Customer Reviews for

Under The Stairs: Book 1 in The Bandworld Series

Average Rating 3.5
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Would have bought it if not free!

I downloaded this free book expecting very little; instead, I got a fantastic story that I actually would have paid money to read! (I've gotten very discriminating since my Nook expenditures have climbed and many free downloads have been disappointing.)
Although I felt...
I downloaded this free book expecting very little; instead, I got a fantastic story that I actually would have paid money to read! (I've gotten very discriminating since my Nook expenditures have climbed and many free downloads have been disappointing.)
Although I felt that the story was confusing at first, it soon drew me in and I couldn't put it down. Immediately upon finishing it, I downloaded the next several books, not because the first book wasn't complete in and of itself, but because I craved more! Lo and behold, there was an offer for another free book located at the beginning of the second installment.
For fans of alternate history and fantasy, this book is a must.

posted by reader1030 on August 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Intriguing

I found the book to be pretty intriguing. The concept was fantastic. The book had a few drawn out parts, but as a whole it was a wonderful read if you have an interest in the possibility of an alternative universe.

posted by TMVA on November 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Would have bought it if not free!

    I downloaded this free book expecting very little; instead, I got a fantastic story that I actually would have paid money to read! (I've gotten very discriminating since my Nook expenditures have climbed and many free downloads have been disappointing.)
    Although I felt that the story was confusing at first, it soon drew me in and I couldn't put it down. Immediately upon finishing it, I downloaded the next several books, not because the first book wasn't complete in and of itself, but because I craved more! Lo and behold, there was an offer for another free book located at the beginning of the second installment.
    For fans of alternate history and fantasy, this book is a must.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    I liked it

    This was a fun read, after a slow and predictable beginning. Get past that and there is a story and an interesting world utilizing both world explanations and character traits new to me. I just may take a look at the sequel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Once you understand the theory of the world...

    .. the entire series for the "Under the Stairs" is absolutely a fun read. Although some of the turns in the book #3 is 'cringe-inducing' (particularly, the later love-interest that is not even implied in the first couple of books, it's not enough to ruin the series.

    The characters are unique and wonderfully so, although you might argue cliched at times, that you are truly interested in the actions of EVERY character in the books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Highly recommended

    Once in the "rythmn" of the writing style this was an excellent read. Could not put it down. Ready to read the next in the series. Makes me want to "investigate" under the stairs in my house!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Slow to start but picked up well

    A diamond in the rough of freebies. I'm considering the sequel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2011

    No

    I didnot care for this book

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Highly recommended for people who like fantasy.

    I am planning to read more of this series. I have not been a big fantasy fan but this book kept my interest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Ok I Figured it out

    I don't quite know what coused it but it was aparently soe sort of loading problem. Ipulled up "contents" and chose "midway" and it went there. After that all was as it should be. I post this only to give others a hint if they have any siilar probles. I am enjoying the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Should i buy it?

    Im 10,and i was wondering whether i should buy this book Any suggestions?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    Interesting

    It was difficult to get into at first, but once the cat disappeared, I was drawn in by the story. Great escapist fantasy. I'll probably get the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    Draws you in

    Tried the 1st book for free and then bought the rest. Author also writes the "Z" series of books. It definitely drew me in when I read that people could "think" a torch lit and language was scrambled after dark. Lots of twists and turns, but totally worth it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    Recommended reading

    I had trouble following the first 5 chapters of the novel, but I persisted and found the story to be very interersting with what I would call a surprise ending. Lots of action and imagination.... I enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    Highly Recommended - I loved every bit of it!

    This book was a fantastic read! A bit confusing at times, but overall an excellent story. If you like the Narnia series and things that deal with medieval ages, then this is definitely a book to consider. It's hard to believe this book was in the "free" category, I would definitely buy this book if it were not free.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    Intriguing

    I found the book to be pretty intriguing. The concept was fantastic. The book had a few drawn out parts, but as a whole it was a wonderful read if you have an interest in the possibility of an alternative universe.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    Normally I'm not a big fantasy reader, but 'Under the Stairs' is

    Normally I'm not a big fantasy reader, but 'Under the Stairs' is fantastic!!!  I really can get into this series!
    I started out with Mr. Stockmyer's other series (the Z Detective series) and just couldn't stop!  I had to continue with this series--all are wonderful!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Loved it

    I love this series. While the writing style may not be everyones cup of tea, I found it interesting and entertaining at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Good read

    Not usually a fan of fairy tales but totally enjoyed this book.Fast reading with great attention to details.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Avidfantasyreader

    Different. It is slow and plodding mostly, all thought and conjecture, with very little action. The writer seems like a physicist, and wrote a book kinda like a lecture. Not that it is bad. It just has no real substance. You dont connect with the characters. Author has a good idea. Just needs a co author to bring it to life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Good

    Good but some parts are boring

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Ta fa

    Um the first chapter got my interest but after that im sorry but i didnt like this bookit was boring but i made my self read till the missing cat but after that i just had to stop

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6