Customer Reviews for

Undeadly

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

So this was the first book I've read with zombies, necro, Egypt,

So this was the first book I've read with zombies, necro, Egypt, reaper all mixed in it, and well it was pretty darn good. Concidering I don't like zombies, like my husband does. I do love Eygpt and that makes it cool. We have Molly a necro gifted girl in zombie making ...
So this was the first book I've read with zombies, necro, Egypt, reaper all mixed in it, and well it was pretty darn good. Concidering I don't like zombies, like my husband does. I do love Eygpt and that makes it cool. We have Molly a necro gifted girl in zombie making training. Yup a normal thing out in her world. She and her sister work at zombie imporium, a family run business. So far her day is normal, but then she gets biten by a zombie, gets a ride home from a cute guy who wants to be her new boyfriend, oh and has a dream with Anubis in it. You think it's okay, but Ally explains that people who are visited by the God on their 16th birthday are meant for something great. Molly is now 16 and it's time for her birthday party. All goes well until Rick and group of uninvited girls. The head girl is mad that Rick likes Molly, and so throws punch on her. Once that mess is cleaned up and Molly now longer punched covered, a whole new problem comes up. Rick has just died...well sort of but I won't say about that. The following day Molly gets a huge surprise. Her grandparents from her mom's sides show up and they want to take her away. They went and found out what her destiny is and want to take her to this big fancy school that will help with her destiny. Oh and Al isn't her real dad, but he took her as his own. The last chapter tells who the real dad is, and it's a big surprise! Now at this new school, Molly is still taking everything in. She got a fancy new wardrobe, a room that takes up nearly the entire floor, and her own personal ghoul. Oh yeah, she finds out that she is the heir of her family, plus she does make a group of friends in one day. Since she is special she gets to join a society, without having to apply for it, not that she even wants to be in it. She sorta HAS to just because she is a legacy. Sometimes being a legacy isn't all its made to be. At the end of the first wee she and the society take a trip to Vegas in order to find a soul eater, which turns out slightly dangerous. She sorta gets forced to steal a soul, locked up and then rescued seconds later. At this point she finds out Set is behind things and is only getting closer to being free. (Set arch rival of Anubis.) One of the captors gets killed and turned into a ghost. Molly follows him to a hidden room. He reveals where other stolen souls are, and then she gets rid of the guy and frees the trapped souls. Once that has been dealt with, Anubis shows up and takes Molly to her home, where she can spend some time with them. Soon she is taken to Rick, she had Henry save him. You'll figure out what he did as you near the end. To help him she must save his soul, by having his soul weighed. But first it must be made whole, then if worthy the soul will be free and move on to the next world. Now she must head back and continue to prepare for her destiny.  This book was really good, and I was able to finish it fast. It's a quick read but full of detail and a kick-but story. I did like the style of the book, with the designs at each chapter and some cool quotes, but that's just me. I like those random things. Overall this book was super awesome, and I need the next book.

posted by lovelysheild on February 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Undeadly has a lot going on. It¿s a book of discovery¿Molly, a

Undeadly has a lot going on.

It’s a book of discovery—Molly, a girl who believes she’s nothing more than a necromancer, which, you should know, is totally common place in the near-to-present-reality setting of this book—turns out to be a very special kind of reaper, ch...
Undeadly has a lot going on.

It’s a book of discovery—Molly, a girl who believes she’s nothing more than a necromancer, which, you should know, is totally common place in the near-to-present-reality setting of this book—turns out to be a very special kind of reaper, chosen by Anubis, the Egyptian god of the afterlife himself, who is a god that teens learn about in school since the world they live in is rife with zombies, ghosts, and ghouls.

But that’s not all—Molly meets another reaper, Rath, during a very bizarre situation, learns about her mother’s background, meets some long-lost relatives, enrolls in fancy boarding school, is inducted into a high-fallutin’ secret society, has visions, fights some crime, and starts training to be a kick-ass reaper.

All in less than 300 pages.

To say the pace of this book is brisk is an understatement.

And though it’s a crowded plot, the book is fun. Molly reminds me of Evie from Kiersten White’s Paranormalcy series: she’s perky and yearns to be nothing more than a typical teenage girl. But she accepts her fate with resolve and goes for it with everything she has.

However, this book was a little shallow for me—I wanted Vail to dig deeper into some of the emotional scenes, because, seriously, Molly has A LOT going on in this book. There were some things that I think Vail could have taken a little more time with—and a couple plot points that could have perhaps not been introduced in the first book at all—that would have allowed for Molly to grow a little more as a character than she did.

Overall, Undeadly is a fun read that mixes Egyptian mythology, necromancy, boarding schools, ghosts, and hot reaper dudes. It’s perfect for a night that you don’t want to go out, but also don’t want to read anything heavy. It will keep you entertained throughout and serve as good company while you’re snuggled up on the couch.

posted by BethanyL on January 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    So this was the first book I've read with zombies, necro, Egypt,

    So this was the first book I've read with zombies, necro, Egypt, reaper all mixed in it, and well it was pretty darn good. Concidering I don't like zombies, like my husband does. I do love Eygpt and that makes it cool. We have Molly a necro gifted girl in zombie making training. Yup a normal thing out in her world. She and her sister work at zombie imporium, a family run business. So far her day is normal, but then she gets biten by a zombie, gets a ride home from a cute guy who wants to be her new boyfriend, oh and has a dream with Anubis in it. You think it's okay, but Ally explains that people who are visited by the God on their 16th birthday are meant for something great. Molly is now 16 and it's time for her birthday party. All goes well until Rick and group of uninvited girls. The head girl is mad that Rick likes Molly, and so throws punch on her. Once that mess is cleaned up and Molly now longer punched covered, a whole new problem comes up. Rick has just died...well sort of but I won't say about that. The following day Molly gets a huge surprise. Her grandparents from her mom's sides show up and they want to take her away. They went and found out what her destiny is and want to take her to this big fancy school that will help with her destiny. Oh and Al isn't her real dad, but he took her as his own. The last chapter tells who the real dad is, and it's a big surprise! Now at this new school, Molly is still taking everything in. She got a fancy new wardrobe, a room that takes up nearly the entire floor, and her own personal ghoul. Oh yeah, she finds out that she is the heir of her family, plus she does make a group of friends in one day. Since she is special she gets to join a society, without having to apply for it, not that she even wants to be in it. She sorta HAS to just because she is a legacy. Sometimes being a legacy isn't all its made to be. At the end of the first wee she and the society take a trip to Vegas in order to find a soul eater, which turns out slightly dangerous. She sorta gets forced to steal a soul, locked up and then rescued seconds later. At this point she finds out Set is behind things and is only getting closer to being free. (Set arch rival of Anubis.) One of the captors gets killed and turned into a ghost. Molly follows him to a hidden room. He reveals where other stolen souls are, and then she gets rid of the guy and frees the trapped souls. Once that has been dealt with, Anubis shows up and takes Molly to her home, where she can spend some time with them. Soon she is taken to Rick, she had Henry save him. You'll figure out what he did as you near the end. To help him she must save his soul, by having his soul weighed. But first it must be made whole, then if worthy the soul will be free and move on to the next world. Now she must head back and continue to prepare for her destiny.  This book was really good, and I was able to finish it fast. It's a quick read but full of detail and a kick-but story. I did like the style of the book, with the designs at each chapter and some cool quotes, but that's just me. I like those random things. Overall this book was super awesome, and I need the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Prims bio

    Im 13
    Looks: brown hair...brown eyes...grey tshirt and jeans
    My heart is broken...but its taped up a lil...
    Fave song: big city dreams (NeverShoutNever)
    Fave color: blood red
    Fave person: Finn the Human (lol)
    Fave 2song: Midnight memories

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Jordan's bio

    AGE: 24 <br>
    WEIGHT: 131 lbs. <br>
    HEIGHT: 5ft. 11in. <br>
    PERSONALITY: Dangerous, creative, content, rebellious <br>
    APPEARANCE: Brownish-black hair (short around the sides and made into a fauxhawk on top), green eyes, usually has some sort of injury, scars. <br>
    Clothing: black combat boots, black jeans, black leather vest, Gothic Cross dogtags, gun belts around his waist and over his left shoulder, hip holsters <br>
    WEAPONS: Machete (gun belt, back), twin sawed-off 20-gauge shotguns (hip holsters), LeMat revolver (gun belt, waist), ammo (gun belt, chest) <br>
    SKILLS: Splicing wire, lockpicking, pickpocketing, hotwiring, weapon creation, engineering, detonation <br>
    VEHICLE: Harley-Davidson chopper

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Madies bio

    Hi im madieanna i prefer madie. I love to skateboard and fight. Ive done cheer even though i hate girly girls. I dont wear dresses and if i do i dont wear them with heels. I hate putting my hair up to make it look "se xy" to me i find that "sl utty". I have light brown long wavy hair with some highlights, hazel eyes out of all my siblings, cheek bones, no dimples :(, im skinny but i dont have curves like most of my sisters. Im the second to younget sister. The oldest i have is Victoria then her twin Vanessa then me and then the youngest, Valentina. I love my younger sister more than anything. I have two older brothers, Carter and Nick. Im single ;) and also, i hate badboys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    sammis bio &hearts

    Name. Sammi * looks. Dark bolnd hair down to her shoulder , blue eyes , skinny , short , usally wears light blue skinny jeans and a tank top and vans * peres. Funny, crazy , serious , insane * crush. Several but yeah im single * wepons. Bb guns a pistol and knives

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Brandi bio

    Blurg. Later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Ashton complete bio

    Age 15. Hair blond with black streacks in it. Looks wears shorts and a blue under armour sweatshirt. Personality is funny nice and loyal. He wears basketball shoes. His hobbies are killing walkers and having fun. Crush none. Weapons are a crossbow and two tomahawks. Team. Noahs. Family he has a brother named will and a sister named katy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Zach

    name: zachary quiskstaf, prefers zach. Age:18 rank:team technition, wepons builder. Working on cure. Titaniun arm replaces the one he cut off to stop the infection. Small amount entered bloodstream but is held back by test cures he makes. Wepon specalty: mg-42 dragonov(a russian sniper rifle.) and bow and arrows wears his military uniform. Never takes off his dogtags unless necisary. Team:noa friends:noah kenneth mariahect. Enimies: pat and hood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Pats bio UPDATE

    Team:fireflies captain
    Looks:blue eyes, blackish blondish hair,tan,and no scars
    Personality:nice,helpful(unless mad),drinker,etc
    Weapons:nail gun, sawed off shotgun,magnum,etc
    House:has large masion in georgia heavily fortified with a wall claymors in the woods and other traps and with turrets on the wall and balcony.
    More:my favorite place is Georgia with the spanish moss and savanna. I hate kenny noah. I love running and fighting and paige. I own a tank and humvee.

    Need more ask.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Hoods bio

    Name hood team pat weapons bow and arrow two pistols and one m-16 rifle semi automatic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Necromorph

    Age:35weapons are his claws and teeth he is a necromorph wich is a zombie/mutant thingy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Noah

    Whats up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Katniss bio

    Age: 15 weapons: gun, khife, bow and arrow, sword, can do gymnastics. Appearances: has brown hair, and brown eyes, can sing, and shes smart. Her history: she saw her family get eatting my zombies. But now shes the only one left to defeat her goal. Her safehouse: res 8. Anymore you want to know ask;

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Zombie bio

    I zombie. I no write. (Bite mark)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Savannahs updated bio

    Name savannah ann kayla issabella Palmer sort of related to kiki palmer. Looks dreamy brown eyes and brown black hair alsways in a ponytail. Wears super skinny jeans converse tanktop with croptop over and a slapback always. Likes to sing dance kill listen to music cook talk to noah. History i was walking home from school came in and saw my bros and parents shot. Military note left saying your next. Killed the military officer who killed them. Friends noah kenneth the girl zach and z. Team noah duh. Body type slim with muscles 5'4 grew two inches.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Charlotte

    NAME: Charlotte Nevada Raleigh. Call her Chevy. AGE: 21. APPEARENCE: Tall with a slim build, long limbed. She has greasy, curly auburn hair and bright hazel eyes. HISTORY: She was a close friend of Michonne's, and stayed with her at the refugee camp, where she travelled to Woodbury soon after. Chevy left in the middle of the night, however, and went to search for another group when she found out how corrupt the Governer was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    To below

    &#12484 &#12483 &hearts &spades &#12485

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Vixen's Biography

    Name: Vixen D'ariel Sangston `•`•`• Age: Looks to be 20 `•`•`• Gender: Girl. `•`•`• Appearance: Straight dark red hair with a few gold streaks, one cyan blue eye and one golden eye. 5"6, curvy, slightly tan but not alot, full lips. `•`•`• Attire: Tight black leather vest, tight black pants and black combat boots. She has a silver snake arm band that coils all the way up her left arm. `•`•`• Personality: Hm. Meet her. `•`•`• Status: Single, for now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2012

    Who knew reading about Egyptian mythology, reapers, necromancy,

    Who knew reading about Egyptian mythology, reapers, necromancy, ghosts, and zombies could be so much fun! Well, heck, if you haven’t read debut author Michele Vail’s butt-kicking new series, The Reaper Diaries, yet, you wouldn’t know, now would you? Not to be confused with The Vampire Diaries. No, no, no, this is a new kind of awesomeness all on its own. But let me assure you, this is the first book in a splendid new series you don’t want to miss out on. It’s way better than its blurb promises it to be. Imagine having a ghoul as a butler, who obeys your every command (and he can braid your hair like a pro). Got you curious? You haven’t seen anything yet.

    I know I’ve said this a million times before, but for those new to my reviews, one of my pet peeves in books are weak, whiny female characters. Luckily, this is not the case and Molly’s character is really great. She’s strong, smart, fun, has a snarky sense of humor, and tackles her fears head-on. It was easy to step into her shoes, as well as those of all the supporting characters – most of them likeable, and a few not so much, and immerse myself in Molly’s utterly fascinating world, which – I might add – changes drastically after the events at her sixteenth birthday party. For those of you who, like me, are attracted to books with bad-boy characters, “Undeadly” has a seriously yummy one who goes by the name of Rath. The chemistry between him and Molly is tangible, and their contemptuous bantering elicited a good chuckle from me every so often. 

    Two more things I really loved about this book is that, one, there’s no love-triangle (thank goodness!), and two, there are so many twists, secrets and revelations it will make your head spin - but in a good way. It certainly kept me turning the pages in a frenzy to find out what happens next. After the second chapter I simply gave in and lost myself in this wonderful book, and before I knew it, I finished it in the space of a couple of hours. Just so you know, this one has a cliff-hanger ending, but fortunately book two is on its way.  

    “The Reaper Diaries” is definitely a series with attitude that is sure to generate a huge following.  It will not surprise me if this is made into a hit tv series. It has so much promise and potential, and the author’s writing style is fresh and unique. I highly recommend this book as a must-read - as in place this right at the top of your to-be-read list, without delay.  “Undeadly” deserves far more than a mere five stars. Yep, it is that good, and makes my list of most unforgettable books read in 2012! 

    I received a free copy of this book from the publisher via Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2