Customer Reviews for

Under the Jolly Roger: Being an Account of the Further Nautical Adventures of Jacky Faber

Average Rating 4.5
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted February 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Insane!

    Read the series NOW! Amazing books! True literary pieces of artwork!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It hits me with the force of a blow. I am maybe fifteen years old. I am a girl. I am also an acting lieutenant in the Royal Navy and by as regards the chain of command, I am in command of the Majesty's Ship Wolverine.

    Continues where Curse of the Blue Tattoo left off where we have Jacky going to see Jaimy first at his house but is greeted unkindly by his mother and later is shocked to find Jaimy with another woman. It isn't what it looks like cause before Jaimy can explain, Jacky runs away finding herself kidnapped and is sent on a ship the Wolverine thanks to her disguise hence being mistaken as a boy. On the ship she reveals herself to being a girl but the captain still doesn't let her go. Now Jacky's on her own but while on the ship she remembers what she had learned on the Dolphin and gets some of the crew to her side while staying as far away from the captain as possible. This got to be one of the best in the series so far. It shows that Jacky has come along way from a girl on the streets to a sailor. The ending leaves you at a cliffhanger, onto book 4.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I love this book!!!

    This book is my favorite one out of all of them! Something about this book just awakened the little pirate in me! My favorite character (besides Jacky) was definitely Joseph Jared. I hope Jacky will meet up with him again in at least one of the other books, 'cause i never really did like Jaimy that much.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2008

    Wow~

    This one is my favorite so far in this series. I've read up to Mississippi Jack, the fifth one. Maybe the sixth one, My Bonny Light Horseman, will be better. This is a great book. No, I think this and the fifth one are both my favorites.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2008

    best book

    the books mainly about jacky's capture and escape from hms wolverine and her piratical life aboard the Emerald. I think this book is an outstanding thriller and awsome account of jacky's adventures

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2008

    A reviewer

    After fleeing from the burning town of Boston, Jacky has returned to England. As we all know, Jacky's a magnet for trouble, and she gets put on the vile ship Wolverine. But when things get out of hand, it's time for Captain Faber to take over. In this action-packed installment of the Bloody Jack series, you won't put the book down for a second. Romance, adventure, betrayal, and pirates are abundant is this incredible story. Personally, (aside from Bloody Jack) this is my favorite book in the series. Jacky is truly in her element...but who knows how long she can stay there before she gets caught yet again?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    Quality Reading for Young Adult through Senior Citizen

    Under the Jolly Roger was the third in the series of the adventures of Jacky Faber, authored by L.A.Meyer. I'm looking forward to reading the remaining books in Mr.Meyer's series. Although these books are recommended for young adults, as a 'senior citizen', I have been pleasantly pleased with the three books I have read in this series. I enjoy historical fiction, and learned much about sailing in Europe in the early 1800's. The author certainly imparts a good sense of humor in his main character, Jacky Faber. As long as Mr. Meyer continues writing new novels in this series, I will definitely continue reading these delightful adventures of Jacky Faber.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Fun

    I don't even like Jacky, and I love this series. This baffles me. To me, she seems to bounce between clever and wild to proud and cocky to just plain whiny, from a sexy vixen to an innocent virgen. Still, I crazedly devour book after book, following her adventures and escapades. It's crazy how historically accurate these are, too. Also, I read the first expecting a piraty tween novel and was shocked and scandelized by how raunchy it seemed. For sexy content, I'd say this book isn't for anyone younger than 15.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    I WANT MORE!!!

    I love all of L. A. Meyer's books. I mean, he's so amazing that none of these reviews hated any of the books they've read in the series! So far I've read Viva Jacquelina three times, My Bonnie Light Horseman four times (I think), Bloody Jack once, Mississippi Jack once, and only the sample of Under the Jolly Roger on my NOOK. I own the first three books I listed. P.S. This is to the person who wrote Yo Ho Ho: Did you get that Yo Ho Ho thing from Pirates of the Carribean? That's how I got it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Really great

    Yep

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    A good read and I highly recommend.

    I love Mary, the Bloody Jack. She's quirky and gutsy and her devil-may-care personality gets her into trouble more often than not. I bought the first book and was so drawn by her character and adventures, I had to read the rest of them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Its a great book

    I like this book and i dont like age of innocence. Thanks caroline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another worthy adventure

    This is the third book in the series and although they are a bit the same, they are also a bit different. Jacky develops more and further reflects on how she gets into trouble and how she gets out. She continues to win the hearts of her adversaries despite her beaking all the rules, mostly by just being female. The story continues to be a good story and it is very hard to put the books down. Highly recommnended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    WHY!?

    Why isnt this on eBook! I got #1 and #2 on ebook and wanted to get the entire series on ebook but they arnt all available?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    I love this series these are amazing books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    Great Book, its a fantastic read

    this is a book that i think any one would like, it has its mix of adventure, drama, and more. it has a great story line and is an easy read. I would highly recomend this book to any one needing a book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Follow up to "Curse of the Blue Tattoo". It made me want to read more and more!

    Under the Jolly Rodger is another exciting book that L.A. Meyer has written. It has "betrayal", unthinkable schemes, action, piracy, love..... And what Jacky should have written on her forehead.TROUBLE. She leaves on a whaling ship with Boston burning behind her. She enters London to find her beloved Jaimy, but before she does she finds an old friend. Although when she does find him he's "with" another, and that leads her to trouble.

    Jacky has to stop a mad man, be an actress,and lead her way to the noose.
    Along the way she finds another, and boy oh boy does that make James E. Fletcher angry. But as always they find each other and are once again in love.....

    But don't let me tell you the whole story, read it for yourself. But DO NOT FORGET TO ENJOY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2009

    Jacky Faber Can't Be Stopped

    Louis Mayer has done it again. I find myself reading the Bloody Jack series books in a matter of days. I lose all track of time for I do not want to leave Jacky for one moment. The story line is so adventurous and dramatic you fell like part of the crew. SET COURSE for another winning book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pirates of the Caribbean? Who cares!!

    The Bloody Jack Adventures are truly the best books I have ever read. For LA Meyer never to write before, this is a true feat. His combonation of thrilling careers possibly makes this it. I hope he writes them for many more years, for they are truly something to cherish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2008

    best one in the series!!!!!!!

    this is definately one of the best ones in the series. it doesnt bore u at all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6