Customer Reviews for

Under a Flaming Sky: The Great Hinckley Firestorm of 1894

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Experience!

    As a child, riding in our car on the way to Duluth to visit relatives, I recall my father (born and raised in Iowa) would always mention the firestorm as we drove through the stricken area. As a child I felt somewhat removed from it as children rarely can grasp the enormity of disasters, especially those that have happened in another century. Over the decades of my life, I've grow to greatly appreciate history in all of it's forms and I finally stopped simply driving through Hinkley and stopped at the Fire Museum. There I learned of the book. As other reviewers have stated, it's simply engrossing! We're so used to warnings of approching danger that it's overwhelming when the readers put themselves in the place of those who were involved. The Author did a tremendous job in recreating the disbelief and panic of the subjects, but also captures the desperation and determination of those who chose to endanger their own lives in order to save others. I'm left wondering if we as a society that is highly spoiled and self absorbed,are even capable of this type of sacrifice.<BR/>For this very reason, I had my 13 yr.old son read it as well. This book is an educational tool. Socially, scientifically and spiritually.<BR/>I'll be buying more copies as gifts!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2006

    Couldn't put it down...

    I picked this up from the library, mostly because of the topic to see if it would be an interesting purchase for my dad for father's day. My dad's father was born and raised in Hinckley and I'd heard the stories about the fire growing up (my great-grandfather moved there shortly after the fire). I expected just to skim it and return it to the library--non-fiction is not my favorite genre. I ended up sitting and reading this all in one day--I couldn't put it down! Mr. Brown does an excellect job of explaining the science of what happened, while still maintaining the suspense and drive of the story. It is an extremely compelling read!!! So I'm here at bn.com ordering a few copies for gifts...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2006

    Perhaps coming soon to a town near you

    Considering that this is a disaster book, it is a surprisingly entertaining read. The author set out to research the events surrounding the death of his great-grandfather who perished in the Hinckley firestorm of 1894, perhaps the worst forest fire in American history. In five hours the inferno destroyed most of a county, killed almost 500 people, and left behind a nearly sterile soil that would never again sustain a forest. Hinckley, Minnesota, never recovered from the event. Alternating story and necessary background information, Brown weaves a gripping narrative (I read it in two sittings). Like the best nonfiction writing (John McPhee¿s work comes to mind), ¿Under a Flaming Sky¿ is ultimately about the people, mostly immigrants who had come to America hoping for a better life and found themselves in Dante¿s Inferno. Brown acquaints us with many of the victims, revealing their pasts and their dreams, and then follows them through the catastrophe that enveloped them. The suspense never relents as we wait to see who will survive and who not. This story is interesting in its own right but it also speaks to modern readers who, thanks to United Flight 93 and Hurricane Katrina, no longer feel so safe. One chilling lesson of ¿Under a Flaming Sky¿ is that courage and resourcefulness often have nothing to do with survival. It is primarily a matter of where you just happen to find yourself when the events unfold. Some of the best and bravest perish and while others wonder around dazed only to be rescued by calmer neighbors. If Oprah doesn¿t choose this book, she is missing a bet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2006

    An exceptionally well written new book

    I got this book last week and since I had to fly cross-country, I figured it would help me pass the time during my flight. Not only could I not put it down, but I my husband (who rarely reads) and I fought over it all weekend when he decided he wanted to read it too! I had to physically force myself to stop reading at 2:00 am early one morning because I had to get some sleep! Mr. Brown writes such compelling prose that, at times, it¿s easy to forget that this book is a work of non-fiction that this terrible fire swept through Minnesota, leaving destroyed towns and families in its wake. It¿s hard to comprehend trying to escape a fire of this magnitude, only to survive and discover that your family, house, land and everything you own is gone. Mr. Brown¿s minute by minute account of the Hinckley fire of 1894, interspersed with details regarding the evolution of the fire from a few burning embers to total firestorm, weather science, burn and infection treatments of the late 1800s, make this book both an engrossing and educational find.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    Feel the heat, the horror, "Under a Flaming Sky"

    For 40 years, author Daniel James Brown's grandfather had nightmares about a day that began with joy and celebration and ended in ashes and catastrophe in--and around--Hinckley, Minn. in 1894. Brown takes those memories and those nightmares and brings them to horrifying life in "Under a Flaming Sky," a riveting hour-by-hour account of a monstrous firestorm that snaked, spit, and hid in small patches among the flat, drought-stricken woods of northern Minnesota until those patches, pushed by hurricane-force winds, merged and roared out of those woods like a living thing. What makes this book so poignant, what may give you nightmares nearly as vivid as Brown's grandfather, is the fact that these people never saw it coming. They were ordinary people caught up in extraordinary circumstances with no way out. Fires were common in the summer in that area and although the residents of Hinckley, Pokegama and the tiny hamlet of Phillips watched a yellow sun turn red, saw the growing spires of smoke, and heard the low rumbling of a dragon stirring to life, nothing they saw was much different from other summers in these thirsty lumber towns. By the time they glimpsed what lay behind the heated curtain, by the time they actually saw the hundred-foot-high wall of flames, it was far, far too late. The night before, they had gone to bed looking forward to the festivities of the nation's first Labor Day. By Saturday's end, they were decimated. Men, women and children who ran out of their homes to see what was coming were incinerated on the spot, and maybe they were the lucky ones. Others were alive but burned to the bone and still more took in frantic breaths as they tried to outrun the monster, only to have their lungs and throats seared shut. There are many heroes in "Under a Flaming Sky," largely railroad personnel who put their own lives on the line to evacuate as many people as possible, but the real heroes are the simple people residents trying to eke out a living in their new land who who lost their families, their lives, their homes, and their hope--and Brown, for telling their long-forgotten story. By the time you finish reading "Under a Flaming Sky," you'll find yourself checking the clothes dryer, the stove, all appliances, and that heap of brush and wood that is only one fence away, wondering if that really is smoke you smell. "Under e Flaming Sky" is a true story and history books have a long lineage of boring. But "Under a Flaming Sky" reads like the finest novel, drawing you deeply into the lives--and the hideous deaths and wounds--of these simple, anonymous people who did nothing more than go to bed one hot August night and awoke to a nightmare. Brown also wrote the recently released "The Indifferent Stars Above," about a young bride who suffered the tortures of the damned during the ill-fated Donner Party expedition, and it is no less riveting than "Under a Flaming Sky." Next time you're feeling a little sorry for yourself, read either "Under a Flaming Sky" or "The Indifferent Stars Above." Brown takes history and brings it to horrifying life. Your problems will shrink to nothingness when you read what happened to the people of Northern Minnesota in August 1894.--By LYNN BERK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Phenomenal Author

    If you enjoyed this title, then "The Indifferent Stars Above: The Harrowing Saga of a Donner Party Bride", is a MUST-read.
    Brown's work is so thoroughly researched and his writing so intriguing that I found myself totally emerged in it, unable to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Quick and very interesting read.

    Author has written a compelling history of this tragedy in Minnesota history. He's done a great job of compiling a large number of individual experiences by the participants in to a logical narrative of what took place in the Hinckley fire. I purchased the book because of my interest in genealogy and Minnesota history and am glad I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    A Must Read

    I could not put this book down. If you enjoy history you will love this book. Brown's in depth research and clearly written scientific explanations provide the background for this fascinating historical novel about the Great Hinckley Fire in Minnesota. One does not realize the astounding depth of the author's research until one reads the notes at the back of the book and realizes how expertly Brown weaves his novel from this unique event in American history. Excellent photos of many of the main characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1