Customer Reviews for

Under a Velvet Cloak (Incarnations of Immortality #8)

Average Rating 3.5
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good read; however not recommended for less than mature audiences

While a very good read, I feel that this book is only safe for mature audiences, as this work shows just how dirty Piers Anthony can write. This is a stunning conclusion to the Incarnations of Immortality series, as Piers Anthony wraps up the last remaining loose end f...
While a very good read, I feel that this book is only safe for mature audiences, as this work shows just how dirty Piers Anthony can write. This is a stunning conclusion to the Incarnations of Immortality series, as Piers Anthony wraps up the last remaining loose end from the previous seven books, Nox. I will not go into a synapsys of the book itself, and limit my commentary to the review while trying not to give the story away.

The first part of this story that really struck me is that I feel this book revolves way too much around the bedroom. It is my opinion that the amount of these scenes in the book could potentially detract from the storyline. When dealing with the Incarnation of Night they are to be expected to an extent, however this started early and often, and it felt like there was not a chapter with one of these scenes in it.

Aside from these scenes, I found the book very easily pulling me in with various hooks to keep my interest. Every time I would try to set the book down to do something else, I would invariably try to get back to the book as quickly as possible to see what happened next. Piers Anthony definitely showed his skill with word crafting to keep the reader hooked into the book.

In conclusion, I would recommend this book to any and all Piers Anthony fans, as it's no worse than many of his other works, and I would especially recommend it those who have read the rest of the Incarnations of Immortality series. To those new to this series; however, I would strongly recommend starting with On A Pale Horse and working their way through the series before reading this book, as it would otherwise be a very big spoiler on the rest of the series.

posted by KazeKitsune on April 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Should have quit while he was ahead

I loved the original series, so I was looking forward to this. What a disappointment. In 233 pages there is perhaps 20 pages of actual story, the rest is just a string of poorly written sex scenes. The shallow sexuality fails to distract from the fact that the charac...
I loved the original series, so I was looking forward to this. What a disappointment. In 233 pages there is perhaps 20 pages of actual story, the rest is just a string of poorly written sex scenes. The shallow sexuality fails to distract from the fact that the character development is missing and the storyline is recycled and not very interesting. Its a shame. This last book feels like an anchor on a series that was better off left alone.

posted by KHibbard on October 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    Should have quit while he was ahead

    I loved the original series, so I was looking forward to this. What a disappointment. In 233 pages there is perhaps 20 pages of actual story, the rest is just a string of poorly written sex scenes. The shallow sexuality fails to distract from the fact that the character development is missing and the storyline is recycled and not very interesting. Its a shame. This last book feels like an anchor on a series that was better off left alone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    Good read; however not recommended for less than mature audiences

    While a very good read, I feel that this book is only safe for mature audiences, as this work shows just how dirty Piers Anthony can write. This is a stunning conclusion to the Incarnations of Immortality series, as Piers Anthony wraps up the last remaining loose end from the previous seven books, Nox. I will not go into a synapsys of the book itself, and limit my commentary to the review while trying not to give the story away.

    The first part of this story that really struck me is that I feel this book revolves way too much around the bedroom. It is my opinion that the amount of these scenes in the book could potentially detract from the storyline. When dealing with the Incarnation of Night they are to be expected to an extent, however this started early and often, and it felt like there was not a chapter with one of these scenes in it.

    Aside from these scenes, I found the book very easily pulling me in with various hooks to keep my interest. Every time I would try to set the book down to do something else, I would invariably try to get back to the book as quickly as possible to see what happened next. Piers Anthony definitely showed his skill with word crafting to keep the reader hooked into the book.

    In conclusion, I would recommend this book to any and all Piers Anthony fans, as it's no worse than many of his other works, and I would especially recommend it those who have read the rest of the Incarnations of Immortality series. To those new to this series; however, I would strongly recommend starting with On A Pale Horse and working their way through the series before reading this book, as it would otherwise be a very big spoiler on the rest of the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Terrible ending to the series. It is written to cram as many sex

    Terrible ending to the series. It is written to cram as many sex scenes in the book as physically possible. There is so much sex that characters have normal conversations WHILE having sex.
    I loved the previous 7 books! Just stop at book 7...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    Not a good addition to the series

    This is a series I very much enjoyed, thought about, and felt had a well-imagined world and explanation.

    However, Under a Velvet Cloak is not a good volume 8. It relies too much, far too much, on descriptions of sex to advance the plot. Absent the sex scenes, there isn't much holding the book together at all. This problem also happened when I rushed to buy the ChroMagic series by the same author. Mr. Anthony mentions in the end-note that his best selling days are in the past. There's a reason for this: his best writing days are in the past.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    terrible!

    This book is terrible! It's book eight in the Incarnations of Immortality series and hopefully the last. It's definitely the last for me! I loved the first book in the series, On a Pale Horse, but then the books went downhill from there. In Under a Velvet Cloak, the author is entirely too preoccupied with sex. Sure, sex can be good in a story but not when it's in every other paragraph (unless the story is written as erotica of course). It's distracting and detracts from the story line, what little there is of one. And it's not even good sex. It's laughable how corny his descriptions are! And then there is the matter of one of the "good" guys who likes having sex with little boys between the ages of six and eight. How can Piers Anthony write in this character as a hero? He should have been the villain in my opinion. Do yourself a favor and read the first book in the series and stop there.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Nox

    Liked how they explained why nox got involved with the other incantations

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Good read but ya, A LOT of sex

    Most of the reviews are spot on. I would four star the other in this series but because of the seemingly endless, this garners a three. While central to the story, it was too much, especially in the beginning. The early sex made me feel like was watching child porn. Not cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Velvet Cloak Review 4/10/2012

    Plain and simple I enjoyed every minute while reading this book. Reading the other seven books in this series is helpful in understanding some aspects but is not required as this story needs no support. Had to give it five(5) star rating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Don't bother.

    This was a lame ending to the series. I'm beginning to wonder if the author himself has a desire for sexual relations with underage girls. It began with And Eternity and continues (albeit poorly written) in this book. Obviously, there is a connection between the office and sex, but the episodes in the book were far to frequent and seemed like they were written by a horny 8th grader. I actually found this book diificult to read because of the sheer number of these horrible scenes.

    Unfortunately, if he had taken out the sex scenes, the thin recycled plot could have been published as a pamphlet. Hopefully, not a lot of paper was used on physical copies of this book. It would be a crime to waste recources on this "novel".

    If I could, I would ask the author for a refund and compensation for time lost while reading it. I doubt they would compensate me for pain and suffering.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    WORST story by Piers to date

    So disappointing. This was the absolute worst story I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Not up to his previous work

    I love the Incarnations of Immortality series and found this to be subpar. Interesting in how things ties together, but would have been happy if it just ended before this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Wow

    An outstanding culmination of the previous novels. As well as an amazing and enjoyable stand alone novel. Once again Piers has facinated and continued a love of good fiction in myself, as well as my household.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    One of my favorite series

    I love the Incarnations series. Thus was a good endung to it. I wish there was more of the incarnations themselves, but the stary telling was good. Im glad i found this last book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    A fitting end if you've read the other 7 in the series

    This book was quite captivating and I read it with only one break to sleep. I had read and enjoyed the previous 7 books and I feel this one was a pretty good finale to the series. I understand the connection of night, secrets, and sex, but sometimes the casualness of Kerena's sexual escapades was a bit too much for me and a few of them could have been removed entirely with no disturbance to the plotline. At times it did almost feel as if there was added sex just for the sake of added sex... maybe to appeal to young teenage boys, I don't know.

    Overall, I'd recommend it if you've read the previous 7.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2010

    Terrible Terrible Terrible - I want a refund!

    This book is awful...I cannot even begin to describe how bad it was. Stay away from this turd of a book and spend your money on some fantasy that is actually entertaining.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    I love Piers Anthony. This is one sexy, interesting novel.

    Be aware that there is a LOT of sex in this book but it doesn't get "Nasty". It shows how MOST people treat sex, especially in the time period in which most of the story takes place. The main character, to be blunt, uses sex and sexuality to further her goals in a mutually beneficial manner that is very straight forward.

    I've seen a lot of negative reviews about this book on other sites but I'm almost to the end and I have completely enjoyed it.

    (Not to mention that the price could not be beat!!)

    I really like this series. It gets strange in parts but there is something about Mr. Anthony's style that just WORKS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    I love Piers Anthony. This is one sexy, interesting novel.

    Be aware that there is a LOT of sex in this book but it doesn't get "Nasty". It shows how MOST people treat sex, especially in the time period in which most of the story takes place. The main character, to be blunt, uses sex and sexuality to further her goals in a mutually beneficial manner that is very straight forward.

    I've seen a lot of negative reviews about this book on other sites but I'm almost to the end and I have completely enjoyed it.

    I really like this series. It gets strange in parts but there is something about Mr. Anthony's style that just WORKS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I was pleasantly surprised.

    I usually am disappointed with sequels and the conclusion of series. However I was pleasantly surprised with this book. It kept me interested from beginning to end and when it was over I didn't want it to be over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    Explains a lot; Risque

    The Final Final book to the Incarnations of Immortality series, Under A Velvet Cloak answers a great deal of questions that were left unknown in previous books. It plays through all the characters you know, as well as shows you who is really pulling all the strings and WHY they need to be pulled. Nox was an enjoyable character to follow through her adventures.

    My only warning is that this book ought to come in a brown paper bag. I love it, don't get me wrong, but would I give this to a minor who likes the series? Possibly not. It does have some rather hot and heavy scenes, so if you (or the person you're getting this for) is not up for that, take my warning into account.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    The Final and Least Necessary Incarnations of Immortality Novel

    Piers Anthony separates from his usual conflict between good and evil with this novel, splitting off into a conflict between night and darkness, neither of whom were significantly mentioned until late in the original Incarnations of Immortality series.<BR/><BR/>While it was perhaps time that the incarnation of night received her own book due to the role she played in And Eternity and her influence in For Love of Evil, this novel does not completely follow the plot elements from earlier books, especially with regards to chronology of the earlier books.<BR/><BR/>As well, this novel separates from the normal social interactions of the earlier books into much more sexually oriented actions. While this was certainly a part of the incarnation of night based on the earlier books, I feel Piers Anthony took the interactions to an excessive level while not concentrating sufficiently on the other activities of the incarnation of night.<BR/><BR/>If you truly love the Incarnations of Immortality series, I would suggest that you stick with the first 7 books, as this book definitely falls short of what I would expect from Piers Anthony.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5