Customer Reviews for

Under the Dome

Average Rating 4
( 3723 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1702)

4 Star

(1079)

3 Star

(544)

2 Star

(221)

1 Star

(177)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

73 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

Believe the hype, King swings for the fences and nails it out of the park.

Please hold your critiques until you've read the book. I had the privilege to get my hands on an advance copy and I've been singing this story's praises to everyone. King brings the town of Chester's Mills to vivid life, examining the deepest, darkest secrets of the t...
Please hold your critiques until you've read the book. I had the privilege to get my hands on an advance copy and I've been singing this story's praises to everyone. King brings the town of Chester's Mills to vivid life, examining the deepest, darkest secrets of the town. Early on, a character makes a reference to Golding's Lord of the Flies; if only they had such luck. The story could happen in any town, and that is what makes it so terrifying and engaging. Under the Dome is long, but it seems he could have doubled the length and still left you wanting more. I recommend taking off a few days after the release of this book, because you will not want to waste time eating, bathing, or going to work until you've turned the final page.

posted by Freekman993 on September 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

43 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

Sorry to say, "Ho hum."

Although Under the Dome is 1000 pages, reading goes quickly as the writing style is quite simple. The only thing of real interest for me was the dome itself. What an interesting concept! Unfortunately the reason for the dome is lackluster and could easily have been u...
Although Under the Dome is 1000 pages, reading goes quickly as the writing style is quite simple. The only thing of real interest for me was the dome itself. What an interesting concept! Unfortunately the reason for the dome is lackluster and could easily have been used as a short story concept instead of as a tome.
I missed the suspense and can't-stop-reading characteristics of many of his other books and am perplexed that the author who is capable of writing The Shining and The Stand would write Under the Dome.
This is not Stephen King at his best or even close to it.

posted by joyflsong on December 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1079 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 54
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    Not his best, but definitely worth reading!

    I am always hardest on Stephen King because I have been reading him since I was about 12 years old, and he is my favorite.
    As always, he explores his characters, their motivations and histories to further the readers' view of their actions. There are many characters in this book, many who mirror those you will see around you in everyday life, however the numbers keep the histories of each character to more of a minimum than usual for him.
    This book is long, and each day of the story is detailed. There is a map of the town the story takes place in, as well as a list of the characters. This is helpful.
    There is not as much suspense as I thought there would be, but he does paint a great setting.
    The ending is strange, however it does kinda give the reader a sense of how they relate to the world around them.
    If this is your first Stephen King, take a pass and read a collection of short stories first to get used to his style.

    24 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book is great!

    I started to think and worry that maybe Stephen King lost his craft. I thought a lot of his books lately where not so great (maybe since Dark Tower 7).

    But this book is great! the kind is back, buy it now and read it as soon as you can this book is a great, and it was surprising how fast it goes.

    21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    King fans rejoice! In my opinion, this is King's return to the writing that so many of his fans fell in love with years ago.

    Going into details would give parts of the story away, but what I will say, is that King's vision of small town life is vivid.so real. Each character is so distinct and different from the other characters. King's portrayal of the town leader, Jim Rennie is so right on the money that when Big Jim speaks, you just want to reach into the book and slap him. He's a typical politician but the mannerisms, the holier than thou attitude.it all leaps off the page. We learn who these people are, we know their insecurities. It's like looking into a window as you walk by a house. We see things that we shouldn't, and although some of the story is a bit predictable, that's okay because in the end, these are folks that we care about.

    With this book, I see a vulnerability that I haven't seen in a King book in a really long time. Sort of like, he was testing the waters. Not the big-time writer writing up another bestseller, but it was as if he really wanted his "constant readers" to feel good about this one. I do feel good. As grim as the subject matter was, I feel good about reading it because this is the King that I have been missing for a long, long time. One example of this is his inclusion of a character list at the beginning of the book. There are dozens of characters yet I never had to use that list. I knew who each one was and what they were about yet King wanted to make sure of that. I found that interesting.

    I know that a lot of folks avoid King because some of his writing is pretty graphic. This one has some graphic scenes and a few may cause your gag reflex to go into overdrive, but compared to his other books, I felt this one was pretty mild. It's the "end of the world as we know it" type of violence that is caused by mass hysteria.shootings, rapes, suicides, etc. There is some language too, but not nearly as much as his other works. When people grow desperate, they get ugly. You just have to know this going in.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    Be afraid..you may discover someone you don't like...and that someone may be YOU!

    Stephen King is the master of suspense, starting with "Do I have time to read this monstrous volume?" Like most of his novels once, you start reading; it is hard to put down. So don't worry the tale goes quickly as King develops his characters and the idiosyncrasies of small town life.
    The suspense provided by "Under the Dome" comes more from a personal point than the storyline itself. Though you are always wondering what comes next, this book, more than any of his other makes you look inside of yourself and question your biases and prejudice's. How would you handle the situation these people are in and which character would most react like? What events in your life have made you less than proud of who you are?
    I have been hooked on Stephen King since I read "Salem's Lot" cover to cover during a Midwestern thunderstorm locked in a closet because I was too afraid of what was happening outside. His style of writing has evolved to now I am not afraid of what's happening outside but rather what's happening inside.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Left me wanting more.

    Being a huge Stephen King fan, this book was highly anticipated. When I got it for Christmas, I couldn't wait to finish the book I was reading in order to start this. From the beginning, I was captured by the rich depth of the characters and of course, the little surprises left by King. I enjoyed being able to pick up the book and get involved in the lives of these people, even though the concept of the book to me was scary, if only because it reminded me of a certain animated movie. The length did not bother me, in fact I fel that the story could have been a bit more lengthy. The idea ended up being very interesting and I got very excited as I continued. Then, I got to the end and was disappointed. I knew where he was going with the story, but I expected more depth, more detail and more of the original King disturbia.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    King has still got it

    A master of weaving terror. King goes more to his roots in this novel tingling the brain with horror in a very profound way.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    ?

    I picked up a copy of Under the Dome when I heard about the television series that would be coming out two weeks prior. I figured I would try to finish this monster of a book so I can watch the series without spoilers. However this was not the case and got about halfway done when the show started, but decided to watch it nonetheless. Even though the show shares the same title and idea, it had little of the story line told by the novel. This, however, did not stop me from finishing my reading as I was already too enthralled, and slightly appaled, by the small town of Chesters Mill and the characters it inhabited. I found myself reading well past 2 AM just utterly shocked by what was occuring inside the dome, and while it was what started all the chaos, it had relatively little to do with most of the towns problems. For this you can put the blame on the second selectman Big Jim Rennie, the novels main antagonist. Now although every story needs a good bad guy, I often found myself so frustrated by this character that I would wind up putting the book down and stop reading for the night. This, and partially the ending although I'll get back to that later, is the reason this is not a five star novel. All the same, the good guys of Chester Mill were so likable and completely opposite of their opposers I would often cheer them on and, much too occasionally, mourn their deaths. There were no 'slow' parts of this novel which any reader of King prepares themselves before jumping into one of his books, especially one of over a thousand pages! but I just felt it was too long to take place in a period of less than a week. Despite this being said I would absolutely not take any parts out of this novel for they all play there own important role. Now for the ending...While I did not HATE this part, I do wish Stephen King found a better way to lift the dome, the way he did it just felt too lackadaisical and rushed for a novel of this size (I mean seriously around three pages?) But I suppose being an avid King reader sometimes requires a preparation for such things and I beleive more often than not he delivers. With this being said, while the very ending was just not quite satisfying, the hundred or so pages before were so thrilling and intense I was practically racing through the pages. THAT was King at his best and it made up for anything I wasnt quite sure I agreed within the story. Although this novel was not by any means a disappointment, I do NOT suggest this for a first time reader of this author mainly as the size can be very overwhelming, especially if you're unfamiliar with his writing style. Maybe once you have read a few simpilar works and adapt to King's story telling, than you can conquer Under the Dome. Some good ones to start with are Carrie or perhaps 'Salems Lot (my personel favorite) or even a few short stories like The Mist will do. I'm getting besides the point now, but if you are familiar with King and have enjoyed his other works, than I definitely reccomend this novel and am sure you will not be disappointed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2010

    King really had me going

    It was almost fantastic. I was "feelin' it." I skipped a class (grad student) so I wouldn't have to put down my Nook. (Loved my Nook for this 900 page behemoth!) I got almost all the way to the end...

    Then it was gone. This isn't a "I hated the ending" review. I didn't. I liked it. It just... The story ended (if you concentrate, you can FEEL it when it happens) but the book wasn't finished/resolved. The actual ending/resolution feels tacked-on. It's hard to explain.

    It's a great ride 95% of the way.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    If you enjoyed "The Stand", you wont be disappointed!!

    Great story and plot line, brought back fond memories of me reading "the stand" when I was younger. Found that I could not put it down from mid book on...




    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Great story, ho-hum ending

    This story moved me and brought up emotions in a way that I haven't sensed before in King novels. I couldn't read fast enough to find the justice I so yearned for. At the same time, I pratically forced myself to read in moderation, 1( because the characters drained me emotionally, and 2) because the story was so moving and wonderfully orchestrated that I wanted it to go on forever. The ending left me feeling incomplete. The attention to detail throughout the story was so astounding that this mediocre (and a little lazy) ending seemed disconnected from the bigger picture of the plot. Nevertheless, this is an amazing read that will have the reader thinking twice about the underlying motives and maneuvers of small-town politics, and even of themselves.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    I am a great Stephen King fan and read this book when it first c

    I am a great Stephen King fan and read this book when it first came out in hard bond. A gripping fast paced novel and I found it to be a real page turner. I am definitely looking forward to the screen adaptation, which is being released in June of this year.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Very long but very good read

    This book was really good. It was very long (over 1300 pages) but it kept my interest and it was done in true Stephen King fashion. The characters were interesting and in depth and you really got attached to them. The ending could've happened a little sooner and I wish there was a little more to the ending like an after the fact type chapter. Otherwise good read and would recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    One of King's best!

    I was in college in Orono Maine while Stephen King was there. We never shared any classes together, and I didn't know him, but by the time I was in my early 30s, I regretted not having known him then. I own and have read most of his novels, and until this one, The Stand was my favorite. Keep 'em coming, SK. I love what you do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    GOOD STORY; VERY INTERESTING; KEPT ME EXCITED; COULD'NT PUT IT DOWN

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Great Book!!!!! Disappointing Ending????

    I absolutely loved 95% of this book. Everything was great except for the ending. It was very anti-climatic compared to the rest of the book. Actually, the entire explanation for the "dome" was fairly disappointing and seems like something out of a comic book. The only other thing I disliked about the book was King's apparent attempt to poke fun at conservatives and religion. Whether he actually had an agenda or it's simply the manner in which he developed certain characters is only known to King. Regardless, the book was very entertaining and despite the ending and politics, I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    Loved the Length

    This was a wonderful book. I read it straight through. Couldn't put it down. Excellent except for one thing. I think his Political Leftism forced him to make the bad guys Republicans and the good guys Democrats. I think the book would have been great without the Political Jabs.

    Same with Dumma Key.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    One of His Best

    Loved it ,It was long ,but I didn,t find it boring at all good story,but I didn,t like the ending.If you ebook it you should make a copy of all the characters.there are many of them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2010

    Interesting, even though the ending left something to be desired

    I used to be a big Stephen King fan, and reading this book felt like coming back to meet an old friend. The characters are well written, and we get a good feel for each character, of which there are many. I have to admit to getting confused with the names somtimes, as some of them are similar enough to make you think, "Wait, is that A or B?" I'm just not of the opinion that it is a good thing to do, since it pulls you out of the story. However, he does provide a 'cheat sheet' in the beginning of the book.

    About 2/3rds of the way into it, I got a little distracted by the odd POV he elected to use at that point, but thankfully, it didn't go on too long. The ending itself was a bit of a letdown; I think he wrote himself into a corner, plot-wise. This prevented me from giving this book a five star rating, but for what it was, it was still well written and stayed true to the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing story, amazing characters

    As usual, King sucks me right in to his book from the start. I won't reiterate the entire book, as hundreds of reviewers have done before me, and I'm sure by now everyone gets the gist of it.

    Out of all of King's work, this novel was probably the most disturbing. It's a sad reflection of what people are capable of when fear and panic take over, and like a bad train wreck the reader can't help but watch. But a few good souls do come through and fight the evil taking over the town, a light of hope in a dense fog. Jiim Rennie reminded me of Hitler; his police force reminded me of the blindly faithful SS soldiers; and the people reminded me, of course, of the population in Europe during Hitler's reign.

    I'm fascinated with King's gift of description. He goes beyond personifying his characters, scenes, and emotions. Several times I had to take a break, look up and just remind myself I wasn't there under the dome. Sounds silly, I know, but it's true. Anxiety crept through my chest chapter after chapter, leaving me wondering what was going to happen, why the dome was in place, how it happened, my heart constricting each time a character I had gotten to know met an untimely and sad ending.

    I will be honest and say I wasn't thrilled about the concept of the Dome, but I was pleased with King's work overall and I closed with book and was left with a feeling of satisfaction.

    This book is truly a work of art and definitely worth the 1,074 paged read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A good book.

    I've been a King fan for some time and I can tell you that this book is neither good or bad. The book has its moments where it feels like your in part of the book as the Dome comes down. The book stars good and continues until halfway through, when the book begins to drag a little with what I though were pointless pieces of info about the characters, or what they were doing. But as the book starts to reach its end it starts to get more fast pace. The ending doesn't really seem to satisfy, it feels like more of a Sci-Fi feel to it which king of disappointed me. Overall a good read for any king fan and a great summer read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1079 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 54