Customer Reviews for

Under Cover of Darkness

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2005

    Loved it!

    I loved this story line. It kept me enthralled until the end. I especially like reading a book that has no profanity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Great read. Recommend to everyone.

    Great read. Recommend to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    This is the first novel of James Grippando's that I have read.I

    This is the first novel of James Grippando's that I have read.I could
    not put this book down. Can't wait to read more of his novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    I love his books

    This book was very good,I always enjoy his books. Very surprising villain recommend this book to all Grippando fans

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2002

    This is One Killer Thriller

    I thought that I would pick up a good mystery over the holidays and headed for "Grisham" on the rack. I stopped short when "Grippando" caught my eye. "Under Cover of Darkness" was not a good mystery. It was a GREAT mystery from start to finish. I don't think I have ever read a story this intense in my life. Full of short, fast-flying chapters, "Under Cover of Darkness" ends each with nail-biting suspense and the inability to put the pages down. The character portrayal was expert and the plot was full of twists and turns but never lost me. The forces of good and evil were embattled so realistically throughout this novel that sometimes I would find my shoulders shudder and my spine tingle. If you are as busy as I am and have only a small window of opportunity for pleasure reading, pick this one up. It's the fastest read you'll ever find.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2003

    Awesome Mystery Thriller!!

    This book deserves more like 10 stars. A real page turner. Full of twist and turns in every chapter. Wow! It had me on the edge of my seat and I couldn't put it down. A real ROLLER COASTER RIDE!! This was my first James Grippando book and I really look forward to reading all of James Grippando books. Thanks Mr. Grippando.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2002

    WHAT A THRILLER!

    I've read and enjoyed all books by Mr. Grippando but this tops them all. Full of suspense and thrills, it kept me intrigued to the very end. If you like a book to help you forget about your daily problems, then you've found it here. Hopefully Mr. Grippando has a lot more fascinating plots and characters running around in his head, ready to come out and give readers another great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2002

    Satisfactory

    This was my first book I have read by the author. I enjoyed it. Anyone who hasn't read this book yet, might want to read THE INFORMANT first. Because main character from that book made a cameo apparence in this book. I liked THE INFORMANT much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2002

    HAD ME CHECKING MY WINDOWS AND DOORS

    When this book was first released I wouldn't touch it because after reading the Prologue I was terrified. Saw it on a bargin table in hardback for $7.00, brought it, just finished it and I'm exhausted. What a great workout for the brain. Kept me guessing until the end which was a work of art in itself. All the characters were developed well and fit into the story line perfectly. I've read The Pardon and I can't wait to get my hands on another book by Mr. Grippando. I agree, this story along with The Pardon would be great movies. I've seen worst movies that have been developed from books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2001

    Grippando's latest disappoints

    Despite having a good storyline and well developed characters, this book was just a little bit disappointing for me. For one thing, it was extremely slow-moving. The entire book seemed like it was supposed to lead up to a huge surprise ending, but the ending wasn't even that good. Another thing was that I found that Gus Wheatley's daughter to be much more mature than a six-year-old could ever possibly be. Their conversations about Beth Wheatley were way too sophisticated to be between a father and his six-year-old daughter. When I started this book, I expected it to be a psychological thriller about a serial killer. But, it went a little over the top as the main characters delved deeper into the mystery. I also found some of the characters to be quite annoying. For example, Gus' sister, Carla, would never leave Gus alone about how it was his fault that Beth disappeared. Overall, this isn't a bad book, there are just many parts that could have been done much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2000

    Grippando does it again!

    Grippando's latest feature is smooth reading & fast moving with his signature-style character development & multi-plot twists. It's impossible to put this book down once you start reading! All of Grippando's books are screaming to be made into a movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2000

    Under Cover of Darkness

    Grippando did it again! A great mystery that keeps you reading! Enjoyable characters that keep you turning the pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2000

    A COMPLEX, NAIL-BITER

    Gus Wheatley has success, money, power, a loving wife, and a beautiful daughter, until one day his world shatters. Gus's wife, Beth, disappears. FBI profiler, Andie Henning, is investigating a series of murders, the strange beginnings of a serial killer. The deeper Andie gets she believes Beth to be a victim of the killer. Gus begins his own investigation, and as he uncovers certain 'truth's' about his wife, he realizes he did not know her at all. Andie and Gus will work together, for new evidence points to Beth still being alive, and possibly being an accomplice to the killer. 'Under Cover Of Darkness' will keep you turning the pages, and guessing all the way to the shocking climax. James Grippando has consistently written great book after great book, and has quickly become one of my favorite authors. With his new book he keeps the pace fast while juggling various characters, and shifting the twist and turns of the plot into high gear. A MUST read! Nick Gonnella

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    exciting and imaginative thriller

    At forty-one, Gus Wheatley is the youngest managing partner of Preston and Coolidge, one of Seattle¿s most powerful law firms. Gus loves the power, the attention, and recognition his position provides for him, but his career comes at a high cost. He hardly knows his six-year-old daughter Morgan or even his wife of many years Beth. <P> Sadly, Gus is unaware how little he knows about his family until his spouse fails to pick up their daughter at the youth center. Gus gets his child who is not pleased to see him. Gus¿ sister thinks Beth disappeared because she was unhappy living with him. By the time the FBI becomes involved, Gus realizes that he does not know Beth at all. She suffers from bulimia and shop lifts for items she does not need. With a serial killer on the loose, the FBI thinks Beth might be one of his victims because she fits the description of his marks. Their inquiries take them to a cult and the FBI the lead investigator wonders if Beth is a hostage or a killer? <P>James Grippando is one of the more creative writers on the market today. Rarely does the audience guess the ending to one of his books because he is the master at misdirection. UNDER COVER OF DARKNESS is an exciting and imaginative thriller filled with likable characters deserving of sympathy from the audience. This roller coaster tale moves form event to event, leaving readers with a slight gasp to regain their oxygen as the riveting action moves to an absorbing finish. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2