Customer Reviews for

Under Wraps (Underworld Detection Agency Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

4 Stars

This cover has caused a bit of a stir among readers.

So, without giving too much of the story away. I'll tell you how I feel about this book now that I have finished it.

It was a slow start for me, because as it has been stated by others . . the cover and story do...
This cover has caused a bit of a stir among readers.

So, without giving too much of the story away. I'll tell you how I feel about this book now that I have finished it.

It was a slow start for me, because as it has been stated by others . . the cover and story don't match 100%. So, that in itself threw me for a loop. However, once I got past the first few chapters . . I was hooked. At one point I was laughing so hard, my 3 yr old told me to quiet down. I myself, never felt like I had the book figured out . . so it kept me on my toes, kept me guessing as to what was going to happen next.

This book had it all from the twist and turns of what's next, to the vampires, trolls, and many other underworld creatures, to the bits of romance, to the comedy. It was overall a very enjoyable read.

I will be looking forward to the next book, due out 11-1-11.

posted by Ladybug07999 on June 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good story but much too girly for me

I selected this book in an attempt to build up & expand my urban paranaormal collection (which includes J. Butcher, K. Armstrong, I. Andrews, R. Caine, C. Kittredge & L. Shearin) but I did not enjoy it mainly because the character is super girly with no special skills e...
I selected this book in an attempt to build up & expand my urban paranaormal collection (which includes J. Butcher, K. Armstrong, I. Andrews, R. Caine, C. Kittredge & L. Shearin) but I did not enjoy it mainly because the character is super girly with no special skills except an immunity to magic - big whup. If you're into the weak & helpless female who's constantly screamning, crying, ogling men and lamenting the fact she's hasn't been intimate in while...this is your girl. But if you need a female character with a kick behind attitude with a heart of gold this is not the book for you. I couldn't even finish this book...only made it to the first 3 chapters. On a happier note, at least the plotline has potential but I am passing on this author & the series.

posted by DeniceNYC on June 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    4 Stars

    This cover has caused a bit of a stir among readers.

    So, without giving too much of the story away. I'll tell you how I feel about this book now that I have finished it.

    It was a slow start for me, because as it has been stated by others . . the cover and story don't match 100%. So, that in itself threw me for a loop. However, once I got past the first few chapters . . I was hooked. At one point I was laughing so hard, my 3 yr old told me to quiet down. I myself, never felt like I had the book figured out . . so it kept me on my toes, kept me guessing as to what was going to happen next.

    This book had it all from the twist and turns of what's next, to the vampires, trolls, and many other underworld creatures, to the bits of romance, to the comedy. It was overall a very enjoyable read.

    I will be looking forward to the next book, due out 11-1-11.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is an engaging investigative urban fantasy

    In San Francisco, beneath the police department is located the Underworld Detection Agency. Their mission is to conduct investigations and negotiations especially involving humans for their paranormal clients. In fact, the only "Breather" human working for UDA is administrative assistant Sophie Lawson.

    Recently, the supernatural crowd is shocked when a serial killer begins a deadly murderer's spree of the paranormal. Sophie becomes worried when her nice boss Peter Sampson the werewolf vanishes without a trace as she fears he may have been a victim of the predator. Never working the field, Sophie tentatively investigates her employer's vanishing, which leads her to police detective Parker Hayes. Though attracted to the cop, she begins to realize that he is not telling her something critical either about Peter or himself, so she distrusts him.

    This is an engaging investigative urban fantasy that takes a while to get the elements in place, but once that occurs (about a fourth of the novel) turns into a delightful thriller, extremely diffuclt to put down. Sophie the token breather keeps the story lien focused while her relationships to her werewolf boss and a vampiress roommate make the paranormal seem normal. Fans will appreciate her adventures on and under the streets of San Francisco as she and the cop she desires with her heart but distrusts with her head search for the lost lupine shifter.

    Harriet Klausner

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good story but much too girly for me

    I selected this book in an attempt to build up & expand my urban paranaormal collection (which includes J. Butcher, K. Armstrong, I. Andrews, R. Caine, C. Kittredge & L. Shearin) but I did not enjoy it mainly because the character is super girly with no special skills except an immunity to magic - big whup. If you're into the weak & helpless female who's constantly screamning, crying, ogling men and lamenting the fact she's hasn't been intimate in while...this is your girl. But if you need a female character with a kick behind attitude with a heart of gold this is not the book for you. I couldn't even finish this book...only made it to the first 3 chapters. On a happier note, at least the plotline has potential but I am passing on this author & the series.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Great idea and plot -- very poorly written. Lots of scenes were

    Great idea and plot -- very poorly written. Lots of scenes were included that didn't necessarily advance the plot and one of the main characters had a sudden change of heart early on that was entirely unbelievable as it was unsupported in the story -- it just happened. Because the story was so very original, I hope that this author can advance her writing skills and really deliver with the next installment to this series.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    Maybe...maybe not

    I read the first chapter before buying and had high hopes for this one. Ended up disappointed - beginning with the cover art having nothing to do with the actual story. I agree with a previous reviewer that this is more chick-lit then paranormal suspense. Sophie is an interesting, unlikely heroine with extremely curly red hair ("my Brillo pad curls." Note the cover model has long, straight brown hair???) and no apparent 'super powers' except immunity to magic. I liked the character interaction and the storyline. The idea of a subterranean Underworld and how it is depicted are entertaining and different, especially having trolls, vampires, witches, etc. dealing with normal, everyday frustrations like standing in line at a government offices. However, when a lead character pants over another, rejects said "hot" character, all the while complaining about lack of a love life. . .boring and so overdone. I'm on the fence abut reading the next one. It's not great but not awful either. It's different enough that I might try again with the next one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2013

    Not a bad start to a new series. Sophie Lawson is a human immun

    Not a bad start to a new series.

    Sophie Lawson is a human immune to magic working as an Administrative Assistant for the Underworld Detection Agency. Her boss is a werewolf, her best friend/roommate is a vampire, she has a troll stalker and her grandmother was a seer. She has yet to come into any real powers, but since she is immune to magic (meaning she can see denizens of the Underworld and magic & charmed objects have no effect on her) she helps keep the avalanche of Underworld paperwork under control and the UDA running smoothly.




    Detective Parker Hayes ventures into UDA after some mysterious murders topside have the police stumped. Chief Oliver went to college with werewolf Peter Sampson, Head Honcho in charge of the UDA, and he sends Parker down to see if they can help. Sampson decides Sophie is perfect for the job since she can see through glamour. So Sophie metaphorically puts on a CSI hat and jumps in.  She soon finds out though that watching CSI on tv is very different from actually doing it.




    Not a bad start to a series. The writing style takes a little getting used to, but it progresses at a good clip. The plot is twisty and the characters are interesting. Sophie is a bit too airheaded for me, but she’s not completely unlikeable. She reminds me a bit of Phoebe from Friends. Parker is a jerk. I don’t like him at all. I sure hope he’s not going to be the love interest. All-in-all though I enjoyed dipping my toes into this new series and look forward to seeing where it goes.




    *Many thanks to Kensington for providing me with a review copy. Please see disclaimer page on my blog.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Meh

    So this was OK, but I have a pet-peeve about misleading cover art. The cover looks decidedly Urban Fantasy, which this is most certainly not. It's more paranormal chick lit, which is OK if you know that's what to expect. And on the cover the girl has straight brown hair, while in the book she has curly bright red hair. Not even close. So going along with the whole 'paranormal chick lit' theme, the main girl was a little silly, made mostly stupid decision, and obsessed over her hot male leads while pushing them away any time they tried to make a move on her. The main guy, while I am very aware that he is hot hot hot, didn't really leave much of an impression otherwise. Overall, the story had potential, but I felt like they could have kept the light and fun feel while still making the characters less one-dimensional than they actually were.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    A must buy!

    Hannah Jayne delivers fantastically-funny dialogue with off-the-wall suspense while giving an authentic feel to the wacky-streets of San Francisco. Sofie Lawson's off-beat and pee-your-pants personality is balanced with just enough vulnerability and a fun and chatty tone to bring readers back for more. Jayne turns the world of Urban Fantasy (and everything we think we know about it) on its ear with this well-crafted novel that is busting at the seams with wit and humor.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Okay, but needs a little more sparkle to stand out!

    You can call Sophie Lawson the lucky one if you think it working with the vampires, werewolves, and fairies pretty cool. For the most part, working at the Underworld Detection Agency pays her rent - but Sophie sometimes wonders if a dragon breathing down her neck is better than having a normal boss who demands her to make his coffee. Who's to say. Sophie gets the chance to be "normal" when detective Parker Hayes seeks input on a series of grisly happenings above ground that point at the supernatural. Nothing is what it seems, and Sophie must figure out who is undead, dead, and just plain crazy before she gets permanently fired from living.

    UNDER WRAPS is a pretty fun read that tickled my funny bone and kept me on my toes, but I didn't find that special something that takes it from okay to AWESOME. Not enough funny? Too much drooling over sexy men and not getting anywhere with them? I will have to give Hannah Jayne props for keeping me in suspense on the whodunit portion - she never gave too much to make any definite conclusions! The characters are sparkly and they kept the story from getting stale, especially Sophie's shopaholic vampire roommate. UNDER WRAPS is pretty easy-going read, similar to a warm apple cider drink on a crisp fall day, and I think I will wait until Book 2 to see if this will be a series to look out for!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2014

    The story is very unique. It was a slow start but picked up qui

    The story is very unique. It was a slow start but picked up quickly and has such a great comical side to it. It has a fun view point on the age old vampires, trolls and other monsters. The comedy runs through out the whole story and you can't put it down till the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    fu Fun series...

    Beginning. I'm definitely interested in reading more. I like that it is pretty much all-iclusive of the paranormal/fantasy world, merged with humankind, like The Hollows (Rachel Morgan) series. It's a good series to read in between "heavier" books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Fun read

    Likable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    This book had me laughing out loud!

    This author almost reminds me of Janet Evanovich and her lead character, always getting into trouble, but had a wonderful sense of humor about it! Read it in one sitting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Not what I expected

    This one wasn't for me. Definitely fantasy genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2013

    This is what I call Paranormal Chick-Lit:  Think "Bridget J

    This is what I call Paranormal Chick-Lit:  Think "Bridget Jones Meets Buffy the Vampire Slayer."
    If this  is what you like, you will probably enjoy this book , and the other 5 books in the series.
      I've read a few Paranormal Chick-Lit, and I find it boring.  This book is probably no better or worse than most in this sub-genre, but it's not for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Highly Recommended- I want the entire series!!

    A thrilling page turner.Just when you think you got it figured out..wham...a new twist.Looking forward to the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    thu Q Wow

    This book was jjst awful it made me want to kiss my cousin and fondle my sack

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Don't read this

    Nice book but hard to read when your boyfriend is annoying you. What the heck

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Harriet klausner

    And of course, the very first review is a plot spoiler by the worst plot spoiler here. Harriet klausner ruins every book she so calls reviews by revealing EVERY detail including the ending. Please bn, pkease ban this poster and delete her posts so that other readers can read books without her ruining them.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Quick read but slowed by too much chick musing

    While clever its been done several times on tv cant remember the the series one was in chicago with a little person as the office irish leperacon and dont forget the classic night stalker with the chicago reporter also the hell boy movies did they try a series with that one? Page counter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4