Customer Reviews for

Under Fire (Corps Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

I reccomend this book to military-history-fiction buffs.

posted by 1140100 on March 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Another top novel by the master

The weaving of facts with fiction is once again seamless. The book is action packed and the characters are believable. I look forward to more of the same

posted by ASAvet on September 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    Another top novel by the master

    The weaving of facts with fiction is once again seamless. The book is action packed and the characters are believable. I look forward to more of the same

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    I reccomend this book to military-history-fiction buffs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Thunderstorm

    Sniffs and smell a twoleg and a dog nearby and darts into the bushes and waits until they pass then renewed scent marking and moves to res. 46

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    all of griffin's book are enjoyable

    I read most of Griffin's books when they first came out. I still enjoy all the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    A Great Read

    This is the second to the last in the Corps series. The history is mostly accurate and the characters mostly believable. The invasion of Inchon is portrayed beautifully. I heard the stories of this operation many times while growing up, and later; from my father who served on a destroyer in that operation.

    I was also privileged to meet 'The Chosen Few', a remarkable group of Veterans of the battle at the Chosen Reservoir, while I was stationed at Fort Sill, Oklahoma. Their stories of this forgotten war dovetail well with the author's storyline.

    If you enjoy military, history, and a good story...you have to read Griffin's works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    excellent story just as good as the others in the series

    must read just as good as the rest of the books in the series. looking forward to the rest of the books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    Under fire

    Anoher masterpiece by Web Griffin. Fiction cobined with military History

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    Disappointed

    Love the Corps series. Have reread them more than I care to admit. Have been very disappointed that the rest of WW II was left out and it took some of the enjoyment out of the Under Fire read. WW II should be finished or my library will never be complete. Besides The 'Greatest Generation' deserves the best and the best is W.E.B Griffin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2004

    What's up with skipping the last part of WW2

    I have been reading your Corps series since it came out and I have enjoyed it immensely.Being a former Marine you have truly done a disservice to the Corps by leaving out the lasts years of the war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2004

    Great book but...

    Why did we skip the the last part of WWII? 'In Danger's Path' wrapped up in 1943, and now here we are in 1950, just prior to the outbreak of the Korean War. The good news is that many of my favorite characters are still around, and still performing splendidly. In 'Under Fire', McCoy and Zimmerman are once again paired together and provide more than enough excitement during their initial service of the war, while BG Pickering, 'El Supremo', and President Truman provide insight into the political situation of the period. Classic Griffin, and a great read, but I'd still like to know where the rest of WWII went!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2003

    While this is a Excellent Book I was a trifle dissapointed

    I enjoyed the book immensely. The story was outstanding. But since Mr. Griffin fast fowarded to the Korean War, so much history of W.W.II was overlooked. Before the book came out, I was picturing in my minds eye the next volume in the series. The battle of Okinawa. The change over in power at the death of President Roosevelt. Perhaps having Fleming Pickering brief President Truman on the whole 'MAGIC' program. Seeing one of the main characters, Killer McCoy or Ed Banning riding in one of the bombers going into either Hiro Shima or Nagasaki as an observer. There is so much that wasn't covered. I hope he covers it in the next novels in 'flashbacks'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2003

    Griffin Must be getting Tired

    This novel was a rehash of the old stories, half the book was spent going over the past. The 'New' story was a re-work of the Korean war from a past book. Definetly one of Mr. Griffins worst efforts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2002

    Great to see the old gang back in action

    Loved the story. The editing was not done by a professional. Too many errors made following the story confusing. I became hooked on the "Killer McCoy" saga during book one of the series. Someone has got to make a movie about one of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2002

    WEB Griffin does it again, to no surprise!

    With Korea gearing up, it was outstanding to find my hero, Killer McCoy, still hard at work in the Corps. He gets banged up after WW2 as did most Mustangs with loss of rank, but presses on with his essence of Esprit de Corps. Lets get the next installment out quick, even my 17 YO daughter wants to know what is going to happen to Pick now that he has a viable love interest. Well done. Let's fast track the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2002

    Griffin is losing his attention to detail!

    I have read and re-read all the Griffin books and have been a great admirer. However UNDER FIRE is even more sloppy regarding previous facts about the charactors then IN DANGERS PATH. McCoy now has an Episopalian upbringing when in prior books he and his family were catholic. Depending on which book he killed two, three, four and now one, Italian marines. There are many more errors which will be immidately noticed by Griffin fans. If a third of the book is spent giving a history of the charactors at least get it right. I am also disappointed in the lack of realism in UNDER FIRE when compared to earlier Corp's books. Griffin is losing his attention to detail that has made him so popular with so many fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2002

    Where is Pick?

    I enjoyed the book very much. I was disappointed that Pick was left MIA. When can we expect the next book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2002

    Semper Fi, The Missing Years

    I agree with readers who want to know what happened after WWII. I mean, all of a sudden we find McCoy married, Pick the president of a commercial airlines, and Zimmerman a successful businessman (Mae Su's doing apparently). It would make a fine interim book for this series. And perhaps it should now interlace with the Brotherhood of War series. Didn't Lowell run the tanks around in Korea after the NK's broke through the DMZ? How about a hook-up with the CIA? Lots to contemplate here. And then the next book. The Dominican Republc, our entre to Vietnam circa 1958... Hmmmmmm. This is getting even better. Come on WEB, look at all this material.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2002

    Under Fire (Corps Series #9)

    In his earlier books W E B Griffin was a most enjoyable author. This latest book is what has become a typical Griffin novel that continues to overuse complete names and titles and is a method of filling a page by really rehashing what has been said before. If when using titles and names, W.E.B. needs to have someone go thru after him and correct the mistakes to these names and titles such as on pg 25, ('That was enough to make the Pages (Should be Sages) uncomfortable', a clear mistake in spelling ), Pg¿s 341 and 342. Division staffs are numbered G-1, G2, G3, etc not S-1, S3, etc, and should not be mixed together on the same page describing the same staff member. Again Pg 261 the name of Miss Jeanette Priestly is Miss Pickering, when describing how she had heard for the first time General Fleming Pickering had any connection to the CIA. Putnam and WEB Griffin need to get someone to properly edit their work and stop cheating the customer with the sloppy way of writing and marketing of what could have been a good story. WAKE UP AND SMELL THE ROSES!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2002

    Griffin and His Editors Get Lazy

    I am a big fan of Griffin and his books, having read some 23 of them. However, with his latest book, Under Fire, he repeats the problem I had with his last book. Either Griffin, or his editors,have gotten lazy with the facts, continuity, and typos. Three examples: Page 112, the charachter states that Fleming Pickering won the Navy Cross as an enlisted man in World War Two, when we know, and it is even stated in this book, that he won it in World War One. On page 95, Griffin says that Mae-Su Zimmerman was the proprietor of the local McDonalds hamburger emporium. If the time line is 1950, McDonalds had just recently started as a drive-in in California and hadn't begun franchising yet, much less as far as South Carolina. On page 25, the author mentions Ernestine Sage McCoy a number of times in that manner-Ernestine Sage McCoy. However, at the bottom of the page he says that the thought of Ernestine marrying Ken McCoy made the Pages uncomfortable, a clear typo. Perhaps Mr. Griffin and Putnam have started taking their readers for granted. I, for one, resent a book that is put together sloppily and will not read this book, nor recommend it to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2002

    Under Fire (Corps Series #9)

    William E. Butterworth as Alex Baldwin, Kevin Dugan, or as W E B Griffin is a most enjoyable author. This is yet another typical Griffin novel. UNDER FIRE, the 9th book of W.E.B. Griffin's 'Corps' series moves from World War Two to the days prior to the Korean War. As in previous 'Corps' and 'Brotherhood of War' novels, WEB fictionalizes actual historical events then skillfully placing his characters into the action. In UNDER FIRE, He uses most of his characters from previous 'Corps' novels -- Ken (Killer) McCoy, Ernestine Sage, Ernie Zimmerman, Fleming Pickering, 'Pick' Pickering, Billy Dunn and others. UNDER FIRE is another example of how William E. Butterworth continues to use and overuse complete names and titles and is his method of filling a page with really saying too much. If when using titles and names, W.E.B. needs to have someone go thru after him and correct the mistakes to these names and titles such as on Pg 200, 341 and 342. Division staffs are numbered G-1, G2, G3, etc not S-1, S3, etc, and should not be mixed together on the same page describing the same staff member. Also on Pg 261 the name of Miss Jeanette Priestly should not be Miss Pickering, when describing how she had heard for the first time General Fleming Pickering had any connection to the CIA. Do away with the overuse of dispatches, letters, and titles that eat up space and this 576 page novel would reduce to probably 425 pages. At 576 pages, or even at 425 pages, Butterworth is a superb storyteller no matter what name he uses, and I will continue to read and enjoy his books. 'WEB, GET A GOOD PROOF READER'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4