Customer Reviews for

Undead and Undermined (Betsy Taylor Series #10)

Average Rating 3.5
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

a fun urban fantasy at the usual lunatic pace expected from MaryJanice Davidson

After spending less than an hour in frozen July 3015 and a side trip to Hell and a visit with mother dearest Lucifer, Betsy Taylor and her half-sister Laura the Antichrist return to present day St. Paul where they agree they must somehow fix the time line to prevent wha...
After spending less than an hour in frozen July 3015 and a side trip to Hell and a visit with mother dearest Lucifer, Betsy Taylor and her half-sister Laura the Antichrist return to present day St. Paul where they agree they must somehow fix the time line to prevent what they witnessed in the future. Nutso vampire Marc-Thing follows the siblings back from the thirty-first century. Betsy knows she needs to read the Book of the Dead without going insane; thankfully she has a deal with Satan allowing her to peruse the Book in exchange for watching Satanist movies with Laura.

However, her shoes lead her to even crazier scenarios. The strangest being awake in a Chicago morgue as plastic bagged Jane Doe 291. Back at the mansion in St. Paul, Betsy compares notes with Eric and others to understand what is going on as no one is quite like they were before her time traveling ended on a slab. That is until she realizes someone in the future wants Betsy Taylor dead before she can become the powerful Queen of the Vampires.

The magnificent muddled middle book in the time altering miniseries (see Undead and Unfinished for the opening act) is a zany frolic that contains the consistent restraint of self indulged yet caring in her insane way Betsy. The excessive superego with a muted edge as she has seen in her future Betsy has gone too far with her selfishness. Over the top of the Metrodome, fans will relish the second thriller in the changing Taylor landscape as the jocular story line is a fun urban fantasy at the usual lunatic pace expected from MaryJanice Davidson.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Thanks!!!!(not)

You really shouldn't tell the whole entire stroy in a review Harriet Klausner!!!!!!!!!

posted by 5697559 on July 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a fun urban fantasy at the usual lunatic pace expected from MaryJanice Davidson

    After spending less than an hour in frozen July 3015 and a side trip to Hell and a visit with mother dearest Lucifer, Betsy Taylor and her half-sister Laura the Antichrist return to present day St. Paul where they agree they must somehow fix the time line to prevent what they witnessed in the future. Nutso vampire Marc-Thing follows the siblings back from the thirty-first century. Betsy knows she needs to read the Book of the Dead without going insane; thankfully she has a deal with Satan allowing her to peruse the Book in exchange for watching Satanist movies with Laura.

    However, her shoes lead her to even crazier scenarios. The strangest being awake in a Chicago morgue as plastic bagged Jane Doe 291. Back at the mansion in St. Paul, Betsy compares notes with Eric and others to understand what is going on as no one is quite like they were before her time traveling ended on a slab. That is until she realizes someone in the future wants Betsy Taylor dead before she can become the powerful Queen of the Vampires.

    The magnificent muddled middle book in the time altering miniseries (see Undead and Unfinished for the opening act) is a zany frolic that contains the consistent restraint of self indulged yet caring in her insane way Betsy. The excessive superego with a muted edge as she has seen in her future Betsy has gone too far with her selfishness. Over the top of the Metrodome, fans will relish the second thriller in the changing Taylor landscape as the jocular story line is a fun urban fantasy at the usual lunatic pace expected from MaryJanice Davidson.

    Harriet Klausner

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    What a waste of money and time

    Books 1 - 7 or even 8 were funny and energetic. Book 9 lacked something. Book 10 is none of the above and lacks everything including coherency.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Thanks!!!!(not)

    You really shouldn't tell the whole entire stroy in a review Harriet Klausner!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Very disappointed....

    I have read all of the Undead books and loved all of them.......with the exception of this one. I loved the cliffhanger at the end of the last one, but this book really did not contribute anything to the series. I was extremely tired of being stuck in Betsy's annoying ramblings that went totally off topic and there were absolutely no interesting developments in this book. It was probaby the most frustrating and pointless book I have read in a long time. Do not waste your $12.99. And I agree with the other person who said the new cover art is horrible.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Lame.

    I gave it one star b/c I couldn't give zero. I've read every Betsy book. After the disappointment of the last one, I stuck it out for this lastest one b/c MJ said that it would defintely be better and tie things more cohesively. So, I anxiously awaited for it and got it. I want my $12.99 back. Betsy is more brain dead than ever, Sinclair/Tina make brief cameo appearances and Betsy does nothing but whine. It's not even funny, sarcastic whining. Just annoying. There is no plot advancement, no character development, and not even very funny lines. What was once a great series has turned into mindless filler to add another book sale onto MJ's belt. Bah.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Extremely disappointed

    I've read all the books and felt let-down by this one. Betsy is supposed to get smarter and this book was all about her ramblings and not listening/learning anything. It felt as if this book was just written to meet deadline, no real plot, no real character development. I'll read the next one because I was a big fan, but if it turns out just as "fluffy" as the last one I won't continue reading the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Nothing happens and nothing changes

    I hated the last book but couldn't abandon the series. I waited a year and had high hopes for this book. Nothing was resolved and nothing even really happens in this book. All the characters that we have grown to love are barely in this book. There was no action or suspense like there once was in previous books. I feel like Betsy has grown into a very unlikeable character and I almost wish this series would just reach a graceful end. Davidson managed to create an amazing series but in the last two books she has ruined its very essence. Time to end it before more harm is done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    just okay..

    I really wanted to like this one. The previous one, I thought, was great because it gave us a good shock at the end. I was honestly getting bored with reading the same thing over and over. This book felt like it was just setting up. It was an extremely quick read and I felt like more could have happened. She wasn't the same funny Betsy and the writing not as witty. Hoping for more with the next one. Pretty much a waste to spend so much on the nook book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Very confusing

    I have read this entire series and am always looking forward to the next story, however I must say, I found this one to be very confusing. Still love the series, but suggest you read the series from the beginning. Still looking forward to the next one.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I really wish Davidson keep the books the same throughout the se

    I really wish Davidson keep the books the same throughout the series. Knowing that this is the second to last book (so far)I found myself very disappointed for quite a few reasons. First, everything that we ever knew about Betsey and her clan suddenly change in this book (hello, we readers like her the way she was!). Second, the other major characters we have grown to adore; Marc, Sinclair, Tina, and Garret, are barely even in this book. This takes away from the witty banter that readers love. Lastly, this book was far to confusing for such an easy series. What is happening? Are they stuck in a different timeline? Did they change the future? We need answers! Hopefully the last book will put everything into perspective or readers will NOT be happy. C-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Unimpressed (but still love) Unimpressed

    Too many inconsistancies, but still a page turner. Please, please, please get the timeline fixed, keep the smll details straight, and fire the people who proof read the book before it's printed. The errors are really distracting.
    I am excited to read books 11 and 12. (Having a kid put me behind.) I just spent the last few days reading the whole series to refresh myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2013

    I don't know whats going on with Mary but the first books, you k

    I don't know whats going on with Mary but the first books, you know with the fun covers, were AWESOME. Everything after that's been anticlimactic and I find myself reading for the simple fact that I must finish a series when I start one....these just aren't as enjoyable as they once were :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Really funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Best book

    She can keep them coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    Great way to read and laugh

    Read most of the series and thoroughly enjoy reading and laughing about Vampire Queen Betsy's exploits. There are serious moments but the author touches on all of our frailities as well as what makes us human through this fictional character. Thanks Ms. Davidson - love the Vampire Queen!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    higly recommend

    very funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    i don't like the devil or his minions in any book, and no cussin

    i don't like the devil or his minions in any book, and no cussing either.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Worst of the series...by far.

    I loved the first several Undead books, however they have definitely taken a turn for the worse. I forced myself to continue reading strictly out of loyalty to the series, but think I might call it quits after this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    As always, a fun read.

    If you're a Betsy fan you MUST read this book. It just wouldn't do to stop following the story now! If you think what happened in the last book was surprising, just wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    Get this book---You won 't regret it.

    I have been a lover of the Betsy Talor series since the beginning and MJD has not let me down yet. Her characters have such great wit and humor, it's impossible not to enjoy their company. I'd take a short trip to hell with them anytime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6