Customer Reviews for

Undead and Undermined (Betsy Taylor Series #10)

Average Rating 3.5
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

a fun urban fantasy at the usual lunatic pace expected from MaryJanice Davidson

After spending less than an hour in frozen July 3015 and a side trip to Hell and a visit with mother dearest Lucifer, Betsy Taylor and her half-sister Laura the Antichrist return to present day St. Paul where they agree they must somehow fix the time line to prevent wha...
After spending less than an hour in frozen July 3015 and a side trip to Hell and a visit with mother dearest Lucifer, Betsy Taylor and her half-sister Laura the Antichrist return to present day St. Paul where they agree they must somehow fix the time line to prevent what they witnessed in the future. Nutso vampire Marc-Thing follows the siblings back from the thirty-first century. Betsy knows she needs to read the Book of the Dead without going insane; thankfully she has a deal with Satan allowing her to peruse the Book in exchange for watching Satanist movies with Laura.

However, her shoes lead her to even crazier scenarios. The strangest being awake in a Chicago morgue as plastic bagged Jane Doe 291. Back at the mansion in St. Paul, Betsy compares notes with Eric and others to understand what is going on as no one is quite like they were before her time traveling ended on a slab. That is until she realizes someone in the future wants Betsy Taylor dead before she can become the powerful Queen of the Vampires.

The magnificent muddled middle book in the time altering miniseries (see Undead and Unfinished for the opening act) is a zany frolic that contains the consistent restraint of self indulged yet caring in her insane way Betsy. The excessive superego with a muted edge as she has seen in her future Betsy has gone too far with her selfishness. Over the top of the Metrodome, fans will relish the second thriller in the changing Taylor landscape as the jocular story line is a fun urban fantasy at the usual lunatic pace expected from MaryJanice Davidson.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Thanks!!!!(not)

You really shouldn't tell the whole entire stroy in a review Harriet Klausner!!!!!!!!!

posted by 5697559 on July 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    What a waste of money and time

    Books 1 - 7 or even 8 were funny and energetic. Book 9 lacked something. Book 10 is none of the above and lacks everything including coherency.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Thanks!!!!(not)

    You really shouldn't tell the whole entire stroy in a review Harriet Klausner!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Very disappointed....

    I have read all of the Undead books and loved all of them.......with the exception of this one. I loved the cliffhanger at the end of the last one, but this book really did not contribute anything to the series. I was extremely tired of being stuck in Betsy's annoying ramblings that went totally off topic and there were absolutely no interesting developments in this book. It was probaby the most frustrating and pointless book I have read in a long time. Do not waste your $12.99. And I agree with the other person who said the new cover art is horrible.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Lame.

    I gave it one star b/c I couldn't give zero. I've read every Betsy book. After the disappointment of the last one, I stuck it out for this lastest one b/c MJ said that it would defintely be better and tie things more cohesively. So, I anxiously awaited for it and got it. I want my $12.99 back. Betsy is more brain dead than ever, Sinclair/Tina make brief cameo appearances and Betsy does nothing but whine. It's not even funny, sarcastic whining. Just annoying. There is no plot advancement, no character development, and not even very funny lines. What was once a great series has turned into mindless filler to add another book sale onto MJ's belt. Bah.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Extremely disappointed

    I've read all the books and felt let-down by this one. Betsy is supposed to get smarter and this book was all about her ramblings and not listening/learning anything. It felt as if this book was just written to meet deadline, no real plot, no real character development. I'll read the next one because I was a big fan, but if it turns out just as "fluffy" as the last one I won't continue reading the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    i don't like the devil or his minions in any book, and no cussin

    i don't like the devil or his minions in any book, and no cussing either.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Worst of the series...by far.

    I loved the first several Undead books, however they have definitely taken a turn for the worse. I forced myself to continue reading strictly out of loyalty to the series, but think I might call it quits after this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Ugh! What a letdown!

    I have really enjoyed the earlier books in this series and would give it a solid 4 stars. The last book was heading downhill and this book is the final crash and burn. I had to FORCE myself to finish it. So confusing & just plain stupid, I really can't believe the editors let this get through. I am sad to say my reading journey with Betsy is over & done and it didn't end on a high note. I STRONGLY recommend you get this book at the library before spending good money on it-I wish I could get my $$ back (and the time I spent reading it!). Read the early Betsy books & then quit while you're ahead!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    Boring and hard to read

    Very slow and doesn't show Betsy to be anything but annoying. Hated it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    I am so disappointed

    I have love this whole series, including the previous one which quite a few people dislike. I could not wait for this book to come out. I am so disappointed in this one! This story made me feel like the author was rushed and could not come up with anything of substance before meeting her deadline. And Sinclair.............why did you turn him into such a wimp?? And not even a lovable one?!?!?! The whole book when dealing with him is all about how he can't even think without Betsy and all they do is have sex. every time you turn a page, the man is throwing her down to have sex with her. "oh Betsy, my love, my own" over and over and over. Oh! Betsy walked to over to the window, better have sex. Betsy drank a slushy, better have sex. Geesh. I like romance as much as the next girl, but I like my men to have a little back bone and not be a sap who does nothing all day but declare his love and can't go ten seconds without wanting to jump the main characters bones. Sinclair used to be a badass. now???? yech! boooooooooooooring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Too much....

    Too much chaos, confusion, silliness, etc. I've liked Betsy till now. I couldn't even finish this. Time to retire Betsy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    Forget it and read something else

    I'm really disappointed in this book. I'm not going into detail because most other reviews here have covered everything I would have said (confusing, whiney, frantic beyond comprehension, ect.). at this point, I'm just letting the series go and really wishing I could get a refund.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Worst book in the series

    As a huge Betsy fan I am very disappointed! The last book was bad in my opinion, but this was horrible! The book didnt get interesting until the last 5 chapters. I will continue to read future Betsy books with hopes that they improve. The first 8 books were great.....what happened? There was very little Sinclair, Laura, Tina and Marc in this book. They were greatly missed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1