Customer Reviews for

Under Fire (Corps Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

I reccomend this book to military-history-fiction buffs.

posted by 1140100 on March 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Another top novel by the master

The weaving of facts with fiction is once again seamless. The book is action packed and the characters are believable. I look forward to more of the same

posted by ASAvet on September 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    Under fire

    Anoher masterpiece by Web Griffin. Fiction cobined with military History

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    Disappointed

    Love the Corps series. Have reread them more than I care to admit. Have been very disappointed that the rest of WW II was left out and it took some of the enjoyment out of the Under Fire read. WW II should be finished or my library will never be complete. Besides The 'Greatest Generation' deserves the best and the best is W.E.B Griffin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2004

    Great book but...

    Why did we skip the the last part of WWII? 'In Danger's Path' wrapped up in 1943, and now here we are in 1950, just prior to the outbreak of the Korean War. The good news is that many of my favorite characters are still around, and still performing splendidly. In 'Under Fire', McCoy and Zimmerman are once again paired together and provide more than enough excitement during their initial service of the war, while BG Pickering, 'El Supremo', and President Truman provide insight into the political situation of the period. Classic Griffin, and a great read, but I'd still like to know where the rest of WWII went!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2003

    While this is a Excellent Book I was a trifle dissapointed

    I enjoyed the book immensely. The story was outstanding. But since Mr. Griffin fast fowarded to the Korean War, so much history of W.W.II was overlooked. Before the book came out, I was picturing in my minds eye the next volume in the series. The battle of Okinawa. The change over in power at the death of President Roosevelt. Perhaps having Fleming Pickering brief President Truman on the whole 'MAGIC' program. Seeing one of the main characters, Killer McCoy or Ed Banning riding in one of the bombers going into either Hiro Shima or Nagasaki as an observer. There is so much that wasn't covered. I hope he covers it in the next novels in 'flashbacks'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2002

    Where is Pick?

    I enjoyed the book very much. I was disappointed that Pick was left MIA. When can we expect the next book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2002

    Semper Fi, The Missing Years

    I agree with readers who want to know what happened after WWII. I mean, all of a sudden we find McCoy married, Pick the president of a commercial airlines, and Zimmerman a successful businessman (Mae Su's doing apparently). It would make a fine interim book for this series. And perhaps it should now interlace with the Brotherhood of War series. Didn't Lowell run the tanks around in Korea after the NK's broke through the DMZ? How about a hook-up with the CIA? Lots to contemplate here. And then the next book. The Dominican Republc, our entre to Vietnam circa 1958... Hmmmmmm. This is getting even better. Come on WEB, look at all this material.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2002

    Where are the missing years??

    I am just at the beginning of this book, but am curious to know what happened between the Gobi Desert and the start of this book. It seems as if an entire book was omitted from The Corps books and that is a shame as I am an avid reader of Griffin, except for the police series. I feel as if a significant portion of this series will leave me with an 'empty' feeling if I don't know what transpired in those missing years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1