Customer Reviews for

Undeclared

Average Rating 4
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    TiWi

    A different type of romance book that I really liked "Grace & Noah's" Emotional, Hot Love Story that first started from letters..500+ pages & worth the $3.99.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet, Fun and Sexy! I Absolutely Loved This Read! I received t

    Sweet, Fun and Sexy! I Absolutely Loved This Read!

    I received this eARC in exchange for an honest review from the author.

    4 Amazing, Oorah Stars!!

    The Rundown:
    Grace Sullivan pen-palled with Noah Jackson for four years. What started out as a high school class project to write to a Marine while he was overseas at war, turned into something way more than she ever expected. Divulging secrets, feelings and complaining the repetitiveness of ever day life to one another through hand written letters, Grace finds a true confidant in Noah and he find a solace his war torn heart needed. But when she proclaims romantic feelings for him and tells him she wants to meet him, he throws down the "friends only" card and leaves her heartbroken.

    Two years later, Noah suddenly shows up in Grace's life asking for a reconnection she's not sure she has the heart to give him. But his determination and feelings for a girl who kept him sane in the harshest sand of a foreign desert gives him the courage to state his case in hopes she will eventually forgive him.

    The Review:
    Undeclared (Woodlands # 1) is Jen Frederick's debut novel and she comes out swinging! I loved this read. It was sweet, oh so sexy, beautifully told and well written and had just enough angst to keep my little angsty heart puttering throughout the whole story.

    Characters...
    Noah Jackson was perfect in every way! He was compassionate, considerate and sexy as hell! His old school values mixed with his slight debauchery made him a perfect alpha male and you can't help but adore every part of his character. And the fact he's a Marine and a mixed martial artist fighter is just icing on the cake! He comes back into Grace's life after a two year absence, meeting her face to face for the first time and is determined to reconnect with her. He lost himself for a while but now that he's taken steps to secure their future, he's not giving up without a fight. All he needs to do is win her over before it's too late. He is completely swoon-worthy and watching him compete for Grace was romantic and exciting.

    Then we have Grace Sullivan who is awkward and socially inept. She's undecided about school, about life, about herself. She thinks she's not good enough and has let fear and cowardice control her decisions and rule her heart. Some of these hang up's were caused by her family life and some caused by the rejection of Noah when she opened up to him. She's kept her heart locked up tight, first because she was saving herself for a man across the ocean and then because she was afraid to let it free once it was shattered. Her biggest flaw other than the lack of self confidence is her lack of drive. She has passion and talent for photography which astonishes anyone she allows to see it but it's hidden behind insecurities. I liked her character but Im a sucker for a strong female lead who can be both shy and sexy. She was both these things but her insecurities kept her from shinning. I wanted her to shin as bright as I know she could. Thankfully, she takes charge at the end and things shift in her favor. It was both frustrating and a delight to watch her character struggle.

    I also adored all the sub-characters. Lana is Grace's fiery cousin and best friend. I love when best friends are protective and the lead cheerleader in the heroine's corner, rooting for their success. Lana was no exception. She had her own hang-ups but that never distracted her from supporting Grace, just like a true BFF should. And then there is the fascinating and charming Bo, Noah's long time best friend and wingman who was a true joy to read. He's fierce loyalty and protectiveness only made him more appealing as he looked out for Noah through everything. The next story in the Woodlands series will be about him and I can't wait!!!

    The Wrap Up:
    This was an excellent read that was filled with true romance, sweet and fun moments and interesting characters that kept me reading straight through. I'm definitely looking forward to the next book in the series and I'm keeping a look out for future works by this author.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Great book!

    Wished it had a more detailed ending but all around great book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    I couldn't put this book down, I strongly recommend it! :) a gr

    I couldn't put this book down, I strongly recommend it! :)

    a great book, but it would not read on my nook 1st edition. So I had to read it online. Talked to Barnes and Noble, it's something to do with the formatting of the ebook not being compatible with the nook 1st edtion. Something good to keep in mind when buying.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Very good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2014

    Grace Sullivan started writing letters to the Marines for a scho

    Grace Sullivan started writing letters to the Marines for a school project.  But she continued to write to a Marine,  Noah Jackson for 4 years and she even fell in love with him. Then his deployment ended and so did their letters. Grace was left heartbroken.  
    Two years after the letters stopped, Grace is attending college with her best friend and cousin, Lana. She is confused and struggling with what she wants to do with her life. One thing she does know is after 2 years of dealing with the heartache,  she wants nothing to do with relationships or letting a guy close at all.
    Noah Jackson grew up on the wrong side of the tracks and with a real jerk of a father. All he had in life was his best friend since 8th grade,  Bo. That is until they both joined the Marines.  The Marines taught Noah control and how to be a man. Then he got his first letter from Grace, and she made him want to be a better man. Once his deployment was up, Noah struggled with readjusting  to civilian life. Noah finally comes up with a plan. He fights his way through 2 years of community college and then decides to transfer and go find Grace. 
    What will happen when Noah and Grace cross paths for the first time? Can Grace fit into Noah's plans? Will Grace figure out what path in life she wants to take? Can Noah win over Grace and piece back together the heart he had broken?  
    Jen Frederick can write a truly great story. I love the Marines and MMA fighter tie ins. Noah is a new add on my list of book boyfriends.  This is a really fantastic read and you really want to cheer on both Noah and Grace. I am happy to give this book a Nerd Alert B+ or 4.5 stars! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2014

    Really enjoyed it.

    Really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Boooooring!

    Seriously boring. Grace has zero personality and rarely talks let alone shows some emotion. Noah has potential but apparently wants to match Grace's boringness. I actually read the second book first and LOVED it, so this book was very disappointing - I couldn't even finish...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Highly Recommend!

    Great story; found myself getting very vesting in the characters. You felt as though you knew them and wanted to fight for them. Enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Awesome!!

    I really loved this book.Looks like a good series to start with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Great book. I couldn't put it down.

    Great book. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 stars. An enjoyable sweet young romance. Grace Sullivan wro

    3.5 stars. An enjoyable sweet young romance.

    Grace Sullivan wrote to a deployed young marine for four years as part of a high school project. They became friends and she fell in love with him through their letters. Then the letters stopped after the last one put her in “the friend zone”. She was devastated and promised herself no man would hurt her again and now shy about taking chances on anything.

    Noah Jackson didn’t have family to speak of except those he made in the marines. He enjoyed the letters he shared with Grace and fell in love with her too but the service does things to a man and he needed to get himself together before he could feel himself worthy of someone like Grace.  And being determined he did just that and then set out to find Grace, apologize, and become a part of her life. 

    They meet when Grace is in college. Noah knowing where she would be from their letters followed Grace and enrolled at the same school. The years have not changed how Grace felt about Noah and she was thrown by his presence and at first avoids him, protecting her heart, but some things are just inevitable.

    This book had a very interesting premise, a little reminiscent of the Lucky One by Nicholas Sparks though quite different. This was a sweet romance that I enjoyed. Each chapter opened with the letters they shared which gave us an insight into the friendship and caring that developed through their words.  The alternating points of view let us know what each was thinking as their relationship came into being and grew.  Noah is a few years older than Grace and she was the one who matured from the beginning of the book. She became a more confident woman not just in terms of a relationship but in herself and what she wanted out of life. I liked how this couple tackled the issues they were faced with and that they each had good supporting friends and I look forward to seeing some of those friends get their own stories.

    The writing could have been smoother, was a little slow in spots but not enough to make me drop the book.  The author had me invested in the characters. I wanted to see them get their HEA. The writing could have used a professional editor as I did find 10 instances of missing words and incorrect word usage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2013

    Really enjoyed reading this book...read it all in one sitting.

    Really enjoyed reading this book...read it all in one sitting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Sweet book

    I really loved this book except for the rushed ending. I felt like the author could have given us a little more. Now im about to read the second book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2013

    Love it

    Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Most Excellent!!

    What started as a class project, led to a 4 year friendship via letters. Grace and Noah would write to each other once a month to keep in touch and see how the other was doing. But two years ago, when Noah left the Marines, he broke off the friendship. Ever since then, Grace would see a guy and imagine it was him. But not anymore. A year ago, Grace severed all thoughts and decided it was time to move on and forget Noah. Well, that was the plan. She still wonders about him and her heart is still mending from when he broke it. Telling her she was just like a kid sister to him. Little does she know, Noah is about to come storming back into her life...and he has her in his sights.

    I started this book late at night and could not seem to find a stopping point. It was like the author purposely wrote so the reader could not possibly want to put the book down. Well played, Frederick, well played. When I did finally put the book aside (a mere 65% in) I just laid there thinking on it and replaying what I had already read in my mind. This book and it's storyline is seriously addictive. Within pages of the start it grabs you and you by no means want it to let go.

    The characters are class A, too. I just loved me some Noah. Yes, he made a huge mistake by letting Grace go two years before. But he has his reasons. Stupid reasons, but reasons none the less. I rooted for this boy from the start...hoping and praying he got his girl in the end. That she wouldn't be an idiot and throw something wonderful away all for foolish pride. Did he? Mums the word. Read and see for yourself.

    Grace is unsure what she wants to be when she grows up. And that is ok. She is only 19. I honestly didn't see the big deal about her being undecided with her major. She has time to make up her mind as she goes along. But apparently her Uncle, who is footing her college bill, is wanting her to decide and decide soon. She is still a sweet person and one heck of a character. Not once did I roll my eyes at her or get annoyed with her. (You'd be surprised how often that happens). And I like that she made Noah work his way back into her life, little by little. He needs to. She doesn't need to just fall at his feet now that he is back.

    Like I said earlier...this book is way too addictive and I loved every single minute of it. I really wish I would have had the time to read it earlier, like when I received the book. I know now I was totally missing out on its goodness. Read it for yourself and see what I am talking about. It is a must read that recommend to all who love a fabulous NA read. And I am itching to read Bo's story now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2013

    This is a tricky review for me to do because I seriously was stu

    This is a tricky review for me to do because I seriously was stuck to this book and swooning like crazy over Noah and Grace. I love how Jen Frederick would start each chapter with a note from Noah, one from when he was deployed, it gave us an idea of what it was like for him and where he was with Grace. The way he signed his letters was an indication that she was starting to mean more to him. After 4 years of writing and Grace being the only good thing in his life while deployed in Afghanistan, the two of them create a special bond.




    At least, that is what Grace thought, then all of a sudden the letters stop and when he comes home Noah acts as though Grace doesn't exist. Plans of meeting and finally seeing each other face to face go unfulfilled and leave Grace feeling abandoned.




    Grace pinned hard over Noah, and understandably so. You get to know someone pretty well after 4 years of letters, at least Grace thought she did, now she's not so sure and when Noah walks back into her life she has feelings of happiness and anger all at once. Does she grab him and never let go, indulge herself in feeling him in her arms like she imagined so many times when they were writing or does she leave him at arms length and make sure that she never gives him the power to hurt her again?




    What got me hooked on this book the most was how hard Noah starts to fight for Grace and prove to her she is the one for him. He has his reasons for staying away for the last two years. He knows that she will 'test' him and he is ready and willing to do whatever it takes to get her to see just how much she means to him. I loved it, I love Noah, and Grace is a girl I could see myself being friends with.




    Now, this is the tricky part for me because while this book took off wonderfully, had me hooked on the characters and story, and was on it's way to a least a 4 heart rating. Then, it started to come apart a little. I feel like Noah changed, once him and Grace were together he seemed to stop really trying. He didn't get to good for her or anything, really it's the opposite, he feels like he will never be good enough for her. It was more like, he accomplished winning her over so he didn't do anything extra to keep her. Not that he had to, because Grace was stuck on Noah long ago but I could feel a shift in his attitude towards her and it wasn't one that I didn't embraced. It's also not one I noticed right away either, slowly I started to feel less connected to the characters and the story, I felt like it was drifting away a bit.




    With that being said, the story still had a hold on me, just not nearly as much as it did in the beginning. Most of the time, the books that I love super hard grip me and then have a death hold by the end. I honestly thought that's where I would end with this book, but I didn't. That's not to say this is a good book because it is and I am still going to suggest that you give it a read. Especially if you like yourself some soldier and fighter in your alpha-male.




    This is book 1 in the Woodlands series and book 2 of the series, Unspoken, is Noah's best-friend and Marine buddy, Bo's story. We get to see Bo quite a bit in Undeclared so I have a bit of a soft spot for him and I am looking forward to reading his story. I hope we get to see a bit of Grace and Noah as well. I love it when there are companion books and we get to say hi to characters from books past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Wow

    New author for me. Great read. Really liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    3.5 stars After reading the synopsis, I went in to Undeclared ve

    3.5 stars
    After reading the synopsis, I went in to Undeclared very excited. I absolutely loved the premise. I had a few pen pals over the years, so I could totally understand how this kind of relationship could develop. Some of the best parts of this book for me were seeing the letters between them. I think it helped to understand what Noah was going through and it helped to get to know him a bit better too. 




    I absolutely adored Noah. He's the kind of character that I'm typically attracted to. He's the strong quiet type of guy. I loved his persistence with Grace. I admired the fact that Noah recognized he needed to get himself in order before pursuing a relationship with Grace. And I liked Grace. I think as the story developed, she had a lot of growth. 




    So, why the 3.5 star rating? Well, there were a few little things that I would have liked to have seen more completed. For example, Noah is purchasing a Frozen Yogurt franchise and takes a big fight in order to make the deal happen. I felt like this was a pivotal scene for Noah, but we never saw the result. I suppose it was just to be assumed. There were a few other scenes I would have liked to have seen completed too. And honestly, I wanted to read his final letter to Grace. 




    Overall, I really did enjoy Noah and Grace's story. I felt excited to continue on with the series and anxious to know more about the supporting characters. Jen Frederick's strength is creating characters you want to know more about. She's made a fan out of this character reader!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4