Customer Reviews for

Under the Never Sky (Enhanced Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 449 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(313)

4 Star

(98)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

5 STARS

Under The Never Sky is the BEST opener to the coming New Year!! It renders you speechless in how great it is! I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!
Right from the very first pages you will know that you would have to cancel your daily chores and activities and cuddle up to this book. B...
Under The Never Sky is the BEST opener to the coming New Year!! It renders you speechless in how great it is! I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!
Right from the very first pages you will know that you would have to cancel your daily chores and activities and cuddle up to this book. Because it will grab your attention from start to finish! Expect sleepless nights!
Aria is a character that you can easily find yourself wanting to be friends with. At first you'd think she's nothing more than a sheltered brat wanting her mother, but as she goes through her journey to seek the truth and in finding her mom she tremendously matures right before your eyes.
I enjoyed that in the beginning Perry was repulsed by Aria; not only in her actions but by her smell. That was hilarious when I first read it. It's great when the leading male doesn't fall for the leading gal right away. I also loved how blunt Perry was with his words even though he doesn't say much. He never held back in fear of hurting her feelings, and Aria would just take it without sulking.
The story is told in the point of views of Aria and Perry. They go hand in hand in telling their part in their journey. Never missing a step from each other and not having you skip a beat on what's going on. Veronica Rossi has done a fine job in getting you in the mindset of 'Under The Never Sky'. I cried when it came to it, and I screamed at characters I wanted beaten. The descriptions of the 'PODS', Aether, surroundings, and just everything wasn't lacking or overly done. There was balance, and I guess that's what made me enjoy the story a lot.
The ending is such a TEASE!! When I got to the last page my heart sunk. I can't believe it is just coming into release! I don't know how I can hold over till Book #2 =)
Under The Never Sky by Veronica Rossi is a MUST READ DEBUT!! A definite 2012 favorite!!

posted by AcesMommy on January 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Science fiction meets dystopian

Combining science fiction with hints of dystopian ideas, Under the Never Sky is a fresh story that, after my recent luck with sci-fi titles, I was looking forward to reading. For me, however, this book did not live up to its hype.

Aria has spent her life in the Rever...
Combining science fiction with hints of dystopian ideas, Under the Never Sky is a fresh story that, after my recent luck with sci-fi titles, I was looking forward to reading. For me, however, this book did not live up to its hype.

Aria has spent her life in the Reverie Pod, hanging out with her friends in virtual Realms through her Smarteye. But after an adventure gone wrong in a rundown part of the Pod, Aria is cast out into the Death Shop and left there on her own, without a Smarteye. Fortunately, she runs into Perry, an Outsider who is facing his own struggles. Despite the fact that Aria is a Dweller and Perry is an Outsider, it turns out that they have much in common. Both were blamed for something that wasn't their fault, and both have to embark on a journey to try and make everything right again. Together they travel across the Death Shop and make some surprising discoveries about each other and themselves along the way.

It took me a while to get into this book and even longer to care about the main characters. I felt as though Aria's home world, the pod of Reverie, was not well established before Aria was forced to leave it. Similarly, though Perry's world is easier to grasp, I wanted more detail here as well. However, I could have overlooked this, because over the course of the book more is eventually revealed. What bothered me the most throughout this story was the lack of connection with the characters - both my connection as a reader and also Aria and Perry's connection with each other. For a time there was so little dialogue between them that it was very hard for me to appreciate where these two characters ended up. With that, although both Aria and Perry are (or try to be) genuinely good people, for some reason they just didn't seem quite real to me.

All of that being said, there were things about this book that I did like. The story was very inventive and it was very interesting to see such different worlds coexisting and colliding. Also, I enjoyed the alternating points of view between Aria and Perry. There were moments of beautiful writing and some issues that were raised in the book that made me think. Despite my issues with this book, I do plan to read the next installment in the trilogy; I think it will be easier to connect to the second book now that I have more background, and I want to see where Rossi takes this story.

I know that other bloggers have absolutely loved this book, and so I will leave you with their reviews to give you different opinions: See these reviews from Parajunkee and Mundie Moms.

posted by BookPortrait on February 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 449 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 23
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Omg AWESOME

    I could not put this book down!!!!!! I spent 9:00-3:00 last night and morning readin it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book with fantastic story line. Kept me entertained

    Great book with fantastic story line. Kept me entertained

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It was ok

    I guess I am having a hard time finding a book to keep me up at night like the Hunger Games did. I am sick of Twlight like books and now everyone is jumping on the same formatt from the Hunger Games series. I am ready for some good old fashion never put down keep reading book.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Powerful Story

    With all of the dystopian, post-apocalyptic literature I've been reading lately, I was beginning to think the stories were all blending together. I was starting to think that the genre may be coming to it's fill-line. Then Under the Never Sky comes along and rocks my world.

    Peregrine and Aria are two of the most interesting characters I have read so far this year. Peregrine alone had many layers to his personality, all of them interesting. Aria is so brave and able to overcome what is thrown at her, from information to fights. Perry is a strong male with a very sensitive side. Won't give away too much, but I found myself really enjoying the tribal aspect to the Outside world. The Aether storms kind of felt like a minor character themselves, too. It's both scary and neat to think of weather that is so unlike our own.

    Veronica Rossi's choice to alternate chapters between the two was brilliant. It gives the reader ample time to be inside both Perry an Aria's heads. This was particularly good for me, as both character were suffering from fish-out-of-water syndrome and to see the new land through their eyes was breath-taking and shocking. There was the perfect balance between down time and action scenes. I must say that while I was enjoying the way this story was wrapping up at the end, it also left a huge question to answer in the next one! Must read the next book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Amazing read

    One of my favorite dystopian books... its very different from the other znd rossi is definately a super creative writer. She is amazing at making you see what she is writing and be apart of it. I highly recommend this book if ur a fan of any dystopian novels

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Riveting I had the chance to read this novel before going to the

    Riveting
    I had the chance to read this novel before going to the event and I must say I enjoyed it. I am not much of a dystopian reader though I have enjoyed many titles such as the Juliette Chronicles, The Hunger Games Trilogy and The Maze Runner Trilogy.
    Under the Never Sky is a fascinating read. Technology such as the Smarteye is something that many have dreamed of. It’s like Google Glass, but more efficient. Living in the world of Reverie for Aria, I wouldn’t mind doing so. The idea of living in a false realm kind of excites me but also makes me question whether in our fast paced world, we would end up having this idea of false worlds become a reality and it could either be beneficial or a total scare. One thing that is most interesting about this novel is the ability of some of the characters to have heightened senses. For example, Seers can see farther and clearer at night, Auds can hear the most inaudible of sounds and even listen to your thoughts once physical contact has been initiated and then there are Scires, who can smell scents like animals and even smell emotion and tempers of a person. Only those in the Tides or outside of Reverie can genetically have this ability. It must be awesome to have a certain ability such as those living in the Tides. And Perry is lucky to have two of these abilities. Makes me envy a character with a passion. HAHA.
    There is a way in which Veronica Rossi is able to convey certain intricacies in the novel without making it too difficult to comprehend. There are some novels that are way too taxing to read because there are words that are way too difficult to understand or metaphors and the likes are way too much. But with Veronica’s work, I didn’t find much complexity like I thought I would which made me enjoy this novel very much.
    What I would’ve wanted out of the first novel is a better introduction to supporting characters like Roar or Liv, but I guess that’s because it’s a trilogy and I would still need to read the rest of it before I can truly say something. But still, I would’ve enjoyed knowing more about Roar or Aria’s mother in the first novel. By the way, Roar is like a piece of Kenji that I can’t quite get a grip of myself when reading the parts with him in it. For sure, there is more to look forward to in the two other novels and I couldn’t wait to invest in those other two novels.
    Read the Under The Never Sky Trilogy and get sucked in into the wonderful world of Aether storms, intriguing characters and places that the novels have to offer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic dystopian romance! I first read this book a few years

    Fantastic dystopian romance!

    I first read this book a few years ago right after it released and quickly fell in love with the story. I love a good post apocalyptic read and after I devoured The Hunger Games I wanted more of these kinds of stories. Perry and Aria have one of the most beautiful stories and remain one of my favorite book couples to this day.




    After being thrown out of the only home she's known Aria is left in the "Death Shop" with nothing but the medical suit she was wearing before she left. If it wasn't for Perry finding her when he did Aria wouldn't have survived at all. They make a pact to help each other, Aria to help Perry find his nephew Talon who was taken by pod dwellers like her and Aria needs to find Bliss and discover what happened to her mother. On their journey they fight off cannibals, wolves and the ever present Aether storms that produce funnels of fire that destroy anything in their path.




    Aria may have lived her entire life in an enclosed space with no survival instinct but she grows into a fierce little woman. Not once did she lay down and give up even after the devastating news of finding out her father was an outsider. everything she thought she knew was a lie and despite having every reason to just stop, she thrived instead. She doesn't care too much for Perry at first due to her preconceived prejudice for anyone who lives on the outside but I loved watching her opinion of him slowly change the longer she spent with him. Perry is one of my favorite book guys. In fact I think he may be at the top of my list. He's saved Aria's life several times despite his hatred for "Dwellers" after his nephew Talon was kidnapped by them. Perry isn't a showy guy. He's more the strong silent type, a real rugged woodsy kind of guy and I think that's why I loved him so much. His backstory was really sad and just added another layer to him that made me love him that much more.








    The relationship between Perry and Aria was almost like a Tarzan meets Jane sort of union. Opposites usually attract and you can't get more opposite than these two. It's a gradual attraction between them that sizzles throughout as you experience the live changing moments that bring them together. The characters that they come across throughout the story are great additions that added different aspects to the story. Perry's best friend Roar brought humor and another friendship as he bonded with Aria I loved. Marron who has his own compound that Perry and Aria stay in to recover from the elements and the little Aether boy Cinder was my favorite secondary character. He's not a likable person at first being a starving and angry little boy but he warms up to everyone after a while and stole my heart.




    Rossi brings to life a magically damaged world with amazing characters that really painted a beautiful picture with her writing style. Everything was vivid and described in a way that came alive inside my head and I love that. One of the most beautiful things about the story beside the growing romance between Aria and Perry was the Aether itself. It almost became another character with it's ever presence. The concept of how the earth was destroyed by a solar flare and left the world floundering with this super gassy sky but still able to sustain life was awe inspiring. It makes me glad that I don't use hairspray anymore with all those CFC's warnings about a depleted Ozone. I'm so glad I gave this another read because I fell in love all over again and refreshed my memory for what's to come in the next books. It may be a Young Adult story but it's highly enjoyable for readers of all ages. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    LOVED this series! Finally a heroine who is strong and smart AND

    LOVED this series! Finally a heroine who is strong and smart AND actually has feelings and develops relationships

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Anonymous

    I Loved this series. Couldn't put them down. Would love to see these made into movies!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Awesome!!

    Kept me turning the page. There were a few unexpected twists that will have you gasping for breath.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi is the first book of her t

    Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi is the first book of her three book (so far) Under the Never Sky series. It's dystopian setting is two worlds, one in secluded domes where everyone lives through virtual realms and they can do just about anything that can be imagined, the second world is outside exposed to the elements including violent storms.

    The story is told alternately through Aria and Perry. They come from different worlds, but slowly build a trusting relationship. They realize they each have the same goal of finding loved ones and need each other to make that happen. I appreciated the fact that it wasn't love at first sight, they had to work together and learn about each other for the caring to develop.

    If you're a sci-fi geek, don't expect the technology and realms of Reverie to be explained in depth. It's not, but really isn't needed to fill out the storyline.

    Rossi has built a great dystopian world in Under the Never Sky. The characters are believable and the plot is intriguing and paced well. I'm looking forward to reading the whole series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Rider

    *smiles*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Sky

    *look down*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Awss

    Lolifkgjfbhhb. Hfjwhjiggyc fhfhfjrgyefhdhdjfg yrud. Bnbnn. Htfbbbvv. Ngfvvkoppirwv. E

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Amazing book; loved it!

    Did not expect it, but this book was AWESOME. Can't wait to read the next two!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Perfect love story

    This book was an amazing adventure story but without the romance i think it would just be okay. But this book romance and all is the best book i have ever read

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    To grassclan at glass crystal

    Hi my name is Flowerpelt i am a brown she-cat with green eyes i am loyal,kind and i will love iny one who will love me back.please let me know.Thank You.:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Hi

    Hi this is Sky. I am a sky-blue Night Fury with dark green eyes. You can talk to me here.

    Sky the dragon

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    One of my favorites.

    I absolutely loved this book. I would definitely reccommend it if you enjoy reality with a little twist.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Wow

    This book was beautiful, that's the best word I have to describe it. The details and descriptions of people andthings in the post apocalyptic world are carefully chosen and wonderfully exact, really beautiful. The beginning of this book was a little confusing, kind of like reading a Scott Westerfeld novel, but once you get used to the new slang that the author made up for her world it fits and doesn't feel so "skitty" (see what I did there? You will when you read the book.)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 449 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 23