Customer Reviews for

Under Suspicion (Underworld Detection Agency Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    I love this urban fantasy serie for many reasons, the humor, the

    I love this urban fantasy serie for many reasons, the humor, the suspense, the romance to name a few. A lot of the mainstream zany sleuth mysteries are a little too contrived. Usually these types of books (which are about as funny as an episode of Full House) involve the requisite zany granny, an eccentric sidekick and a snarky protagonist. But in this series, the humor isn't forced. The author clearly has a silly side and it comes through in Sophie's goofy antics. Once again Hannah Jayne delivers a tightly-plotted mystery jam-packed with humor, hijinks and off-the-wall characters. She does a fine job keeping the pace and tying all the plot threads together in the final pages. Fans of Juliet Blackwell, Charlaine Harris and Victoria Laurie can't go wrong with a Hannah Jayne mystery. Can't wait to sink my teeth into Sophie's next big adventure!

    Go to Chick Lit Cafe for the full review!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    In this chapter of the Underworld Detection Agency Chronicles, S

    In this chapter of the Underworld Detection Agency Chronicles, Sophie has noticed that several of her clients have not arrived for their monthly appointments, including hot-headed dragon Mrs. Henderson. Since Mr. Dixon, new vampire head of UDA, doesn’t share Sophie’s concerns, she takes it upon herself to check on Mrs. Henderson only to find her home trashed and dragon’s blood smeared everywhere. When even Sophie’s on again/off again love, fallen angel and FBI agent, Alex Grace doesn’t believe her, Sophie decides to tackle what she believes is a supernatural killer on her own.

    With the help of her best friend, roommate and vampire, Nina LaShay, Nina’s brooding nephew Vlad and Sophie’s sexy Guardian, Will Sherman, Sophie tries to locate the killer; if only she could get everyone focused on the problem at hand.

    Currently, Nina is falling in love with Harley Cavanaugh, author of the new book Vampires, Werewolves and Other Things that Don’t Exist, and Sophie can’t convince her that she can’t get to happily ever after with a man who doesn’t believe she even exists.

    Vlad is still busy fighting for the Vampire Empowerment Movement (VERM) so that all vampires are in charge and are free to dress like Count Chocula; and breaking VERM rules by dating a breather himself.

    And with things off again with Alex and his being on a stakeout across the country, things are starting to heat up between Guardian Will and Sophie in his absence. (“Guardian—and not in that “until your eighteen” sort of way, but in an “until the balance of power has been restored between the good and the fallen, I will protect you” kind of way).

    While Sophie stumbles through another investigation in her bumblign way, you will again be laughing and chuckling at the snarky comments and zippy one-liners. Once again, Hannah creates a world and characters that are so charming and delightful.

    This story was fun as well as entertaining and just thoroughly enjoyable. I continue to look forward to where she will take us next. I am also looking forward to seeing how this will play out with the Sophie/Will/Alex triangle. Sophie has been “ready to lay down my soul” in love with Alex from the beginning, and although he is noticeably attracted to her, he is standoffish in his “I’m trying to get back to heaven” way. Will he change his mind now that the competition for Sophie’s affection has heated up? Oooo, I can’t wait to see.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    Ok addition to the series Sophie Lawson has gotten a promotion

    Ok addition to the series


    Sophie Lawson has gotten a promotion at the Underworld Detection Agency. She’s the new Head of the Fallen Angel Division. Since that job doesn’t really take up a lot of her time she’s also taking care of other clients. Until some of her clients start turning up dead and many of her still alive clients decide it would be wiser and safer to see someone else. Now, Sophie has even more time to investigate why demons are being attacked or outright murdered. 

    During all of this her vampire roommate Nina has fallen in love with an author. An author who researches and writes about how vampires and other paranormal creatures aren’t real. How ironic that he’s dating a vampire and he’s clueless. Alex Grace, the Fallen Angel and police detective, has taken off to parts unknown for some stake out and only her Guardian Will is sticking close to her while Sophie goes from one close call to another.

    Well-written with a bit of a faster plot than the last two books, I’m still not feeling the love of the characters that I would like this far into a series. After everything that has happened to Sophie the last two books you would think her friends and colleagues would show a little less disbelief when she insists something bad is happening to demons. Instead they pooh pooh her and tell her the incidents are just coincidence. Then there’s Sophie herself. She still cries too much and now she’s always talking about peeing her pants. Again, after everything that has happened to her, why hasn’t she grown a set of balls or something? Still not liking Alex, so I’m very glad he’s not in this book much. The one character I really like is Will. I hope we continue to see a lot of him. The ending was a bit of a shocker. I’m actually looking forward to seeing what happens in the next book.

    *Book source ~ Many thanks to Kensington for providing me with a review copy. Please see disclaimer page on my blog.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    I will say it was a great plot and a great idea for a story howe

    I will say it was a great plot and a great idea for a story however the character Sophie and Vlad made me want to smack not only them but my computer. Thankfully I didn't. Sophie after about the fifth repeat of what she believed was hapening in the underworld, to the same people I started seeing that Sophie was acting a little bit obssesed and crazy. I half expected her to start twitching and spasming along with drinking too much coffee. Then she has these melt downs that became all too frequent. The cover of the book poses a woman with the air of strength and danger however the girl in the book was more of a chicken than anything. She spent more time crying and feinting that I was begining to think she would become a shriveled prune with a concussion. The jokes and the rest of the characters where great and had me laughing quite a few times but I couldn't even finish the book. I dont like someone being portayed as a levelheaded person when their actions say they are overdramatic and irratic oh and she repeats herself way too much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Really????

    The book was nothing more than a stumbling, fumbling, farce from beginning to end. Nobody believes that a dragon is dead when the room is fiiled with blood, other supes are disappearing or being attacked yet the "detection" agency thinks there is no problem. Really??? It seems so contrived just so the heroine could single-handedly once again stumble her way through to be the hero. I realize this is urban fantasy but I can't make myself stupid enough to even partially get into this story line. Even the other characters seemed to have dumbed-down since the last book. And now we have a love triangle. This is no urban fantasy--it's a romantic comedy. The first book was very promising; the second not as much but still ok but now--definitely on the downhill fast train. I don't think I can force myself to buy the sequel as I could only make it through the first 50 pages if this one until I skipped ahead to the last 20 pages to get it over with. Surprisingly enough I didn't really miss anything by doing so.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    Really good

    I love this series! This one has a pretty good twist at the end that no one can see coming! I can not wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Alice D. for Readers Favorite Sophie Lawson is huma

    Reviewed by Alice D. for Readers Favorite

    Sophie Lawson is human but she is privileged to work for the Underworld Detective Agency, administered by vampire Dixon Andrade, which solves underworld crimes. The UDA is located floors below the San Francisco Police Department and the police don't seem to mind their down below neighbors. Sophie's room mate back home is the beautiful vampire Nina and her guardian angel is handsome Will who lives across the hall from them. Sophie finds Nina's nephew Vlad and UDA receptionist Kale in a compromising position in her apartment, but that is nothing compared to what is ahead. Mrs. Henderson, the dragon, is murdered; Kale is run down by a car; banshee Bettina is brutally attacked; and someone tries to run a stake through Sophie's heart even though she is not a vampire. Will takes his job seriously and tries to keep Sophie safe as she investigates who wants underworld creatures banished. Could the culprit possibly be Nina's new lover, the human author Harley?

    "Under Suspicion" is a well-conceived and well-written story of vampires, vampire-friendly humans and other demons as they battle against someone who wants them all gone. The use of Harley as an author who writes a best-selling book on why underworld creatures don't exist is an excellent literary device that makes the story's plot line exciting. San Francisco is an excellent setting for this story whose characters of Sophie, Nina the vampire, her nephew Vlad, Will, Kale and so on are totally believable even to the readers who are not drawn to vampire stories. Sophie Lawson stories will appeal to many readers, vampire story fans or otherwise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    The cover I guess is supposed to be ironic. Sophie is hilarious

    The cover I guess is supposed to be ironic. Sophie is hilarious but not a leather wearing crime fighter, well maybe in her head. This is a great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1