Customer Reviews for

Under and Alone: The True Story of the Undercover Agent Who Infiltrated America's Most Violent Outlaw Motorcycle Gang

Average Rating 4.5
( 200 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(127)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    My wife and I ordered this book for the one who wasn't driving to read on a road trip. She couldn't put it down and finished it in two days. After she was done, I picked it up and saw why. No wonder they are making it into a movie-the author fights several battles simultaneously. First, the obvious covert battle on the outlaw motorcycle gang he has infiltrated. Second, the battle within himself over his loyalties to the ATF versus the loyalty to the brotherhood that has embraced him and shown him in his undercover alter ego more love and respect than anyone else. The brotherly bond with members of the Mongols MC is more love and respect than several that prejudge him on his gruf biker appearance-the citizens on the street and parents at his children's school and in one case a few dirty cops that try to run him off the road. This is not to mention his own agency, who would be quick to label him a rougue agent if the operation goes bad. A definite must read for anyone that has put themselves on the line for the good of American society or admires those that do.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Great

    This is by far a very well written book.. very hard to put down.. what the undercover agent had to sacrifice, his life, to bring down these guys his life will probably never be the same .... Bn

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Silverclaw

    .-. Well. I have nothing to say to that. Cough. :| -walks to camp-

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    A well written page turner

    This is one of the best books i have ever read. This undercover cop shows what real courage is all about. A real hero. God bless!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    I Loved this book!

    I really enjoyed reading this story. I knew it was difficult to get into a motorcycle gang, but I had no idea to what extreme. Great work William Queen!!!I finished reading the book in 2 days!! It definitly is a page turner and I totally recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Simply outstanding!

    An amazing read about not only undercover police work but an extremely dangerous operation. It covers becoming a member of the Mongols, their dangerous illegal activities and how Agent Queen became isolated and lost touch with his family. He also deals with narrow escapes from being discovered.

    A great true story for anyone interested in outlaw motorcycle gangs and/or undercover operations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    5 Stars

    Very good book im looking for more books like this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Great Read!

    Love true life stories. This man is mazing giving up his family/ life and risking it all. Enjoyed the book read it in a few days

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Anonymous

    So awesome i cant even describe it with words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    This book tells a very harrowing tale about an undercover agent

    This book tells a very harrowing tale about an undercover agent who infiltrates a ruthless motorcycle gang in los angeles
    . His real name is Willliam Queen but he goes by the name "Billy St. John" when he is undercover with the gang. He spends 28 months as aMongol and throughout the bhook you learn the harsh reality of what it is actually like to be in a motorcycle gang. The major themes and messages of this book were to let the reader understand how much William Queen actually had to go through to make sure that he could get in with the Mongols, and once he was, he had to keep their trust and stay in the gang for over 2 years. I like almost everything that there is to like about this book. I liked how in depth he went into explaining the difficulties of earning respect from fellow gang members. I liked how well he explained different members of the gang so you could try and get to know them almost as well as he did. I liked the intensity at which he explained all of the tough situations he was in, that made me want to keep reading for hours on end. He also did a great job of showing the actual life of the Mongols, not just the gang, but also individual people. He showed that even though some of the guys did bad things, underneath they were good guys. He made a lot of good friends and had never trusted a group of people more than he didhis Mongol "brothers", even though he was not truly a member. There is not much i can say that i did not like about this book, but, if if i had to choose one thing, i would say that sometimes the situations he was in were at times a little confusing to me because i am not fully aware of the biker lifestyle or with motorcycles in general. I think anybody that should get their hands on this book should read it because it is a top shelf adventure novel that will keep you on edge the entire 300 pages. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Excellent!

    Having only heard about or read accounts of such gangs, this was a real eye-opener. On one hand you have the partying, drugs, and drinking to excess where you would think organizing a trip to the local wal-mart would be impossible but then you realize the sophiatication of the hiearchy, the traditions, the scope of the transactions, and the mere web-like organization. I can't begin to imagine the sacarifices of Agent Queen; I sincerely hope he, his kids and his ex-wife have come to peace. They all paid their (waaaay to much) dues on the Mongol assignment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Excellent! I couldn't put it down!

    I read this book in no time at all. The situations that the detective was involved in was unreal. It is a book full of suspense and jaw-dropping realisms. I have a new respect for undercover agents!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Unbelievable!

    I read this book quite awhile ago but I still remember so many of the details in this book. It was a tough book to put down. He showed his determination and his loyalty to the job. I loved it from cover to cover!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    Very Highly Recommended

    I could hardly put this book down. I highly recommend it. It reminded me a lot of the Sons of Anarchy TV series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Must read.

    I started this book two nights ago. I read all through the day yesterday, and finished it off today. Awesome book...could not put it down. Agent Queen tells the story in such a way that gives you all the information you need, but does not drown out your interest in overkill details. Congratulations, Agent Queen, on a job well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    If you like Mafia and Gangster stories

    I'm a dude that doesn't like to read and well can't read too fast either, but I love this book. Give a shot

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    awsome!

    I am a 50 yr old woman and I could NOT put this down it was an intense book!!
    GREAT read !!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2010

    Great read

    I thought the book was well written and fast paced. I found myself sneaking in a few pages any time I had a chance. Bill Queen did what few could do and did it at a huge personal sacrifice. If this dosen't restore your faith in our law enforcement community - nothing will. This is a great book which I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    Under and Alone

    This is a must read for those that enjoy true crime. If you know anything about the motorcycle club this book is about, it is a miracle the undercover agent made it out alive. The story is well told and has some great insight from the ATF agent's point of view. William Queen goes into detail on exactly how he gained the confidence of the club members. The story is told factually without a bunch of embellishment or dramatization. The book gets straight to the point and keeps you mesmerized to see what is going to happen next. Obviously, Mr. Queen makes it out alive but his life is forever changed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2009

    He Had some attitude

    William Queen had to battle both the brass of the ATF and the Mongols in this riveting crime thriller, draped with boozing bikers bent on murderous mendacity and the Mongols proved themselves to be highly uncouth bunch of misfits, but they would have no problem killing even their wives or as they called them, "their ol lady." The Mongols luckily never found out the daring agent as he would help round up 42 Mongols on various charges who went to state and federal prions as a result o f his undercover work. At least many of these miserable buggards are behind bars for the rest of their lives as they should. Thank you, William Queen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7