talk to her. However, sword carrying assailants attack Jean-Luc who tells Heather to stay out of the fray as he has it under control still she tries to come to his rescue only to conclude he somehow does have it under control. ------------------- Jean-Luc realizes that his enemies will assume that Heather is his current lover. To keep her, her daughter Bethany and her housekeeper safe, he demands they stay with him. As she wonders how he gets away with sleeping all day and her odious former spouse complains about her sleeping with her lover in front of their daughter, Heather and Jean-Luc fall in love. However, he knows he owes her one key explanation as to why he sleeps away the day he and some of his close friends are undead, but he loves her too much to make her dinner.------------------ Kerrelyn Sparks latest vampire romance (see HOW TO MARRY A MILLIONAIRE VAMPIRE) is an amusing tale due to the lead couple whose first encounter is his accusing her of stealing his design. The support cast enhances either the feel that vampires are real (includes stars of previous stories in the Sparks' saga) or personalizes the heroine like her child does. The story line combines humor and danger as the size 12 woman rips his skin off for being arrogant yet protects him from a nasty villain. Fans will enjoy the gender battle between the vampire designer and the wannabe Texas designer.------------- Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Addicting!!!!!!

    I do not get alot of reading time, but this book was so addicting I couldnt put it down! It was funny, sexy, and kept you wanting more!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Must read

    I really love this series....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    Great Author

    You can't go wrong with Kerrelyn Sparks.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2008

    Wonderful addition to a thrilling series!

    Sweet Heather Westfield has an adorable daughter, an overbearing ex-husband, a feisty nanny, and too many dreams that were never fulfilled. The talented designer/seamstress stayed in her small Texas town to appease her mother and became a school teacher instead of pursuing her ambition to be a fashion designer. When one of the world¿s top names in couture opens a boutique nearby, she is drawn to the life she gave up, and to the man who has designed fashions for some of Hollywood¿s biggest stars. World-weary Jean-Luc Escharpe has seen it all since he was transformed into a vampire centuries ago. A skilled swordsman, he fought as a lieutenant-colonel in the vampire army, and in later decades, pursued his skills a businessman and designer. His career has kept him in the public eye a little too long, however, causing many to wonder how the designer who clad Marilyn Monroe and Cary Grant still looks so young and handsome. What he needs is some time away and a place to hide out. But on the eve of his self-imposed isolation, he meets a beautiful woman who has been burned by love. Heather awakens long-dead feelings in Jean-Luc and makes him start to wonder if he could have another chance at love after all. But with a crazed killer bent on revenge tracking Jean-Luc¿s every move, being around him is not exactly the safest place in the world. Then there¿s the whole undead element thrown into the mix. Jean-Luc is certain a relationship with Heather would never work out because she could never accept him as he is. But Heather has some surprises up her homemade sleeves: she¿s declared a war on fear, and this Texas sweetie vows not to let anyone stand in the way of what she wants. And she wants Jean-Luc. The Undead Next Door, Kerrelyn Sparks¿ fourth book in the Love At Stake series, is a thrilling, fast-paced detour through the beautiful Texas Hill Country with two wounded but strong souls. As usual, the story resonates with Sparks¿ trademark humor, wit, and warmth. There¿s something here for every reader as the author deftly combines history, humor, deep emotion, and paranormal elements for a deeply satisfying love story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Blazer

    Kitty cat!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Katniss

    Walks in her safehouse and locks the door*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Love these books

    These vampires are unique, funny and very charming. It's very hard not to really love these Vamps. You'll be addicted after reading just one book. Enjoy your reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    couldn't even finish

    The story was trite and unbelievable even stretching your imagination. The characters were irritating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Terrific!

    Highly recommend this series. Great story line, lots of hot romance and laugh out loud lines. Can't wait to read the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Love this series. Quick, easy and fun reading! I'll be sad whe

    Love this series. Quick, easy and fun reading! I'll be sad when I get to the last one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Highly Recommended check out all the books

    This is a well writen book and I like how she makes the women into real people not what is thought to be a perfect woman. This when show that. They fall in love because of who they are as a person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Once I began the series I couldn't stop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    i love it XD

    i love it XD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Must read!

    This may be my favorite so far in the series. There are vampires, fighting, romance, plus i was laughing like i was there with the characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    Recommend-check it out if you like fangs and fashion!

    Was a fun read. Enjoyed the character interaction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend

    This was a great book enjoyed the wonderful story line; it was hilrious as well and in the end you want to find out what happens to the other characters associated with the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Fun Read!

    This whole series so far has been a wonderful, quick read. Being a fast reader, I usually go through one in two days, but they make me laugh, smile, sigh. I thoroughly enjoy them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Beautiful...

    this series is just BEAUTIFUL. Kerrelyn kills it again in the undead next door. i love this series and can't wait for the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    J%27adore+Jean-Luc%21%21

    I+am+totally+smitten+with+Jean+-Luc+he%27s+everything+I+want+in+a+husband%2C+friend%2C++and+father+of+my+children.+As+a+vampire+lover+this+French+cutie+was+the+sexiest.+You+cant+help+but+fall+for+him+and+wish+you+were+his+Heather.+I+finished+this+book+in+1+day.+Bravo+Kerrelyn%21

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 372 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19