BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Under Orders (Sid Halley Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very well done! One of Francis' better mysteries!

While Dick Francis' novel are often simmiliar in theme, he alters the plots & characters so well it becomes a new read each time. This is a credit to his skill at crafting a clever plot with new antagonists and schemes for the reader to enjoy. Under Orders is one of the...
While Dick Francis' novel are often simmiliar in theme, he alters the plots & characters so well it becomes a new read each time. This is a credit to his skill at crafting a clever plot with new antagonists and schemes for the reader to enjoy. Under Orders is one of the more enjoyable I have read lately.

posted by 1249493 on April 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I do hope there are more to come...

I was thrilled to learn there was a new Dick Francis book out there and read it through as soon as I could get my hands on it. I was slightly disappointed in the new personalities of some the characters compared to past books. But I did get accustomed to the new person...
I was thrilled to learn there was a new Dick Francis book out there and read it through as soon as I could get my hands on it. I was slightly disappointed in the new personalities of some the characters compared to past books. But I did get accustomed to the new personalities rather quickly and thoroughly enjoyed another Dick Francis thriller. I hope Mr. Francis won't wait so long to publish his next one.

posted by Anonymous on January 2, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of Francis' most satisfying

    As a young boy in the early 1980s, I would thrill to watch "The Dick Francis Mysteries - The Racing Game" on PBS' "Mystery." (Indeed, one of my highlights during a summer spent in Ireland in 1987 with my brother was unexpectedly catching an episode on RTE, the one with "New Year Lad.") Sid Halley was one of the more offbeat detectives you'd encounter, being a championship steeplechase jockey permanently crippled and become a successful private investigator having a natural predilection for racecourse crimes as his preferred work. Mike Gwilym, a sublimely underrated Shakespearean actor, gave his portrayal of Halley the correct amount of pathos, vulnerability, and strength that the character demonstrated ever since his debut in Francis' "Odds Against," and the episodes piqued my interest enough that I soon became a devoted lifelong reader of all of Dick Francis' works. Thankfully, "Under Orders" is a worthy edition to the Sid Halley mysteries, a clever (if not totally creative) murder mystery involving race fixing and Internet gambling with the requisite Dick Francis physically-violent denouement that is sure to please all of Sid's and Dick's fans. Also, without wishing to reveal anything, it is nice to see for once that Halley gets a satisfying break in his personal life. Should this prove to be Sid Halley's final mystery, I think there are far worse ways to go. All in all, a tour de force from Mr. Francis, for which this fan is extremely grateful.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    Dick Francis "Reins" Supreme

    As a long-time Dick Francis fan, it surprised me to realize how long it's been since I read one of his novels. "Under Orders" did not disappoint. Mr. Francis' hero is full of grit and stubborness, and I enjoyed the way he investigates while doing his best to protect what he considers to be the needful things of life - including the woman he loves. A great read - couldn't put it down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Very well done! One of Francis' better mysteries!

    While Dick Francis' novel are often simmiliar in theme, he alters the plots & characters so well it becomes a new read each time. This is a credit to his skill at crafting a clever plot with new antagonists and schemes for the reader to enjoy. Under Orders is one of the more enjoyable I have read lately.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What a delight to read another exciting Dick Francis novel - met all expectations.

    I have read every Dick Francis novel and was delighted when there was another one to settle into. There's never a relaxed moment with Francis, let alone in this intriguing plot and with this great protaganist. Good mix of romance, nastiness, murder, and character. A page-turner. Strongly recommend for pure reading enjoyment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2007

    An old friend returns at last!

    Thank you for another wonderful,rollicking ride with Sid!!!! In reading the reviews below I find that I must disagree with the one who found the characters 'out of character'. Characters that are believeable and real are allowed to mature, age and become more enlightened with the passing of years just as real people are Sid's added introspection and soul searching merely makes him more human and believable. Though I must say his internal consternation in Whip Hand far exceeded any softness displayed in Under Orders. After all, we have seen him through some horrendous adventures, and he has suffered both physically and mentally to a degree that would have been mind breaking to most of us 'real' people. I find that at 54 I have a greater appreciation for life and love and view it all quite differently than I did at 24. My recognition of the fragility of what we hold dear in life is much more acute as age advances. So with this in mind, I find that we should allow the ageing Sid this same courtesy of maturity, wisdom, and perhaps a bit of caution. And however he found Marina, I am glad for them. Thank you Mr. Francis and I hope that racing will continue, as it always has, to produce many more colorful villains for Sid to bring to justice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2007

    I do hope there are more to come...

    I was thrilled to learn there was a new Dick Francis book out there and read it through as soon as I could get my hands on it. I was slightly disappointed in the new personalities of some the characters compared to past books. But I did get accustomed to the new personalities rather quickly and thoroughly enjoyed another Dick Francis thriller. I hope Mr. Francis won't wait so long to publish his next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    RACING IS THE SPORT OF KINGS - CRIME FICTION IS THE SPORT OF DICK FRANCIS

    To the best of my knowledge it has been six years since the last Dick Francis mystery. I had reluctantly resigned myself to the fact that there probably wouldn't be another one, but here it is! Another entertaining read from the master of track thrillers featuring one of my favorite protagonists, Sid Halley, former jockey who lost a hand thus ending his career in racing. He then turned to sleuthing with an eagle eye and a nose for the nefarious. In this, his 42nd book, Francis wastes no time in hooking readers: 'Sadly, death at the races is not uncommon. However, three in a single afternoon was sufficiently unusual to raise more than an eyebrow. That only one of the deaths was of a horse was more than enough to bring the local constabulary hotfoot to the track.' One of the recently departed is jockey Huy Walker - dispatched with three bullets to the heart. He had been having an affair with trainer Bill Burton's wife. That was more than enough to put Burton at the top of the suspect list......until Burton himself turned up dead. Halley had been approached by Lord Enstone to look into why Enstone's horses weren't getting anywhere near the Winner's Circle. Enstone wants to know what's going on at the track - bribes, race fixing? Well, that kind of skullduggery is bad enough but murder is quite another thing. Halley feels compelled to look into the killings, but in doing so puts his own life at risk. As always, readers will relish the author's thorough knowledge of racing and his deft way with a plot. Racing, as we know, is the sport of kings. Exemplary crime fiction is the sport of Dick Francis. Highly recommended. - Gail Cooke

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    THE PERFECT NARRATION

    Of course, you need a voice with a touch of the Brit about it to read the latest from Dick Francis, and the perfect narrator is found in Martin Jarvis. With a career that spans the Atlantic, Jarvis has performed in leading roles for the BBC and National Theatre in Britain. In Hollywood he's been seen in Murder, She Wrote and Titanic. His voice is authoritative, and his enunciation keen. Highly listenable! In this, his 42nd book, Francis wastes no time in hooking readers. We hear: 'Sadly, death at the races is not uncommon. However, three in a single afternoon was sufficiently unusual to raise more than an eyebrow. That only one of the deaths was of a horse was more than enough to bring the local constabulary hotfoot to the track.' One of the recently departed is jockey Huy Walker - dispatched with three bullets to the heart. He had been having an affair with trainer Bill Burton's wife. That was more than enough to put Burton at the top of the suspect list......until Burton himself turned up dead. Halley had been approached by Lord Enstone to look into why Enstone's horses weren't getting anywhere near the Winner's Circle. Enstone wants to know what's going on at the track - bribes, race fixing? Well, that kind of skullduggery is bad enough but murder is quite another thing. Halley feels compelled to look into the killings, but in doing so puts his own life at risk. As always, listeners will relish the author's thorough knowledge of racing and his deft way with a plot. Racing, as we know, is the sport of kings. Exemplary crime fiction is the sport of Dick Francis. Highly recommended. - Gail Cooke

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2006

    Welcome back!

    Dick Francis hasn't lost a step during his hiatus. As a long time fan I was thrilled to hear he was writing again. More please...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    perfecta horse racing mystery

    Former Jockey Sid Halley lost the use of his left hand and thus is unable to ride any longer he went on to become a private detective. He has a thriving business because his clients know that the more someone threatens him, the more he will go after that person and bring him or her to justice. On Cheltenham Gold Cup day, Lord Enstone hires Sid to find out why his horses aren¿t winning and he want to find out if his trainer Bill Burton and jockey Huw Walker have something to do with fixing the races. --- Neither Bill nor Huw have a good reputation as rumors swirl that they are dirty. When one of Lord Enstone¿s horses wins, Sid notices Bill and Huw argue. The sleuth later comes across Huw¿s bullet ridden body. Suspicion falls on Bill as the killer but the police don¿t have enough evidence to charge him. When his body is found by assistant trainer Juliet, the police assume he committed suicide rather than face a marathon jail sentence Sid thinks murder occurred. He sets out to prove his premise, but by doing so he places his life and that of his lover Marina in danger. --- It has been six years since the death of his beloved wife Mary and his last novel, but his fans will appreciate that Dick Francis has left the starting gate to cross the finish line with another first place showing as the master still has the winning ticket. Although the protagonist has to wear a prosthesis, he doesn¿t feel sorry for himself and that results in the audience caring about him and hoping he solves the case without his lover getting hurt. Welcome back Mr. Francis to the saddle, we missed your perfecta horse racing mysteries. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2013

    welcome back Sid!

    welcome back Sid!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Dick Francis is the best! Learn while you are entertained.

    Dick Francis was (is) a great thriller/mystery writer who combined steeplechase racing with many great heros. You will learn about wine making, glass blowing, movie making, jockies, and all of the workings behind racing in Great Britian and the rest of the world.

    The main characters are believable individuals the average person can relate to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2006

    Sadly Shallow

    Oh, how I looked forward to this novel after a long, six-year dry spell. Sadly, much of the depth and richness of Francis' characters, dialogue, sense of place are missing. Continuity suffers, too, as, after three Sid Halley novels, major character have suffered 180-degree shifts in personality. Halley's trusted but undemonstrative father-in-law (whose name before now has been Roland and now is Rowland) is portrayed as indecisive, emotional, and all but alchoholic. Stoic, thoughtful Sid is uncharacteristically wearing his heart on his sleeve, babbling through clumsy, meaningless dialogue, and showing his private doubts and insecurities where he once went to great lengths to keep from showing them to anyone but himself. Without so much as a single sentence about what became of his newly acquired girlfriend from his previous adventure (Come To Grief), he is presented here with a new girl whose entry into Sid's life is glossed over with a throwaway sentence and whose character is not well developed in any sense. Archie Kirk, reappearing here after his introduction in the previous book, has also suffered an abrupt personality change, losing his self-contained confidence and his wry awareness of human failings. When I read, I immerse myself in the time, place, and characters of the author--especially an author whose work I treasure as I do Mr. Francis'. In this book, there was too little depth in which to immerse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2006

    New Fan of Francis

    Just picked up Dick Francis' newest book for my mom's birthday present. She's been a big fan for years. I know she'll let me borrow it after she reads it! She 'turned me on' to D. Francis stories just this year and I really enjoy them so much and plan to read many more. Currently greatly enjoying High Stakes...Author's Style: love the 'British-speak' and his style of combining a calm English manner with fast moving suspense. Jolly Good Fun!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2006

    Worth the wait

    The new Dick Francis 'Under Orders' is wounderful from start to finish. I savored every page. Let's hope there are many more Dick Francis mysteries to come

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2006

    Pure Dick Francis

    If you are a Sid Halley fan, this book is grand. Great way for Francis to return to writing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2