Customer Reviews for

Under the Boardwalk (Costas Sisters Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    Not Great

    I have read The Bachelor series and they were OK but I was hoping that this was better because of the mystery behind the story. The characters, especially the main two, were really interesting and Ari's family was an interesting group. However, there were two characters who I didn't understand - their story line was cute but I didn't understand their point in the story. It seemed really out of place. I thought the mystery part of the story was interesting at the beginning but I thought the ending to that part was weak. It was a fast read but I was glad when it was over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2008

    Not so great

    I have read a few of her books and won't be reading any more.....I tried. After reading reviews by other readers, I keep thinking optimistically, but I can't seem to ever relate to her characters. Her stories would make great short stories but seem to drag on and on with no real content.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    page turner.

    I hate reading and this is the first book other than school related i've actually finished. Ariana and Quinn have quite the love relationship. It is a fast paced novel about sisters who were apart for so long and one disappears and they realize how much they mean to eachother. Carly Pillips is a great author and I can't wait to read another one of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2006

    So...So...

    It wasn't bad but I never got completely sucked in. I would have like the story to be more focused on the main characters. There were so many other side stories going on I felt like I was backtracking. I do have to say though that the moments that included Spank the Monkey had me laughing out loud and made the book worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2005

    Not quite up to par

    I started reading Carly Phillips with 'The Bachelor'. Those books were a fun read and I have enjoyed her books since. 'Under the Boardwalk' did not strike a cord with me. It was slow moving with little plot development. This book was 300 pages long when it could have been told in 100 pages and it would have been more interesting. It felt like it started as a novella and someone decided it should be a book, so they went back in and put fillers to make it longer. I didn't feel the click between Quinn and Ari. The hang ups that Ari had were ridiculous for a psychology professor, especially for an almost 30 year old. Talk about 'physician, heal thy self.' Sam at 13 is more mature and understands more. And I still haven't figured out why Conner and Maria were in there and got their own sections. The funniest parts dealt with Spank and that isn't saying much. This book was a mix of My Big Fat Greek Wedding (without the comedy) and Meet the Parent/Fockers (without the comedy). Sprinkle in Friends moments and some junior detective work that doesn't lead anywhere and you have a recipe for disaster. Save your money for a different book. I gave this book two stars because I was able to get through it eventually even though it was painful. This books had an abundance of potential but still managed to fall short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2005

    funny & fast-paced

    Carly Phillips does it again! This book was very funny, suspenseful, and quick-paced. A great page-turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2004

    lovin' it

    this book u just want to keep on reading . so great!!!!!!!!!! great for reading in bed with a cup of tea. (for real)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2004

    Kudos!

    Phillips does a great job of keeping her charachters fresh and different. Ariana and Quinn immediately get you hooked with their sex appeal. The Costas family keep you wondering what trouble they'll get into next. All in all, 'Under the Boardwalk' Fun and Sexy a great summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2004

    Carly Phillips RULES! ; )

    When Ariana Costas returns to her family in New Jersey from a five year absence, little does she expect to be involved in murder, mayhem, and romance. Ari's taken a leave of absence from her teaching job in Vermont hoping she'll find out what's happened to her missing twin, Zoe. Ari has never felt connected to her wildly wacky family, but coming home at this point in time leads to some eye-opening revelations. In a case of mistaken identity, Ari is shot at and then rescued by hunky detective Quinn Donovan. It doesn't take long for Ari and Quinn to become romantically involved, but each is a constant thorn in the other's side. Ari has difficulty letting go of some of her hang-ups, while Quinn has secrets that may be the key to Zoe's mysterious disappearance. Ari's amateur detective skills and Quinn's protective instincts are a constant conflict between the two. Hopefully, they can stay alive while trying to stay out of the bedroom! xxxxxxxx UNDER THE BOARDWALK is filled with delightful characters, a fast-paced and intriguing storyline, and edge-of-your-seat suspense. New York Times bestselling author Carly Phillips is a master at her craft, engaging the reader's emotions from first page to last. xxxxxxxx I highly recommend UNDER THE BOARDWALK as one of Ms. Phillips best books to date, and personally can't wait to read Zoe's story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2004

    A winner

    When Vermont based psychology college professor Ariana Costas learns that her twin Zoe is missing and probably dead, she takes a leave of absence and returns to her family home in Ocean Isle, New Jersey. She does not believe Zoe is dead because she has a certain affinity for her sister though they have been estranged for five years since Ariana fled her family of con artists............................................ Quinn Donovan is stunned to see Zoe¿s sister walking on the beach as Zoe promised that Ariana would never come home. Someone fires a shot at Ariana, but Quinn reacts and knocks her down. After he reluctantly gets off her, they talk. He tells her he worked with her mother and her sister at Damon¿s Casino, but hides his instant attraction to her and that Special Agent Zoe is safe. Ariana informs him she will stay until Zoe comes home. Quinn worries she will destroy his undercover work at the casino trying to prove illegal happenings. As Ariana and Quinn fall in love, he breaks the rules of undercover work for her while worrying about her safety and their future together................................. This exciting police procedural romance works on several levels but readers will especially feel the attraction between the two lead protagonists as well as that of a secondary couple. The vast cast adds depth as Ariana learns what family means through the reactions of a street teen to her likable con artist kin though her constant insistence that she does not belong amongst loved ones becomes irritating. Romantic suspense readers will take immense pleasure with this fine suspense laden tale starring a lovable You Can¿t take It With You cast......................... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2