Customer Reviews for

Under the Dome

Average Rating 4
( 3754 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1714)

4 Star

(1086)

3 Star

(552)

2 Star

(223)

1 Star

(179)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

76 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

Believe the hype, King swings for the fences and nails it out of the park.

Please hold your critiques until you've read the book. I had the privilege to get my hands on an advance copy and I've been singing this story's praises to everyone. King brings the town of Chester's Mills to vivid life, examining the deepest, darkest secrets of the t...
Please hold your critiques until you've read the book. I had the privilege to get my hands on an advance copy and I've been singing this story's praises to everyone. King brings the town of Chester's Mills to vivid life, examining the deepest, darkest secrets of the town. Early on, a character makes a reference to Golding's Lord of the Flies; if only they had such luck. The story could happen in any town, and that is what makes it so terrifying and engaging. Under the Dome is long, but it seems he could have doubled the length and still left you wanting more. I recommend taking off a few days after the release of this book, because you will not want to waste time eating, bathing, or going to work until you've turned the final page.

posted by Freekman993 on September 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

43 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

Sorry to say, "Ho hum."

Although Under the Dome is 1000 pages, reading goes quickly as the writing style is quite simple. The only thing of real interest for me was the dome itself. What an interesting concept! Unfortunately the reason for the dome is lackluster and could easily have been u...
Although Under the Dome is 1000 pages, reading goes quickly as the writing style is quite simple. The only thing of real interest for me was the dome itself. What an interesting concept! Unfortunately the reason for the dome is lackluster and could easily have been used as a short story concept instead of as a tome.
I missed the suspense and can't-stop-reading characteristics of many of his other books and am perplexed that the author who is capable of writing The Shining and The Stand would write Under the Dome.
This is not Stephen King at his best or even close to it.

posted by joyflsong on December 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1086 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 55
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very different King, but I loved it

    I've always been a big Stephen King fan. I was a little wary of this one because I heard it was very different for him. This book was not his typical scare-you-to-death story. It was light on gore and horror. That being said, this may be my absolute favorite King novel. This book is much more an attempt to understand human nature than to cause nightmares. Under the Dome is thought provoking and terrifying in a very different way. I have never rooted for and against characters so much before. If you are a King fan, you won't be disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Stephen King at his best

    Stephen King at his best yet again but, and not unlike most authors, "Under The Dome" is not without its flaws.

    For some reason (and I think it is safe to chock this up to those who convert written words to the Nook's e-ink) throughout the book there were countless grammatical, spelling, and even plot related errors (Barbara is initially said to have been a former "Captain" in the U.S. military and then later on is said to have been a "Lieutenant" instead, with no evidence to signify why).

    The plot and build up of "Under The Dome" is definitely just shy of being on par with "The Stand" but falls short in an almost anti-climatic way. Between the sub-plots, main plot buildup, character development and writing style, King leads his band of "Constant Readers" on a thrill ride, leaving them on the edge of their seats and, towards the end, highly anticipating the ending. Unfortunately this is where the books seems to fall short. King builds up the plot and action to an almost boiling point but then ends it suddenly and leaves the reader flabbergasted and begging for more (not in a totally good way).

    I highly recommend this book to all fans of Mr. King and even to those who only delve into his works for the sake of reading "The Stand."

    "Under The Dome" stands to shine as one of King's best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    Politics bleeding in

    Having read everything King has written, I appreciated the gripping style and rich characters. I was disappointed at the typical liberal stereotypes: villain Rennie is an ignorant, hypocritical, Obama-hating conservative Christian; Iraq war - bad, God-is-dead-liberal minister - good; US military - bad.
    Plot thesis was great, but not exactly original, having seen The Simpsons Movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't put this book down

    It was very intimidating at first since there were so many characters to try to remember. I had to think twice quite a few times who was who, however the story was very good and I had a hard stopping. I couldn't wait to see how it was going to end. It was a very long book, well worth it.
    The ending though was very disappointing. I felt like he got tired of writing and just abruptly ended it without much intrigue.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    I'm always disappointed at the end...

    I mean the end of the story. Every Stephen King novel or novella struggles and limps to the end. When you think the story should be over he goes on, he's almost the reader's dream author who continues the story when you want him to, but this like all the others lets you down.
    Now the good parts, the characters just come alive, you can see Jim Renny, Barbie, Rusty, even the 4-legged characters - Horace, Julia's dog, Audrey, the Everetts dog... I love how given the "right" circumstances how villains and heroes are made!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Very Good. Long, but moves right along to the end.

    King has his typical humor and contemporary references, sprinkled throughout, keeping the story moving. This book gives the reader a lot to think about, with spot-on lessons about human nature and society. Definitely worth the time commitment to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting Premise

    This book, like all of Stephen King's books, was well written and held your interest to the end. I always feel connected to his characters. I enjoyed this book because it takes the ordinary and takes it to the extraordinary without it seeming impossible.

    I have often wondered if we are just a speck under someone's microscope and this novel entertains that thought. But, the real story is about how people react under the worst of circumstances and how human nature can turn people into heros or demons. Isn't the true horror that exists in this world that which human beings can stoop to under those circumstances that are do extraordinary that we can barely conceive of them? I had to keep reading to see how it would all play out.

    Buy the paperback, the hard cover is too heavy to hold!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Good page turner!

    I definitely enjoyed this book, it was hard for me to put it down at times because I kept wanting to see what would happen. I will admit it got a little LONG at times--Stephen King could definitely have shaved a couple hundred pages from the book and still had a bestseller--but the plot was interesting, the characters were intriguing, and the reason for the Dome was a twist that, while maybe not the most original concept, definitely had an edge that was all his own. The end of the book had me sitting on the edge of my seat, the pages turning as fast as my eyes could take in the story. If you are a reader and have the patience for a near 900 page book, definitely add this one to your reading list.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Ending was a big let down

    After so many twist and turns I felt the end was too simplistic and hardly made any sense. I found myself getting upset over the stupidity of the town's people in how they went up against big Jim. After waiting for Jim to get his, what he got was less then dramatic. The story was great, but the end was an afterthought.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    Highly Entertaining

    Best on an nook - it won't weigh you down like the print edition - over 800 pages!

    Intriguing story concept kept me interested through this long book. Eventually I couldn't put it down! Some parts are difficult to read as they are exceptionally disturbing but overall the story is compelling enough to overlook it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Stephan King puts out a wonderful novel in Under The Dome

    In Stephan Kings most recent novel 'Under the Dome' a mysterious dome comes down a a small town called Chester's Mill, Maine. The story does not just focus on how did the dome get there and what are we going to do to get through it, the story focus's on the struggle between the town's people while under the dome. Stephan King did a wonderful job creating all of the characters, all of which you will either fall in love with, or hate more then anything else in the world. And with that being said there is indeed a large list of characters, so if you get confused with books that have to many (characters) then i do not suggest you try to read this, also it is a lengthy at 1,072 pages, but i doubt many readers will have a problem with that. Overall this is a great book and i noticed the price on it seems to keep going down, so the cheaper you can get it the better of a bargain it is. Thank you have have fun reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great up to the last 100 or so pages. Ending left an unsatisfied feeling.

    Everyone by now knows what the main plot is, so I won't recap it here. The "Dome" had very little to do with the story. The book was character driven from the start. The characters are well developed and interesting. And, plenty of characters we learn to hate. The main villain, Jim Rennie, was the embodiment of an evil, selfish and ruthless dictator. A small town official who considered himself above everything we hold to be good and righteous.
    Rennie's plotting and power hungry plans were meticulous and cunning. He was hiding secrets that could have toppled him from power. I would have loved to seen him exposed in the end, publicly humiliated and sent to prison. That would have crushed him, the worst punishment he could receive. But, like the other very bad guys, he dies without much fanfare.
    The ending was less than satisfying. Most everyone dies. There is no joyous celebration when the dome is lifted. All the work, sweat and blood to save these people is mostly for nothing.
    The dome lifting is another weak point for me. Like King's book "The Cell", not much in the way of explanation. Almost as if it was just a side note to the story.
    All that being said, I really enjoyed this book. Our heroes are ordinary people struggling in an extraordinary situation to survive. The reader almost forgets about the dome as the story unfolds. People helping people and fighting a human evil is the main theme.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting King Novel

    Reading novels, I usually find myself feeling as an outsider looking in. Under the Dome kept me glued to the book and not wanting to put it down. It made me feel as if I was a citizen of the town, feeling the heartbeat of the town, smelling the smells. I have never had feelings about characters that this book brought out in me. Jim Rennie made me want to attack him everytime he spoke.

    Although not a religious person, this book takes on a clash between good and evil, angels and demons. Jim Rennie portraying an Anti-christ-like character and his Hometown Security force, his minions. Dale Barbara taking on an angelic leader figure, almost christ-like, with his 'side,' his apostles.

    The book kept me on the edge of my seat wanting more. Great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    There's Some Classic King Here...

    Like any "constant reader," I've been reading most of Stephen King all my life.

    I was first intrigued in this book/concept, because Hollywood tackled it in the Simpson's Movie. However, this is far from the Simpson's.

    King's usual strengths come through here with lots of interesting characters, soul development, a hint of supernatural, and some speed.

    King mentions at the end that he was trying to keep the "pedal to the metal." Unfortunately that doesn't happen here. Yes, I read furiously, page by page for about the first 400 pages and then bam! Like the birds I hit the dome and it was a much slower going rate from there.

    While the ending was not a let down, I really felt it shouldn't have ended in the last 20 pages.

    If you are a fan of King, then this is a must read. If you are new to King, start with his classics...Carrie, The Stand, and most definitely...Misery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read.

    I've read everything Stephen King has published and I will say this... While this wasn't "The Stand" or "The Gun slinger series" It was a good read. I read him for entertainment purposes and he didn't disappoint me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Stuff!

    Really enjoyed this book. It's a departure from his standard horror tales and is closer to The Stand. There is a certain amount of predicatability to the story, but not enough to take away from the story. Not entirely satisfied with the ending, but getting to it was worth the ride. Behind The Stand, this is one of his best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    Same Ole, Same Ole, But All in All, Still Mighty Fine!

    Recognizing that "Under the Dome" could be based on any number of prior story lines, still, I just love the way King writes! The subtleties under the over-the-top blare keep me on my toes, and I read carefully because I'd hate to miss something that I'd like to think about. When I saw the cast of characters, not to mention the epic length, I almost passed on the purchase. But remembering "The Stand," I gave it a go, and I'm glad I did. While some of King's more recent books have left me yawning, this one showcases his talent at getting to the very bottom of human nature. Not overly frightening with regard to supernatural elements, but utterly dreadful in the exposure of real evil - the dark hearts of men. Great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not bad

    most of his book are pretty good. This ones not bad

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2014

    Under the dome is a big book.  Yes it has a lot of pages but tha

    Under the dome is a big book.  Yes it has a lot of pages but that’s not what I mean. For an entire story which takes place in one small town which is self-contained it has an enormous amount of characters.  Even the ones which are just mentioned in passing help transport the reader into this little Maine town. 




    The story does a good job of mixing action and plot development and which keeps the reader looking for more.  The likable characters are easy to connect with, even if they have their faults.  Overall it was a bit wordy but worth a read for the King fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2014

    Book beats the tv show

    Meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1086 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 55