Customer Reviews for

Undeadly

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

So this was the first book I've read with zombies, necro, Egypt,

So this was the first book I've read with zombies, necro, Egypt, reaper all mixed in it, and well it was pretty darn good. Concidering I don't like zombies, like my husband does. I do love Eygpt and that makes it cool. We have Molly a necro gifted girl in zombie making ...
So this was the first book I've read with zombies, necro, Egypt, reaper all mixed in it, and well it was pretty darn good. Concidering I don't like zombies, like my husband does. I do love Eygpt and that makes it cool. We have Molly a necro gifted girl in zombie making training. Yup a normal thing out in her world. She and her sister work at zombie imporium, a family run business. So far her day is normal, but then she gets biten by a zombie, gets a ride home from a cute guy who wants to be her new boyfriend, oh and has a dream with Anubis in it. You think it's okay, but Ally explains that people who are visited by the God on their 16th birthday are meant for something great. Molly is now 16 and it's time for her birthday party. All goes well until Rick and group of uninvited girls. The head girl is mad that Rick likes Molly, and so throws punch on her. Once that mess is cleaned up and Molly now longer punched covered, a whole new problem comes up. Rick has just died...well sort of but I won't say about that. The following day Molly gets a huge surprise. Her grandparents from her mom's sides show up and they want to take her away. They went and found out what her destiny is and want to take her to this big fancy school that will help with her destiny. Oh and Al isn't her real dad, but he took her as his own. The last chapter tells who the real dad is, and it's a big surprise! Now at this new school, Molly is still taking everything in. She got a fancy new wardrobe, a room that takes up nearly the entire floor, and her own personal ghoul. Oh yeah, she finds out that she is the heir of her family, plus she does make a group of friends in one day. Since she is special she gets to join a society, without having to apply for it, not that she even wants to be in it. She sorta HAS to just because she is a legacy. Sometimes being a legacy isn't all its made to be. At the end of the first wee she and the society take a trip to Vegas in order to find a soul eater, which turns out slightly dangerous. She sorta gets forced to steal a soul, locked up and then rescued seconds later. At this point she finds out Set is behind things and is only getting closer to being free. (Set arch rival of Anubis.) One of the captors gets killed and turned into a ghost. Molly follows him to a hidden room. He reveals where other stolen souls are, and then she gets rid of the guy and frees the trapped souls. Once that has been dealt with, Anubis shows up and takes Molly to her home, where she can spend some time with them. Soon she is taken to Rick, she had Henry save him. You'll figure out what he did as you near the end. To help him she must save his soul, by having his soul weighed. But first it must be made whole, then if worthy the soul will be free and move on to the next world. Now she must head back and continue to prepare for her destiny.  This book was really good, and I was able to finish it fast. It's a quick read but full of detail and a kick-but story. I did like the style of the book, with the designs at each chapter and some cool quotes, but that's just me. I like those random things. Overall this book was super awesome, and I need the next book.

posted by lovelysheild on February 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Undeadly has a lot going on. It¿s a book of discovery¿Molly, a

Undeadly has a lot going on.

It’s a book of discovery—Molly, a girl who believes she’s nothing more than a necromancer, which, you should know, is totally common place in the near-to-present-reality setting of this book—turns out to be a very special kind of reaper, ch...
Undeadly has a lot going on.

It’s a book of discovery—Molly, a girl who believes she’s nothing more than a necromancer, which, you should know, is totally common place in the near-to-present-reality setting of this book—turns out to be a very special kind of reaper, chosen by Anubis, the Egyptian god of the afterlife himself, who is a god that teens learn about in school since the world they live in is rife with zombies, ghosts, and ghouls.

But that’s not all—Molly meets another reaper, Rath, during a very bizarre situation, learns about her mother’s background, meets some long-lost relatives, enrolls in fancy boarding school, is inducted into a high-fallutin’ secret society, has visions, fights some crime, and starts training to be a kick-ass reaper.

All in less than 300 pages.

To say the pace of this book is brisk is an understatement.

And though it’s a crowded plot, the book is fun. Molly reminds me of Evie from Kiersten White’s Paranormalcy series: she’s perky and yearns to be nothing more than a typical teenage girl. But she accepts her fate with resolve and goes for it with everything she has.

However, this book was a little shallow for me—I wanted Vail to dig deeper into some of the emotional scenes, because, seriously, Molly has A LOT going on in this book. There were some things that I think Vail could have taken a little more time with—and a couple plot points that could have perhaps not been introduced in the first book at all—that would have allowed for Molly to grow a little more as a character than she did.

Overall, Undeadly is a fun read that mixes Egyptian mythology, necromancy, boarding schools, ghosts, and hot reaper dudes. It’s perfect for a night that you don’t want to go out, but also don’t want to read anything heavy. It will keep you entertained throughout and serve as good company while you’re snuggled up on the couch.

posted by BethanyL on January 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    Undeadly has a lot going on. It¿s a book of discovery¿Molly, a

    Undeadly has a lot going on.

    It’s a book of discovery—Molly, a girl who believes she’s nothing more than a necromancer, which, you should know, is totally common place in the near-to-present-reality setting of this book—turns out to be a very special kind of reaper, chosen by Anubis, the Egyptian god of the afterlife himself, who is a god that teens learn about in school since the world they live in is rife with zombies, ghosts, and ghouls.

    But that’s not all—Molly meets another reaper, Rath, during a very bizarre situation, learns about her mother’s background, meets some long-lost relatives, enrolls in fancy boarding school, is inducted into a high-fallutin’ secret society, has visions, fights some crime, and starts training to be a kick-ass reaper.

    All in less than 300 pages.

    To say the pace of this book is brisk is an understatement.

    And though it’s a crowded plot, the book is fun. Molly reminds me of Evie from Kiersten White’s Paranormalcy series: she’s perky and yearns to be nothing more than a typical teenage girl. But she accepts her fate with resolve and goes for it with everything she has.

    However, this book was a little shallow for me—I wanted Vail to dig deeper into some of the emotional scenes, because, seriously, Molly has A LOT going on in this book. There were some things that I think Vail could have taken a little more time with—and a couple plot points that could have perhaps not been introduced in the first book at all—that would have allowed for Molly to grow a little more as a character than she did.

    Overall, Undeadly is a fun read that mixes Egyptian mythology, necromancy, boarding schools, ghosts, and hot reaper dudes. It’s perfect for a night that you don’t want to go out, but also don’t want to read anything heavy. It will keep you entertained throughout and serve as good company while you’re snuggled up on the couch.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Had Potential, But Fell Short

    This book has been sitting on my TBR list since its release way back in 2012. It was one of those books I wanted to read if I got the chance. Well, I finally got the chance.

    My feeling on this book are a bit mixed. I really liked some aspects of it, but others, not so much. I read this book in one sitting, but there were times when I wanted to put it down. However, I knew if I put this book down, I most likely wouldn’t be picking it up. I was hoping this book would be similar to the Mythos Academy book series or the Covenant series, but it was a bit different than that. I think I might have just been expecting more from this book than it was able to deliver.

    I’ll start with what I did like. I really liked the main character, Molly. Michele Vail did a fantastic job writing a character who jumps off the page. Molly voice was one I really liked; she actually sounded like a 16 year old girl. Through her entries in her reaper diaries, you really got to see that Molly was sarcastic and sassy, but also tough and caring. Molly loves her family, despite what she finds out about herself. I was glad that the story was told from Molly’s point of view because she had enough attitude to carry the story. If she wasn’t so strong of a character, I probably would have put this book down and not looked back.

    I really loved the idea of this book. Greek gods and goddesses have been the focus of a lot of retelling recently. It was refreshing to have book focused on the Egypt gods. Personally, I love Egyptian mythology, and was glad to see this book had a focus on Anubis. It is also a zombie book, but not in the way you would expect. Zombies are common place in this world, and they don't want to eat your brains. Ghosts and spirits also are abound in this book. But with the focus on Anubis, God of the Afterlife, that is almost to be expected.

    However, there were also things I didn’t like. I felt like most of the secondary characters, with the exception of Molly’s family, were very bland. They lacked depth and were forgettable. I can’t even remember the names of her friends at Nekyia; they ended up blending into the background. And then there is Rick and Rath. I found nothing interesting in either of them. I know that Rath is supposed to be the hot reaper tutor, but I felt like I knew nothing about him. He was just there to serve as love interest. The romance was stale and felt not existent, both with Rick and Rath. Molly’s feelings for Rath came out of no where, and that annoyed me. I really wished that the secondary characters had more substance to them.

    The pacing of this book was a bit off. I was interested in the plot, but things would happen too fast and without a lot of explanation. I would have to accept some plot points without really understanding them. Other parts of the novel dragged, or just didn’t fit with what previously happened. It was a struggle to continue reading when the pacing was all over the place.

    While Undeadly did not meet my expectations, I enjoyed most of it. Molly was a great character who was able to make me laugh and sympathize with her. I definitely want to see what happens next, especially with an ending that is a cliffhanger. The concept of this book was very intriguing, but failed to deliver at sometimes. Despite the issues I had, I do plan on continuing this series to see where Michele Vail takes us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Mariah's Bio

    Name: Mariah Geller Age: 17 years old Race: White Height: 5'6" Weight: 120 pounds Eye Color: Light hazel Hair Color: Dirty blonde. Other: Hair reaches my middle back, it's wavy and long. I wear glasses, ray bans. I have my nose peirced and my ears as well. I'm tan and lean. I usually wear skinny jeans, converse, beanies, and crop tops/ tank tops. I don't have much of a family history considering i can't remember half of it. I am sweet, loyal, and carrying. Needs training though. Team: Noah Friends: Noah, Kenneth, and Zach. Anything else, ask. Deuces....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Undeadly as a whole feels like a bit of a missed opportu

    <i>Undeadly</i>
    as a whole feels like a bit of a missed opportunity. I expected to thoroughly enjoy a book incorporating necromancy and Egyptian mythology. However, there were things about the novel that just rubbed me the wrong way. For one, I couldn’t connect with the protagonist, Molly, because I found her quite annoying. As she admits more than once in her narrative, she is shallow. In this case, I feel the descriptor suits her superficial values in addition to what I felt was a lack of character depth and development. I didn’t like her quite enough to root for her through all her problems, so I didn’t enjoy the story as much as I could have otherwise. Her decision-making skills are often questionable at best, and downright irresponsible in other cases. It is clear that her boyfriend <i>comes back wrong</i>
    , but it takes her the entirety of the novel to own up to her mistake and do anything about it. Her attitude is what I can only think to describe as “valley girl” much of the time. If she said “Whatevs.” one more time, I think I would have attempted to reach through the book and slap her.

    Despite these shortcomings, there are certainly aspects of the novel I enjoyed. I enjoyed the mythology of the novel, with the Egyptian gods, the reapers, and the necromancers. I thought the concepts presented here were interesting. I liked that Molly has to deal with her decision to serve Anubis as a binding one, even though it was made in a dream and she is really quite immature about it sometimes. I can cut Molly some slack for her attitude because she had to deal with so many life-changing bombs dropped on her at once. And when she is actually being cute instead of annoying, her narrative is fun and witty. The secondary characters (especially Rath) were interesting and I find myself wanting to know more about them.

    Overall, I enjoyed <i>Undeadly</i>
    enough to seek out the next installment, <i>Unchosen</i>
    . The book leaves off on a cliffhanger which leaves you wanting more. This novel is good for those wanting a non-serious, light read. It may be better suited to younger readers who will likely find Molly to be more entertaining than irksome–but not too young, as there are some sexual themes.

    <b><i>This book was obtained freely from the publisher, Harlequin Teen, via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.</i></b>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really liked the sound of so many things in this book. Reape

    I really liked the sound of so many things in this book. Reapers, ghouls, etc paired with an elite boarding school. Sounds like quite a few other books I enjoy with a new element added to it. Sadly, I wasn't all that impressed.

    First off, I had a really hard time grasping this new world that Molly lives in. It just didn't make any sense. I would have greatly appreciated a few pages explaining things. But, it honestly felt like our main character had ADD. She would explain things in the middle of whatever was going. And it was never enough. I think I had an ok picture of it by the end of the book, but it was too little too late.

    Molly wasn't too bad as our main character. Her sudden thought changes were confusing at times, but I eventually got use to them. And they seemed less frequent as the story went on. I understood her plight as the outcast with the desire to fit in. I wish she would have thought a little harder about setting her sights on Rick. Granted we don't get to know him very well in his human state, but I'm a believer than in most stories humans take some of their characteristics with them. I wish she would have asked more questions. I think she could have learned some much more about who she was had she demanded some answers (but then we really wouldn't have a story).

    Nekyia Academy is both cliche and not. It's got secrets just like any other mythical boarding school in young adult literature these days. But, there were things that I found interesting. I found it intriguing that there were found families that were guaranteed admittance to the school. They had designated rooms and in Molly's case, a ghoul that has served her family for a long time. There's some hierarchy there that will be interesting to explore.

    The ending was much better than the beginning, but I'm not sure if it will be enough to keep me reading the series. I guess we will see when the next one comes along.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    **More like 3.5 stars** With a spirited, snarky main character

    **More like 3.5 stars**

    With a spirited, snarky main character and a fun take on zombies and reapers, Undeadly is a fast and fun ride.

    Undeadly is a book that I've been looking forward to for a long time. I loved the cover, loved the synopsis and was excited to dive into the story. I found the story to be really fun, unique and a bit quirky. The thing is, I'm not a big zombie fan. But in this book, the zombies, and all of the supernatural beings were given a lighter spin. So I enjoyed the story for the very reason hardcore zombie lovers might have not. Also, I loved the world of necromancers and Egyptian history that Vail created. It was in-depth and creative, without feeling like a huge amount of info to work through.

    Another reason that Undeadly worked for me was the dialogue. Molly talked like a true teen. Now that I really think about it, she sounded a lot like my friends and I did in the 90s. I found the fact that she dealt with the upheavals in her life with sarcasm instead of despair to be sort of refreshing.

    My review would be lacking if I didn't mention the two men of Undeadly, Rick and Rath. Rick was a sweetie, but I would have liked a bit more to his and Molly's relationship to form a better connection with him. Rath was great, sexy and mysterious. Again, I would have liked to have had waaayy more of Rath in Undeadly, but am hoping to get that in book two.

    Overall, I liked Undeadly. Like I've said (probably too many times!), it was a fun journey. Molly was left at the edge of a big discovery and I'm interested to find out what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I personally have been waiting to read Undeadly by author Michel

    I personally have been waiting to read Undeadly by author Michele Vail for quite a long time now. After glimpsing the astonishing cover and reading the awesome sounding description/synopsis, I was dying to get my hands on the story and begin reading. I’ll admit that what with the sudden rise in the whole “Grim Reaper” genre I was a bit hesitant, the last thing I wanted was a cliché of every single other novel out there—so imagine my glee when I say that Undeadly is completely original and for that I loved every second of it.

    Undeadly comes in the comedic point of view of main character Molly Bartolucci as she adapts to the fact that she has been chosen as the God of death, Anubis’s, champion. Growing up in a world where zombies, ghosts and necromancy are common happenings, Molly was born as ka heka which means that as a necromancer her special ability is raising the dead/making zombies. On her sixteenth birthday Molly has The Dream in which Anubis himself visits her and asks if she’s willing to accept being chosen by him, after receiving her (almost) boyfriend, Rick ends up dying.

    Molly stuffs what’s left of his soul back into his body, which makes his corpse return… but not as a zombie. After that, Molly is sent off by her mother (who abandoned Molly’s family)’s parents to attend the Nekyia Academy, an elite necromancer school where Molly will be trained how to be a butt-kicking necromancer by the reaper who was supposed to take Rick’s soul; Rath.

    The novel itself I found, was pretty drop dead hilarious especially since as a reader we get chapters in Molly’s POV and get to read entries from her diary/guide for future necromancers who come across it. Molly’s personality was one that was funny because not only does she manage to put a humorous twist on everything, but also manages to make the most serious of situations lighthearted. Plus, I felt like she was a character I could relate to, which is good because I found it more realistic for a teenaged character.

    The one thing I did notice however, was that the description did mention there being a ton of students dropping dead or going catatonic on school grounds and how all trails lead up to Molly. I personally found, that that aspect of the novel was barely touched down on and only happened within a few chapters or getting mentioned briefly. Did I find that disappointing? Not really, considering that the events that ensued made up for lost time.

    I found that in Undeadly, something I found awesome was that when Molly trains with a spiteful Rath (a bit of a pun, right there) and they practice boxing he says something funny along the lines of her elbows popping out with all her punches. I kick box, I remember my coaches saying something similar and I actually have quoted the same thing that Rath said to Molly with the younger kids before reading the book. I found it a fun coincidence and also made the novel feel a lot more real.

    My only real problem with the novel was that sometimes, you don’t get an immediate idea of what the setting looks like or other characters. It’s usually only mentioned a few times and then kinda let slip in the place of Molly’s thoughts on the situations around her, I’ll admit that sometimes I would forget the location of the characters just because there wasn’t really a location to imagine.

    All in all, a fun read that I enjoyed. Am I excited for the sequel? Hells yeah! Bring on more Anubis and zombies! I would recommend Undeadly to fans of the House of Night series, readers who want a lighthearted read and those of us who are looking for something fun that can be read in one sitting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1