Customer Reviews for

Under Rug Swept

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great album

    I don't know why but it took about a year for me to really listen to this album and I just think that its a brilliant album. Its one of them that you buy and forget about and suddenly you start listening and think WOW why didn't I get into this from the start. I honestly cant fualt any of the tracks another deep album yes but just superb.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Alanis continues to be Amazing

    With her third studio release, and the first one produced on her own, Alanis continues to prove her progession and talent as an artist. After listening to this CD, you may assume she has been involved with metaphysical books, therapy sessions, and prayer circles-and that's a good thing. Alanis has fused her indentification with the universe, and that kind of fusion proves to be a worthy fulfillment in every song. The musical arrangements are tight and instantly hook you in from start to finish. The lyrics are as passionate and profound as ever, and bleed echoes of JLP with an older and wiser Alanis. With "Under Rug Swept," Morissette will take you on a spiritual journey that will turn into your own personal story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    On the mark

    This woman instinctive lyrical genius which allows so many women who have felt the same emotional torment, elation, rejection, and self sadism, gain wisdom and empowerment by her ability to open herself as an unknowing channel through which we all can relate. Even an objectively sensitive credit to the male emotional perspective is seen. As always, Alanis came through!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Again with the brilliance

    Alanis strikes again! After listening to ''Under Rug Swept'', I was hooked, and listened to it over and over again. Out of the eleven sons, the only ones I find disapointing is ''Flich'' and ''that particular time'', BUT only because the country(ish) music (which is the one type of music I don't like) in ''Flinch'', and ''That Particular Time'' is too slow for my liking. But all the other songs are just too good. My personal favorite is probably ''Preciuos Illusions'' but it's so hard to pick favorites in this album. Unfortunately I can't really compare it to the other two albums as I haven't got them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An evolution for Alanis

    In her first record, jagged little pill, Alanis gave us strong and true lyrics and powerfull music that makes us HAVE TO buy her album. In her second record, she showed us her dark side. This was a good record, even if the lyrics wasn´t as good as Jagged Little Pill´s. Now, in her third album she is experimenting a great evolution in her music, showing us superb lyrics and catchy melodies. This is her best record after jagged Little Pill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    yeah baby

    this is a hot ablum and shes hot so thats very good for me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Proving Her prowess again

    Once again Alanis is proving that she has a great style, and an ability to stir up debate. She comes off and blasts men. That makes her into some form of Pariah. If she were a man blasting women she's not even generate one bad review. Let her take pot shots at men, and suddenly she's committing some sort of crime. Male rap artists are degrading women every day. There's barely a peep in the industry. Let a woman have a critical view towards men, and she's guilty until proven innocent. I am saddened by all the cheap shots that are taken at Alanis. Under Rug Swept is a great Album. I love every song on this album, and am glad that she's not lost her no-nonsence view. She's not one to let people put her down. She's not afraid to vent her frustrations. It's refreshing to hear an artist who's not just singing what some paranoid people think that she should be selling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Alanis M. is the Best.

    Her lyrics are the best the world has ever heard. Her in-your-face lyrics and cool guitars say it all man! Kedar J. Mantri

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Her newest, her best.

    A top selling artist. Over 40 million records sold worldwide and more to be sold. Why so much success? Alanis Morissette has been able to sinlge handedly take the world by storm every time new material is released. Now, she comes back with a completely new sound that beats every pop star, every rock star and every expectation. From the catchy tunes of Hands Clean, Surrendering & Precious Illusions, the unbelievable melodies of Utopia and That Particular Time, to the all rock out star power of 21 Things along with So Unsexy... this album suits all tastes. Don't resist, millions can't be wrong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Coolest Album of the Year

    Every song is great here - reminds me of fun high school summer days and stormy rainy days all at once. The first top album of the year. A great album to follow the previous wonderfully crafted album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Alanis returns to her roots

    Alanis's first album, Jagged Little Pill contained lyrics with scratchy vocals, and long notes with cries for a lifestyle that seemed ideal. On Supposed Former Infatuation Junkie, Alanis neglected her musical structure for a more in depth spiritual perspective on things. On her new upcoming album, Under Rug Swept, she has powerfully returned with some cool upbeat pop sounding songs such as the sarcastic first single, hands clean. Another song on the album, Precious Illusions is the kind of song that you can listen to over and over, with it's foot tapping beats and melodies. The edgy 21 things I want in a lover adresses all the preferences that the singer has in a boyfriend. The soft and more collected songs, Flinch and That particular time, both remenisc on a relationship that still obviously affect her today, while piano and accoustic guitars play in the background. This album has a combination of all types of great sounds that can almost appeal to anyone. It definately promises to be one of the greatest albums of 2002. GO ALANIS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Must Have!

    This album maintains it's integrity and will be played on the radio for years to come. The lyrics are tricky, and the music is perfect. Almost too perfect. I can't wait to get a live version of this album!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Alanis is back and better than ever!

    This album is awesome. Its pretty much a cross between her edgier Jagged Little Pill and softer Supposed Former Infatuation Junkie. There is something for everyone on this disc. Everyone should own a copy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantasma!

    Under Rug Swept is a great CD, I still cant stop listening to it and I have had it for over 2 months,any Alanis fan would love this cd for their collection!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Abosolutely Great!

    This album is by far better than Jagged Little Pill, and that one is also excellent! If you like JLP, you'll love this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1