Customer Reviews for

Under the Black Ensign

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

LOVED IT!!!

This book was great!!! I enjoyed every minute of it - from the first page to the last! This is about a gentleman and pilot shanghaied in London on a ship as a lowly sailor and how this shift from this point. This is one of the most entertaining books I've read this year...
This book was great!!! I enjoyed every minute of it - from the first page to the last! This is about a gentleman and pilot shanghaied in London on a ship as a lowly sailor and how this shift from this point. This is one of the most entertaining books I've read this year!

posted by Anonymous on September 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good for a quick fix

This was what one would expect from pulp- short and sweet. No character development, little in the way of plot. Just straight to the point pirate action. A decent read for the most part, but not something I would recommend for anything other than a way to waste an hou...
This was what one would expect from pulp- short and sweet. No character development, little in the way of plot. Just straight to the point pirate action. A decent read for the most part, but not something I would recommend for anything other than a way to waste an hour or so. The action scenes were plenty, but short and incredibly weak. Hubbard obviously had trouble describing fights; whether swordfights or naval battles, they were very generic and non-descriptive, and did not give the adrenaline surge of a well- written action novel. What's more, there was absolutely no romance, though an attempt at a romantic element was obviously made. All in all a very weak and unimaginitive story, but still good enough to read once while waiting for a bus or killing some time before bed. After all, a swashbuckler is a swashbuckler, even if poorly written it's still worthy of a read, in my opinion. Could have beeen much better though. I guess Hubbard saved all his imagination for the hokey "religion" he invented...

posted by qubit on September 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2008

    LOVED IT!!!

    This book was great!!! I enjoyed every minute of it - from the first page to the last! This is about a gentleman and pilot shanghaied in London on a ship as a lowly sailor and how this shift from this point. This is one of the most entertaining books I've read this year!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2008

    Under the Black Ensign; GREAT!!!!!!

    Under the Black Ensign was one of those really great swashbuckling, action packed, good versus evil type stories. I listened to it on CD and I could feel the warmth my parents have told me of the old radio days. I can't wait to listen to my next Hubbard pulp fiction!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2008

    What a story!

    This book was actually incredible. Not only was it action packed, it was also moral and educational! It also gave me a new view of the pirate. I found myself wanting to listen to the story again and again and again. I felt like I was right there in the story. The book is fantastic too!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    Great pulp adventure!

    Great swashbuckling adventure! Tom Bristol is a great character and I really like the old-time feel of the story from the pulp days.<BR/>If you like pirates, adventure on the high-seas, give this one a try!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A Grand Adventure

    This one hits the water sailing (instead of ground running) and just picks up speed from there. Pure classic pulp in its finest tradition. It is no wonder why people couldn't get enough and after all this time they still can't. If you want a serious, somber, literary read avoid this like the plauge. But if what you want is fun, unabashed adventure, buy it, read it, love it. The production quality of these audio books are absolutely unparalled.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A grand adventure

    This one hits the water sailing (instead of ground running) and just picks up speed from there. Pure classic pulp in its finest tradition. It is no wonder why people couldn't get enough and after all this time they still can't. If you want a serious, somber, literary read avoid this like the plauge. But if what you want is fun, unabashed adventure, buy it, read it, love it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    A Great L. Ron Hubbard Story

    Glad that I was able to get this for free. I enjoy pulp fiction very much and L. Ron Hubbard is one of the greatest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    The most exciting book! Will keep you glued to the book until it is finished and then you will want more. Great for kids and adults alike. A must read if you like adventure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2008

    Very fun read and characters are great!

    I had a LOT of fun reading this and it is written so well it totally immerses one into the story, even though in another time period! You will feel transported! There are even very fun online "interview" spoofs with the main character at www.elbowsonthetable.com ! It is hillarious.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Classsic pulp action with a great plot!!!

    Under the Black Ensign pulls you into the action and doesn't let up. Great authenticity and background color accurately told with a compelling plot. A great read for the pure enjoyment of a classic pulp tale and an education as well with a complete glossary of pirate and ship terminology. I found this story especially appealing to my younger friends with a good moral adding to the excitement. I also appreciated the excellent quality of the production with a stain resistant cover and authentic pulp feel to the pages. This is one you want to add to your collection or share with friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Very fast and curageous.

    Great book, doesn't bog down with what kind of flowers were growing on the hill as they stormed the......
    Very fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1