BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Under the Influence: A Guide to the Myths and Realities of Alcoholism

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    A Lifesaving Classic

    Author James Milam has repeatedly explained in his other writings and in hundreds of public lectures on addiction that important new discoveries like his own often come in the form of a new gestalt, a new configuration. His book, Under the Influence (UI), is a revolutionary classic because it winnows the wheat from the abundant chaff of the alcoholism literature to reveal just such a clear perception of the whole truth and nothing but the truth. Faithfully grounded in hard scientific and clinical evidence, the text has the unmistakable ring of authenticity. As a timeless classic it will always stand alone without need for revision, update or sequel Readers need to know that all other books claiming to be updates or sequels still express the more popular establishment view that psychosocial inadequacies and excesses are contributing causes of alcoholism that alcoholism is merely the upper end of the range of self-inflicted problem drinking. Plausible because popular, this seemingly innocent common presumption is the direct opposite of the truth that defines UI. Readers of UI who have an alcohol or drug problem, along with the others inevitably caught up in their misery, soon realize that this extraordinary little book is uncannily all about them. As they resonate with this self-portrait they know with certainty that it provides the authentic liberating view of their affliction that they have so urgently needed. It replaces stigma and guilt with enlightened self-interest as the far more effective motivation for total abstinence. Multitudes of alcoholics and other drug addicts have already demonstrated that it uniquely provides a clear understanding and unwavering guide to full recovery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2014

    It all makes sense

    Very interesting theory on alcoholism and the root cause. Every person with the disease should read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Most read for those in recovery!

    As a person afflicted with alcoholism in recovery this book was very enlightening. Detailing how alcohol effects the body and mind at the cellular level. How the disease is hereditary, not causeed by a weakness of character

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Alcoholism info

    This book gives a thorough discussion of the physiological aspects of the disease of alcoholism. Excellent info.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Very informative

    Very insightful account about the physiological, not psychological causes of alcoholism. Although 30 years old, "Under the Influence" is a very informative read. It emphasizes that alcoholism is a disease, not a personality flaw. I highly recommend it to anyone who desires enlightenment in this disease. John B.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Full of Great information, easily understandable!

    This book is by far the most in-depth I've read on alcoholism, and what it does to the body and personality of the drinker. I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    A must read

    This book is a must read if you suffer you or someone you care about have a drinking problem. It really makes you understand how and why people become addicted and how the addiction has control over the person. I have learned so much from this book and can better understand the phases and reality of alcoholism. It makes you see the addiction from the inside out. What it does to our cells and the adaptation process. How our bodies will build a tolerence and then eventually break down. I bought this book after I read a review on another book and they recommended this one instead. I am so glad I read the review or I would have never known this book was out there. I am going to buy more copies so I can help and educate people I care about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    I found this book to be very informative and easy to read and understand. It opened my eyes to many myths and answered many questions I had. I was very surprised at the results of much of the research the author put into writing this book.

    I have never understood why people over indulged in alcohol. I figured they could stop any time with the proper treatment. This book explained why this is not true. It is not always under their control. A real eye opener.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    powerful book

    I was amazed after reading this book. It is very thorough. It explains how alcohol affects the human body and its consequences. My hat goes off to the author for writing this powerful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    Groundbreaking Book on Alcoholism

    A must-read for everyone. Brings clarity to a sea of confusion. Provides hope, direction, answers. Makes alcoholism understandable. This book essentially changed my life. This book should be the standard for all prevention and treatment programs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2007

    THE VERY BEST

    I ADORE THIS BOOK . This book healed my heart,broken over my father's[Richard] abuse and death in/by alcohol. The authors give the science on the physiological causes of alcohol abuse and lose of life and hope. I recommend it to ALL so everyone can understand. We all need to understand. I will continue to buy give and support this book. I have been sober 21 years. This is my all time favorite. It heals and assists Claire

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2005

    lost my husband to alcoholism

    I am a sad woman, whom has lost her husband to alcoholism. A dear and recovered alcoholic has passed this wonderful book onto me. If every drinker would read it and learn from it, we could have a much more loving world. It still amazes me that drinking is legal.I have lost the best friend in the world to this disease.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2003

    This book saved my life

    Before reading this book I was still a proud drinker,believing my incredible tolerance for drinking alcohol proved I would never get in trouble with my drinking.This books leaves a drunk with little doubt how destructive and DECIEVING tolerance really is!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2003

    Despinoz, CAARR Cordinator for Fresno

    This publication is timeless in it's value and information. As a certified drug and alcohol addiction specialist and trainer, this is required reading for all students who attend the CAARR Institute and for those who are just interested in increasing their knowledge base. It plainly details the early, middle and late stages of the progression of alcoholism and its biopsychosocial effects. A must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2001

    something to hang onto for facts

    As a registered nurse that has worked adolescent psych and drug and alcohol recovery (along with watching loved ones die from the disease of alcoholism) I am so glad to have been given this book from a friend. It gives tremendous support for the need for treatment and improved education. This book is full of information that helps keep the loved one in your heart. Medical facts make it clear this is not about character defect but truly a disease on a physiological level.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2000

    Alcoholism Is A Disease, Not A Character Flaw...Here Are The Facts.

    In very plain language, the authors lay out in this excellent learning tool the technical basis underlying the known fact that alcoholism is a physiological disease, a demonstrably physical phenomenon. Simultaneously, they demolish the longstanding and widespread myth that alcoholism evolves from a moral aberration, a character flaw, an odd defect in personality, or some elusive psychological shortcoming that requires the artful remedies conjured up by organized religion, or the psychological wing of the medical profession, or the prescription drug industry, or the punitive-oriented judicial system. That such a ridiculous myth is still widespread even in today¿s consciousness-raised society underlies the need for even MORE people to read this book and learn it¿s powerful message. A loving relative would never treat a diabetic by squeezing them through such a medieval moral wringer as many alcoholics must endure today. This book offers better options for proper understanding and effective treatment of an afflicted loved one. It should not be missed by anyone seeking his or her own recovery, or that of a loved one, from the disease of alcoholism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2