BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Under Attack

Average Rating 3.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hannah Jayne's "Under Attack" is a Sure Winner!

Under Attack By: Hannah Jayne Copyright: November 2011 Publisher: Kensington Books She's one of the Underworld Detection Agency's best. But her job is really starting to bite . . Sophie Lawson is a human immune to magic, which comes in handy for helping paranormal being...
Under Attack By: Hannah Jayne Copyright: November 2011 Publisher: Kensington Books She's one of the Underworld Detection Agency's best. But her job is really starting to bite . . Sophie Lawson is a human immune to magic, which comes in handy for helping paranormal beings transition into everyday life. But fallen angel Alex Grace and his search for the Vessel of Souls is one curse she never saw coming. Suddenly an unexplainable string of killings and destruction has even San Francisco's demons fearing for their immortal lives. And Sophie isn't about to trust Alex's all-too-vulnerable charm or his secret agenda. Now their hunt is revealing dangerous secrets about Sophie's past, and a malevolent power hellishly close to turning one irreverent human into the ultimate supernatural weapon. . . After a long day at work, dealing with all the monsters and their problems, Sophie is in desperate need of a nice relaxing bath. Unfortunately she is invaded in said bath by none other than Fallen Angel Alex Grace. Alex only appears in Sophie's life when he needs something from her. This will not bode well for her. Alex talks her into "helping" with his investigation into the deaths of a number of demons in the S.F. area. So you then add in the fact that Sophie is totally loved by everyone she works with, and unfortunately her new boss Dixon Andrade is not one of those people. He's been sent in to replace Pete Simpson and he's going to make HIS changes from day one. As the only mortal in the company (even though she is the best customer svc. person there) Sophie is afraid for her job. Between these two opposing sets of problems you can add the fact that when she is let go from the agency that she's been at her whole working life you can see that Sophie is not in the best of shape. What she finds out about herself and how her friends stand by her while she's doing this make for a fantastic second book in the Underworld Detection Agency Chronicles series. Hannah Jayne has constructed an Urban Fantasy world where the Demons and Monsters are registered and monitored in our world. It's different and has me staying up all night just to finish it in one sitting. FTC Full Disclosure: I received this book from the publisher who only asked for a fair and impartial review.

posted by NoraAdrienne on October 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

book one/two review

Thought I'd throw these in as a single review because one interacts with the other. The story line was fun and kept me reading but there were inconsistencies between this and the first that drew me out of the story. FREX in book 1 she's five-foot-five in book two she's ...
Thought I'd throw these in as a single review because one interacts with the other. The story line was fun and kept me reading but there were inconsistencies between this and the first that drew me out of the story. FREX in book 1 she's five-foot-five in book two she's five-two---almost stopped straight out in the first book (read this one first) when Sophie looked out the office window to check the weather when they are roughly 37 floors below the police station...which I take to mean underground rather than the policestation is on the 38th floor since they enter the police station and go down,is this a magic window?

THe lead characters constant drifting off while she admires all the men she's dealing with got distracting to this reader and I started thinking she was something of an airhead and she never really did anything to push that out of my thought process. Not sure I remember one time when she actually did something sensible or got herself out of a jam. Not saying they didn't happen but if they did they weren't memorbale.

Inconcistency number umpteen. Book one ended woth her reading the story of her life in Grandma's letters then book two opens with her firmly believing herself to be nothing more than a human magical immune although it seemed fairly well-established by the end of book one that she was at least a cross breed. I suppose all that info could have wafted out of her head on an air current.

A little more attention to detail and a little more courage and intelligence on behalf of the heroine and these would have been great books.

posted by PookaSP on February 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    book one/two review

    Thought I'd throw these in as a single review because one interacts with the other. The story line was fun and kept me reading but there were inconsistencies between this and the first that drew me out of the story. FREX in book 1 she's five-foot-five in book two she's five-two---almost stopped straight out in the first book (read this one first) when Sophie looked out the office window to check the weather when they are roughly 37 floors below the police station...which I take to mean underground rather than the policestation is on the 38th floor since they enter the police station and go down,is this a magic window?

    THe lead characters constant drifting off while she admires all the men she's dealing with got distracting to this reader and I started thinking she was something of an airhead and she never really did anything to push that out of my thought process. Not sure I remember one time when she actually did something sensible or got herself out of a jam. Not saying they didn't happen but if they did they weren't memorbale.

    Inconcistency number umpteen. Book one ended woth her reading the story of her life in Grandma's letters then book two opens with her firmly believing herself to be nothing more than a human magical immune although it seemed fairly well-established by the end of book one that she was at least a cross breed. I suppose all that info could have wafted out of her head on an air current.

    A little more attention to detail and a little more courage and intelligence on behalf of the heroine and these would have been great books.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    Not bad. Sophie Lawson is a human, a ┬┐breather┬┐, with no extrao

    Not bad.

    Sophie Lawson is a human, a ‘breather’, with no extraordinary powers working in the world of demons. Unless you count being human and being immune to magic as extraordinary. But in the world of dragons, vampires, trolls, banshees and various other demons those superpowers aren’t very impressive. But that doesn’t stop Sophie from trying to solve a mystery that is causing death and destruction in her town of San Francisco. However, in her attempt to solve this case she finds out a few things about her past that shake the very foundation from which she’s lived. Not to mention a psychotic Fallen Angel is trying to kill her. Will Sophie find the Vessel of Souls before the Fallen? Will she unravel the mystery of her father? Will she figure out a way to keep her grandmother from appearing in shiny surfaces when it’s not convenient? And, most importantly, will she get her job back at UDA?

    Nicely written with a plot that proceeds at a moderate pace, I still am trying to like the characters in this series. Sophie isn’t quite as annoying as in the first book, but her habit of crying at everything really got on my nerves. That girl is a veritable watering pot. I still don’t like Alex at all and Nina is too self-centered to be anybody’s best friend. Yet there is something here that will keep me reading the series. I’m just not sure what it is though it might be the occasional humor. I love humor in my stories.

    *Book source ~ Many thanks to Kensington for providing me with a review copy. Please see disclaimer page on my blog.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2013

    I enjoyed the story line, and thought is was original. That was

    I enjoyed the story line, and thought is was original. That was where my like for this series ended.
    Too many inconsistencies. She cries too much. I would have thought that this book was young 
    adult had I not read in the book that she is supposedly 33 years old. Really? She acts like she is 13.
    I was excited to see that there are many books in this series when found it. Unfortunately I don't even
    think I will be able to finish the second book , let alone read another. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend. Great Characters.

    I thought the characters were so much fun that by page 21 I bought the first book. I spent this whole book either giggling or laughing out loud. Sophie and her friends are great. It was full of one liners and little zings that came out of no where. From the cover of the book I thought Sophie was an Agent/Cop for the Underworld Detection Agency. She's not. She's a clerk/assistant but that does lead to many interesting conversations. It was a very entertaining, quick moving story, with delightful and enjoyable characters. It was so much fun to read. I can't wait for the next story coming out in May 2012.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hannah Jayne's "Under Attack" is a Sure Winner!

    Under Attack By: Hannah Jayne Copyright: November 2011 Publisher: Kensington Books She's one of the Underworld Detection Agency's best. But her job is really starting to bite . . Sophie Lawson is a human immune to magic, which comes in handy for helping paranormal beings transition into everyday life. But fallen angel Alex Grace and his search for the Vessel of Souls is one curse she never saw coming. Suddenly an unexplainable string of killings and destruction has even San Francisco's demons fearing for their immortal lives. And Sophie isn't about to trust Alex's all-too-vulnerable charm or his secret agenda. Now their hunt is revealing dangerous secrets about Sophie's past, and a malevolent power hellishly close to turning one irreverent human into the ultimate supernatural weapon. . . After a long day at work, dealing with all the monsters and their problems, Sophie is in desperate need of a nice relaxing bath. Unfortunately she is invaded in said bath by none other than Fallen Angel Alex Grace. Alex only appears in Sophie's life when he needs something from her. This will not bode well for her. Alex talks her into "helping" with his investigation into the deaths of a number of demons in the S.F. area. So you then add in the fact that Sophie is totally loved by everyone she works with, and unfortunately her new boss Dixon Andrade is not one of those people. He's been sent in to replace Pete Simpson and he's going to make HIS changes from day one. As the only mortal in the company (even though she is the best customer svc. person there) Sophie is afraid for her job. Between these two opposing sets of problems you can add the fact that when she is let go from the agency that she's been at her whole working life you can see that Sophie is not in the best of shape. What she finds out about herself and how her friends stand by her while she's doing this make for a fantastic second book in the Underworld Detection Agency Chronicles series. Hannah Jayne has constructed an Urban Fantasy world where the Demons and Monsters are registered and monitored in our world. It's different and has me staying up all night just to finish it in one sitting. FTC Full Disclosure: I received this book from the publisher who only asked for a fair and impartial review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2014

    Love it! Hate the way it ended.

    But can,t wsit to read them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    Very good

    I really enjoyed this book, I felt all the emotions that Sophie was going through. Sophie is a great character, though she does make a few dumb choices in this book...not that anyone would not have.
    ****Spoiler Alert**** I just wish Alex would go away, he wants to go back to heaven...then go. I like him, but he pulls Sophie's heart apart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    When Sophie opens up the novel talking about hobgoblin slobber,

    When Sophie opens up the novel talking about hobgoblin slobber, you know you're in for another treat. (NOT the hobgoblin slobber. YES, Sophie and co.) One of the things I love most about Sophie is her quirky sense of humor that comes out even in the most dangerous of situations. Along with the humor comes the tendency to ramble on, and then maybe delve into a sexual fantasy or two. While it does make the plot less streamlined and tight-knit as it could be, I love this trait of Sophie's. It keeps the story light-hearted and fun to read. And, sometimes, one needs to be able to coast through a story that isn't wrought with tension, suspense, and ominous clouds.




    I adore the scandalous conversations between Sophie and Nina. They remind me of the insults some sisters at heart will exchange in a way that really means to say, "I love you" and "BFF 4Ever." They're such girls like that. And the way they'll talk about delicious men they can just eat up! The story never lacks for humor and entertainment be it Sophie's own narration or her interactions with others. Okay, Sophie can be a bit of a drama queen at times, and when she's down and doesn't get the comfort treatment that she wants, she'll lash out at people, but I can't stay annoyed at her for long. Her personality is just so vibrant and compelling.




    The supporting cast is as fun as ever. I'm glad to see some familiar faces return along with references to occurences from the first book, such as Steve and his new love life. (Who knew that one could get fond of a stinky troll?) Vlad is another character that I love and am glad to see return. He's the perfect image of an angsty teenager who, inside, is really a big softie with a good heart. Alex is as sexy as ever, if a bit antsy and overprotective of Sophie in this novel, and Will is a charming addition to the group. He isn't around much though, so I don't have much to comment on—only that I look forward to seeing more of him in the future.




    Still, I have to confess that I liked the first novel more. I liked exploring the demon world much more than the fallen angel side. The whole specter part was weird, especially as it didn't really seem to have anything to add to the plot other than bizarre conversations with the specter. There didn't seem to be much keeping the plot moving, as Sophie doesn't know enough about the situation to take the initiative to investigate. She can only live life and respond to changes in the situation. Also, unlike the first novel, this one doesn't do a good job standing on its own. Going into the final pages, many plot threads were still unresolved, and it felt rushed at the end. Even then, some things remain to be addressed in future installments in the series.




    Overall, this is proving to be a fun series filled laugh-out-loud humor, sexiness, and heart-pounding action. I love Sophie and her friends and am looking forward to reading Under Suspicion, the third installment in the Underworld Detection Agency series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Attackers of Darkness App Den POST!

    In a cave in a small grass covered hill is the app den. The floor has moss on it, and a pile of feathers and willow branches sits in the corner for making nests. POST!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Two & 1/2 stars...

    Good read, except for the teenage behavior of Sophie Lawson. I'm almost 33 and don't act like a 14 year old. That's my biggest gripe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Angelclaw

    angelclaw drags him back...

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent, quick, & quirky read.

    Another Sophie Lawson escapade in the books! Can't wait for book 3 to be released. I like the dynamics of all the characters, how a group who shouldn't exist together, exist together like a family. I liked learning more of Sophie's history and all the complications that await her. Really enjoyable and quick read with a bit of attitude and complicated twists

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    Very Funny Read

    Sophie Lawson manages demons for the Underworld Detection Agency in San Francisco. Her best friend Nina is a vampire, and her on-again, off-again boyfriend is a fallen angel. Despite her intimate relationships with the minions of hell, she thinks she's just a normal "breather," a mortal human with no special abilities other than the fact that she's immune to magic. But then Alex comes back into her life, and he's looking for something called the vessel of souls. Whoever controls the vessel controls the balance of good and evil in the world. Sophie has to help Alex find it before the bad guys do, but finding it won't be easy. Alex's evil ex-girlfriend wants the vessel, and she's willing to kill Sophie to get it. And as Sophie learns more about her past-and about how it's connected to the vessel-she discovers that she might not be quite as human as she thought.

    "Under Attack" is a high-spirited, action-packed romp through a city filled with magical beings, tasty food, and bad fashion. I laughed out loud more than once, and the numerous plot twists and turns took me by surprise. My only complaint was that the humor sometimes detracted from the emotional impact of the plot revelations. On the other hand, some urban fantasy novels are too serious and gritty for my tastes. If you like a little chick lit mixed in with your urban fantasy-including sexy men, high fashion, and pop culture references-then "Under Attack" is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2