Customer Reviews for

Undeclared

Average Rating 4
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

TiWi

A different type of romance book that I really liked "Grace & Noah's" Emotional, Hot Love Story that first started from letters..500+ pages & worth the $3.99.

posted by 11130870 on May 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Boooooring!

Seriously boring. Grace has zero personality and rarely talks let alone shows some emotion. Noah has potential but apparently wants to match Grace's boringness. I actually read the second book first and LOVED it, so this book was very disappointing - I couldn't even fi...
Seriously boring. Grace has zero personality and rarely talks let alone shows some emotion. Noah has potential but apparently wants to match Grace's boringness. I actually read the second book first and LOVED it, so this book was very disappointing - I couldn't even finish...

posted by Anonymous on December 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    TiWi

    A different type of romance book that I really liked "Grace & Noah's" Emotional, Hot Love Story that first started from letters..500+ pages & worth the $3.99.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Only to page 24

    And already sooo annoyed with Grace i know she is in college but COME ON!! I will continue to read with the hope that her character becomes a touch more mature! Please!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Boooooring!

    Seriously boring. Grace has zero personality and rarely talks let alone shows some emotion. Noah has potential but apparently wants to match Grace's boringness. I actually read the second book first and LOVED it, so this book was very disappointing - I couldn't even finish...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Sweet book

    I really loved this book except for the rushed ending. I felt like the author could have given us a little more. Now im about to read the second book in this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    I couldn't put this book down, I strongly recommend it! :) a gr

    I couldn't put this book down, I strongly recommend it! :)

    a great book, but it would not read on my nook 1st edition. So I had to read it online. Talked to Barnes and Noble, it's something to do with the formatting of the ebook not being compatible with the nook 1st edtion. Something good to keep in mind when buying.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet, Fun and Sexy! I Absolutely Loved This Read! I received t

    Sweet, Fun and Sexy! I Absolutely Loved This Read!

    I received this eARC in exchange for an honest review from the author.

    4 Amazing, Oorah Stars!!

    The Rundown:
    Grace Sullivan pen-palled with Noah Jackson for four years. What started out as a high school class project to write to a Marine while he was overseas at war, turned into something way more than she ever expected. Divulging secrets, feelings and complaining the repetitiveness of ever day life to one another through hand written letters, Grace finds a true confidant in Noah and he find a solace his war torn heart needed. But when she proclaims romantic feelings for him and tells him she wants to meet him, he throws down the "friends only" card and leaves her heartbroken.

    Two years later, Noah suddenly shows up in Grace's life asking for a reconnection she's not sure she has the heart to give him. But his determination and feelings for a girl who kept him sane in the harshest sand of a foreign desert gives him the courage to state his case in hopes she will eventually forgive him.

    The Review:
    Undeclared (Woodlands # 1) is Jen Frederick's debut novel and she comes out swinging! I loved this read. It was sweet, oh so sexy, beautifully told and well written and had just enough angst to keep my little angsty heart puttering throughout the whole story.

    Characters...
    Noah Jackson was perfect in every way! He was compassionate, considerate and sexy as hell! His old school values mixed with his slight debauchery made him a perfect alpha male and you can't help but adore every part of his character. And the fact he's a Marine and a mixed martial artist fighter is just icing on the cake! He comes back into Grace's life after a two year absence, meeting her face to face for the first time and is determined to reconnect with her. He lost himself for a while but now that he's taken steps to secure their future, he's not giving up without a fight. All he needs to do is win her over before it's too late. He is completely swoon-worthy and watching him compete for Grace was romantic and exciting.

    Then we have Grace Sullivan who is awkward and socially inept. She's undecided about school, about life, about herself. She thinks she's not good enough and has let fear and cowardice control her decisions and rule her heart. Some of these hang up's were caused by her family life and some caused by the rejection of Noah when she opened up to him. She's kept her heart locked up tight, first because she was saving herself for a man across the ocean and then because she was afraid to let it free once it was shattered. Her biggest flaw other than the lack of self confidence is her lack of drive. She has passion and talent for photography which astonishes anyone she allows to see it but it's hidden behind insecurities. I liked her character but Im a sucker for a strong female lead who can be both shy and sexy. She was both these things but her insecurities kept her from shinning. I wanted her to shin as bright as I know she could. Thankfully, she takes charge at the end and things shift in her favor. It was both frustrating and a delight to watch her character struggle.

    I also adored all the sub-characters. Lana is Grace's fiery cousin and best friend. I love when best friends are protective and the lead cheerleader in the heroine's corner, rooting for their success. Lana was no exception. She had her own hang-ups but that never distracted her from supporting Grace, just like a true BFF should. And then there is the fascinating and charming Bo, Noah's long time best friend and wingman who was a true joy to read. He's fierce loyalty and protectiveness only made him more appealing as he looked out for Noah through everything. The next story in the Woodlands series will be about him and I can't wait!!!

    The Wrap Up:
    This was an excellent read that was filled with true romance, sweet and fun moments and interesting characters that kept me reading straight through. I'm definitely looking forward to the next book in the series and I'm keeping a look out for future works by this author.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2013

    This is a tricky review for me to do because I seriously was stu

    This is a tricky review for me to do because I seriously was stuck to this book and swooning like crazy over Noah and Grace. I love how Jen Frederick would start each chapter with a note from Noah, one from when he was deployed, it gave us an idea of what it was like for him and where he was with Grace. The way he signed his letters was an indication that she was starting to mean more to him. After 4 years of writing and Grace being the only good thing in his life while deployed in Afghanistan, the two of them create a special bond.




    At least, that is what Grace thought, then all of a sudden the letters stop and when he comes home Noah acts as though Grace doesn't exist. Plans of meeting and finally seeing each other face to face go unfulfilled and leave Grace feeling abandoned.




    Grace pinned hard over Noah, and understandably so. You get to know someone pretty well after 4 years of letters, at least Grace thought she did, now she's not so sure and when Noah walks back into her life she has feelings of happiness and anger all at once. Does she grab him and never let go, indulge herself in feeling him in her arms like she imagined so many times when they were writing or does she leave him at arms length and make sure that she never gives him the power to hurt her again?




    What got me hooked on this book the most was how hard Noah starts to fight for Grace and prove to her she is the one for him. He has his reasons for staying away for the last two years. He knows that she will 'test' him and he is ready and willing to do whatever it takes to get her to see just how much she means to him. I loved it, I love Noah, and Grace is a girl I could see myself being friends with.




    Now, this is the tricky part for me because while this book took off wonderfully, had me hooked on the characters and story, and was on it's way to a least a 4 heart rating. Then, it started to come apart a little. I feel like Noah changed, once him and Grace were together he seemed to stop really trying. He didn't get to good for her or anything, really it's the opposite, he feels like he will never be good enough for her. It was more like, he accomplished winning her over so he didn't do anything extra to keep her. Not that he had to, because Grace was stuck on Noah long ago but I could feel a shift in his attitude towards her and it wasn't one that I didn't embraced. It's also not one I noticed right away either, slowly I started to feel less connected to the characters and the story, I felt like it was drifting away a bit.




    With that being said, the story still had a hold on me, just not nearly as much as it did in the beginning. Most of the time, the books that I love super hard grip me and then have a death hold by the end. I honestly thought that's where I would end with this book, but I didn't. That's not to say this is a good book because it is and I am still going to suggest that you give it a read. Especially if you like yourself some soldier and fighter in your alpha-male.




    This is book 1 in the Woodlands series and book 2 of the series, Unspoken, is Noah's best-friend and Marine buddy, Bo's story. We get to see Bo quite a bit in Undeclared so I have a bit of a soft spot for him and I am looking forward to reading his story. I hope we get to see a bit of Grace and Noah as well. I love it when there are companion books and we get to say hi to characters from books past.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Great book!

    Wished it had a more detailed ending but all around great book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2015

    Wow!!

    Could not put this book down. Loved the characters. Can't wait to read all the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2015

    As a high school project for 4 years Grace writes to Noah who is

    As a high school project for 4 years Grace writes to Noah who is a marine in Afghanistan.  When he gets out, Noah writes to her to say they can't meet.  Grace had fallen for him while writing and is heart-broken when he brushes her off.  Two years later Noah finds Grace and tries to make up with her. He knows it will be hard to win her back but he wants to try anyway.

    I liked the unique story line in Undeclared. I thought two people basically sharing their lives by letter for four years and telling each other just about everything they thought and felt was so romantic. I could imagine how devastated Grace felt when Noah wanted to end their communication and felt so bad for her.  At the same time, Noah didn't feel he was good enough for Grace and it was in her best interest for him to stay away from her. It could only have been the mess war made of his head that made him think that because, really, here was a gorgeous man who was also a fighter, so he's very, very strong. Physically, what's not to like?

    I liked this story but I was a bit confused with the ending. I finally figured it out.  I read the author's note at the end of the book telling about other books in this series.  I wish I hadn't read that because it tells stuff I didn't want to know yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2015

    ****

    A sweet romance. I thought that I might get bored with this at first. But it turned out to be an excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2015

    I found myself loving Undeclared pretty much right from the star

    I found myself loving Undeclared pretty much right from the start. There is a great blend of humor and banter to keep the story flowing nicely. I really liked the relationship our heroine, Grace has with her cousin. Plus all the sorority talk made me miss those frat pledges from my own college days.

    Our hero and heroine wrote letters back and forth to one another for four years while he was in the military and she was in high school. Each chapter in the book starts with one of his previous letters. Noah, our hero mainly discusses mundane things in these letters, but for some reason I just loved getting to read a new one each chapter.

    I’m considering Undeclared a second chance love story even if some of you might not agree with me. You see our hero and heroine write letters back and forth for FOUR years while he in the military but never meet. Things finally … well let’s just say they end for them and the two move on. Well they move on the best that they can, until Noah decides it’s time to claim what he considers his. See totally second chance.

    We also get to read Noah’s point of view in Undeclared. I liked being able to see inside his head. I don’t want to give too much away, but I’ll just say that I really liked Noah and the fact that he was just as wrapped up with Grace. I loved the lengths he was willing to go for her and his second chance.

    Our heroine, Grace confused me. Not really, I mean she’s that typical girl, hates the hero but at the same time is still pinning for him. I mean who hasn’t found themselves in this type of situation before right? Grace was a little more weak of a heroine than I normally like to read, it made it kind of hard for me to love her. In the end Grace gets her stuff together and I was able to like her a little more, but she’s still never going to be one of my favorites.

    Overall, I guess I’m torn over Woodlands. While it was a great story and I thought the book was well written, things seemed a little too easy. Where is our angst and action? For the most part all of our issues are just Grace’s insecurities. I still really liked Undeclared and I’m going to read book two in the series because I want to find out who will snag Bo. Undeclared was a standalone so the next book is about Bo, a secondary characters in this book. I liked Bo quite a bit and can’t wait to read his story in Unspoken.

    Anyway, enough casting for Bo, if you want to read about one hell of a hot marine and am loving the second chance stories like I have been lately you need to pick up a copy of Undeclared.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2014

    great

    I loved and hated it at the same time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2014

    And on and on and on - boring times five

    Glad it was free - it drug on and on boring me out of my mind - pure torture. I started skippin after the first 75 pages, hoping it would get better - it didn't!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2014

    mediocre book

    This is a typical romance novel with a so-so plot that seems more like a foundation for a better novel if given more time to develop the characters...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2014

    Grace wrote to Marine Noah for four years and was crushed when,

    Grace wrote to Marine Noah for four years and was crushed when, as close as they'd grown, he
    completely blew her off when he came home. Two years later, he's traveled across the country in search
     of her. He insists he wants a serious relationship, but how can she trust that he won't break her heart
    again.

    Frederick gives reader two compelling characters in familiar-yet-fresh scenario. Grace is a nice mix of
     sass and vulnerability. I love her little quirks--like hating to drive. Noah is thoughtful, honorable but
    flawed in his single-minded focus on financial success. There's a great supporting cast. I especially like
     Grace's cousin Lana. I wish Frederick would have given her more of a role in the book--hopefully,
    though, she'll get a story of her own.  Great portrayal of campus life--like getting a college do-over.

    The MMA bout was a bit underwhelming after all the build-up around it, especially as it followed a huge
    blow up between Noah and Grace that itself seemed a lot of noise about nothing much. Reading it, I got
    the sense that  Frederick has some trouble tapping into real conflict there and so ended up forcing it a bit.
    The epilogue is another weak spot. There's nothing new added--just a rehash of the final scenes of the
     novel. I would have left it out. 


    All in all a better-than-average New Adult romance with interesting characters and situations. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2014

    I can see why so many people enjoyed this book. It has a lovely

    I can see why so many people enjoyed this book. It has a lovely coming of age and into oneself for both characters. The flashback letters are wonderful. The love and sex are perfectly matched. 




    The dual first person point of few felt rough to me, however, and some of the drama much less interesting than Grace and Noah just being together. 




    All the partying made me feel old. It didn't sound like any kind of fun.  If I squint way into my past, I can recall going to parties a bit but I just feared roofies and other horrors the whole time during  this book. 




    However, that is just because I am old and I wouldn't hold that against the book but it also didn't seem true to Noah's character or really Grace's either. 




    An engaging New Adult read, overall, with a moving treatment of a Middle East War Veteran that is worth the read. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    Excellent

    Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    Loved it!

    Awesome series! Some very detailed love scenes but not to many! Mainly a love story with good character details and keeps you interested!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2014

    Anonymous

    Enjoyed the story and the characters. Must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5