BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 480 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(327)

4 Star

(109)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

5 STARS

Under The Never Sky is the BEST opener to the coming New Year!! It renders you speechless in how great it is! I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!
Right from the very first pages you will know that you would have to cancel your daily chores and activities and cuddle up to this book. B...
Under The Never Sky is the BEST opener to the coming New Year!! It renders you speechless in how great it is! I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!
Right from the very first pages you will know that you would have to cancel your daily chores and activities and cuddle up to this book. Because it will grab your attention from start to finish! Expect sleepless nights!
Aria is a character that you can easily find yourself wanting to be friends with. At first you'd think she's nothing more than a sheltered brat wanting her mother, but as she goes through her journey to seek the truth and in finding her mom she tremendously matures right before your eyes.
I enjoyed that in the beginning Perry was repulsed by Aria; not only in her actions but by her smell. That was hilarious when I first read it. It's great when the leading male doesn't fall for the leading gal right away. I also loved how blunt Perry was with his words even though he doesn't say much. He never held back in fear of hurting her feelings, and Aria would just take it without sulking.
The story is told in the point of views of Aria and Perry. They go hand in hand in telling their part in their journey. Never missing a step from each other and not having you skip a beat on what's going on. Veronica Rossi has done a fine job in getting you in the mindset of 'Under The Never Sky'. I cried when it came to it, and I screamed at characters I wanted beaten. The descriptions of the 'PODS', Aether, surroundings, and just everything wasn't lacking or overly done. There was balance, and I guess that's what made me enjoy the story a lot.
The ending is such a TEASE!! When I got to the last page my heart sunk. I can't believe it is just coming into release! I don't know how I can hold over till Book #2 =)
Under The Never Sky by Veronica Rossi is a MUST READ DEBUT!! A definite 2012 favorite!!

posted by AcesMommy on January 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Science fiction meets dystopian

Combining science fiction with hints of dystopian ideas, Under the Never Sky is a fresh story that, after my recent luck with sci-fi titles, I was looking forward to reading. For me, however, this book did not live up to its hype.

Aria has spent her life in the Rever...
Combining science fiction with hints of dystopian ideas, Under the Never Sky is a fresh story that, after my recent luck with sci-fi titles, I was looking forward to reading. For me, however, this book did not live up to its hype.

Aria has spent her life in the Reverie Pod, hanging out with her friends in virtual Realms through her Smarteye. But after an adventure gone wrong in a rundown part of the Pod, Aria is cast out into the Death Shop and left there on her own, without a Smarteye. Fortunately, she runs into Perry, an Outsider who is facing his own struggles. Despite the fact that Aria is a Dweller and Perry is an Outsider, it turns out that they have much in common. Both were blamed for something that wasn't their fault, and both have to embark on a journey to try and make everything right again. Together they travel across the Death Shop and make some surprising discoveries about each other and themselves along the way.

It took me a while to get into this book and even longer to care about the main characters. I felt as though Aria's home world, the pod of Reverie, was not well established before Aria was forced to leave it. Similarly, though Perry's world is easier to grasp, I wanted more detail here as well. However, I could have overlooked this, because over the course of the book more is eventually revealed. What bothered me the most throughout this story was the lack of connection with the characters - both my connection as a reader and also Aria and Perry's connection with each other. For a time there was so little dialogue between them that it was very hard for me to appreciate where these two characters ended up. With that, although both Aria and Perry are (or try to be) genuinely good people, for some reason they just didn't seem quite real to me.

All of that being said, there were things about this book that I did like. The story was very inventive and it was very interesting to see such different worlds coexisting and colliding. Also, I enjoyed the alternating points of view between Aria and Perry. There were moments of beautiful writing and some issues that were raised in the book that made me think. Despite my issues with this book, I do plan to read the next installment in the trilogy; I think it will be easier to connect to the second book now that I have more background, and I want to see where Rossi takes this story.

I know that other bloggers have absolutely loved this book, and so I will leave you with their reviews to give you different opinions: See these reviews from Parajunkee and Mundie Moms.

posted by BookPortrait on February 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    This book was a tough read. Rossi dunks us straight into a post-

    This book was a tough read. Rossi dunks us straight into a post-apocalyptic world where a percentage of the population burrows underground in pods and the remaining struggle to survive above ground with cannibals and killer lightening storms running amok. With a dash of starcrossed-esque lovers, action on the gory side, and a vividly dangerous world where everything including the weather is out to get you, I can see how readers would easily get caught up in this story. After a while I certainly reached enthrallment, but it was a long dusty road of confusion along the way. 




    Under the Never Sky is narrated through the dual POVS of Aria and Perry, two teenagers from distinctly different worlds. Aria’s kind, as Perry refers to as “moles” are the ones I previously mentioned live in undergrounds pods. The pod society is organized and compact. Advances in science have sustained the population, elevated the life expectancy and created virtual realities that imitate the look, sound, and feel of any recreational activity you can think of. Perry’s society is less rule-driven and more traditional. Although there’s not a clear indication or distinction between the two, at times it seems like mysticism takes precedent over technology. In Perry’s world food is scarce, violence is imminent and everyone is expected to pull their own weight. Struggling with their society’s limitations, including innate prejudice between the two ways of life, Aria and Perry’s initial meeting(s) result in an eye-opening, meaningful, and life-altering journey that puts their strength of mind, body and soul to the ultimate tests.




    Although by the last page I was captivated with Under the Never Sky it doesn’t erase the fact that I struggled so much in the beginning. We’re introduced to an alien world and society that took too long to make sense. I spent a good chunk of the book disconnected because there were words and expressions I didn’t understand. The violent component of the “Never Sky” was called Aether, a term that I’d never heard of before. At first I couldn’t tell if it was Rossi’s creativity at work, or just my lack of scientific knowledge. I didn’t want an information overload but I did feel like we needed the explanations closer to the beginning. Until I started to grasp how Aria and Perry’s world worked, I couldn’t fully immerse myself in the story. Luckily midway through the details came and my ability to follow the story became easier.




    I story also rolled out too slow for my taste. Aria and Perry’s POV switch-off begins right away and then it’s about another 80 pages before their paths actually converge. It could have been the promised epic love story that I was waiting for, but Aria and Perry’s separate lives just didn’t interest me much. Until they meet, the plot doesn’t really start churning. Their pre-journey lives merely felt like a platform for the adventure and excitement to come.




    Overall I did enjoy Under the Never Sky. It’s one of those books that you have to give at least a 100 pages for its magic to work. It’s also one of those series where I can easily see book two skyrocketing. The quips I had with Under the Never Sky won’t even exist so if the rest of the formula stays the same I predict I’ll be giving Through the Ever Night a 4+ stake rating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2014

    A bit confusing

    Complex to the point of confusing at times. Still interesting. B-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2014

    Eh

    Not really engaging and far too dry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2014

    Before I begin the review, I have an embarrassing confession abo

    Before I begin the review, I have an embarrassing confession about a misconception I formed at the beginning of the book.  Between the cover and the multiple mentions of Perry being shirtless and in leather pants, it became set in my mind that I was somehow reading a Harlequin Romance fantasy.  Obviously, this was wrong, but nevertheless I breathed a sigh of relief once he finally put on a shirt and things got going in earnest.

    The reason for the three instead of four stars in my rating is the fact that it took me a full third of the book to really get into it.  Being a fan of how the worlds are built in dystopian novels, I found this one lacking.  There was very little to go on at the beginning, and while this may be intentional, it made me apathetic to what happened to them one way or the other.

    That being said, once the two main characters were together, things picked up quickly.  The world and characters become more than one-dimensional and I began to care what happened to them and everyone else.  Perry and Aria are both very interesting and complex, and the ultimate love story evolved beautifully.  It was nice to see a book lacking a love triangle and keeping the complications to what they were going through, as opposed to which boy Aria should kiss.

    In the end, I was so drawn into their world that I immediately ordered the next in the series and expect I will not have the difficulty getting into it that I had with this one.  If you find yourself wanting to give up at the beginning, I encourage you stick with it.  It’s worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Umm

    Well its not that id call this a bad book its just not my cup of tea. There was no charcter development,its not a bad book I just didn't like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    APAGAPQqpqeqasaqadarqeq

    Wqqqtqt
    Alqp
    Qpqaqalqr qp

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Good book after you read the first chapters

    The beginning was slow, but when I almost gave up, the story became interesting. I couldn't set the book down. I wonder what Aria and Perry will do now?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    January

    Under the Never Sky is one of those books that I kept seeing pop up and always debated on reading. I love dystopian novels and have read a fair number of them these past few years. For whatever reason, I kept skipping by this one. At the urging of a few blogger buddies, I finally picked it up and I will admit ~ I'm glad I did.

    One of the things I love about a good dystopia book is seeing the author's view on how our world ends and why it becomes what it does. I found Under the Never Sky a bit lacking in that department. The world as we know it ends because of the massive aether storms. I don't even know what aether is. It reads like some sort of super lightening, scorching everything it comes in contact with to mere ash. Nothing will ever grow where the aether hits. I googled the word and on Wikipedia it is described as this: the material that fills the region of the universe above the terrestrial sphere or the personification of the "upper sky", space and heaven, in Greek mythology. Perhaps I am a little slow on the uptake but I need further explanation on how this brakes through our atmosphere and basically decimates our world. I do like the idea, I just want it explained more.

    Another element of the book that bothered me were the names. Aria is a good name in itself. But she sings, so it annoyed me. When it explained that future parents are able to order up their children's abilities like a value meal menu at a fast food joint...I thought ~ oh, Mom wanted a singer, of course she would give her a singers name. Without giving away too much, later in the book this idea no longer worked for me and the name annoyed me again. That wasn't the only annoying name. There were also names like Paisley, Lumina, Bane, Echo and Roar to name just some. Most I was able to get over, some not so much.

    I've now told you about some of the items that caused me to deduct points. Now, let me tell you what I liked.

    The concept of Reverie, the bubble that Aria lives in, is quite unique. I can't say I totally understand how it all works and there were moments were I was really confused. Again, perhaps I am just slow. But overall, I liked the idea of living in what is essentially virtual reality. Seeing and experiencing life through 'smarteye' technology that can transport you into any type of world you want to be in. Genetic modification to keep you disease free, to mold you into whatever you want to be, all within the safe confines of a protected pod is a very interesting take.

    The story really picks up when Aria is kicked out of her pod and she starts a long journey with a reluctant stranger and outlander, Peregrine. They are both in search of what they hold most dear in life and each blame the other for their great loss.

    Working together is difficult at the start. Aria is so far removed from the outside world and reality that she questions everything, needs to learn everything. She is more like a toddler than a young woman when knowing how to survive outside of the pod. She is an interesting character but lacks her own true persona until much later on in the book. I enjoyed reading her coming-of-age type journey.

    Perry on the other hand is a strong character from the start. You immediately get a feel for who he is, what he stands for and what he is willing to fight and kill for. I really like Perry, I think he is a great blend of modern day tough-guy with some almost neanderthal elements.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    ?

    How old should i be to read this? If you are answering me please put answer as your headline. Thanks!

    -LeLe

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    HORRIBLE ending but...

    The book over all was pretty good although i didbt think aria was avery good/smart caracter. The book couldve explained more about the main caracters' past. The nding was really abrupt an it should/couldve said more. I really hope therebis a sequal becaus otherwise it would leave ALOT of questions unanswered. I probably wpuld not reccomend this but u can gve it a tru and see what u think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    unexpected blend of science fiction and fantasy complete with a Dystopian setting.

    Aria has lived most of her life in the Realms, a virtual environment designed to offer every comfort and luxury with just a thought. No pain, no fear. Just fun. Why waste time in the real world when the Realms are so much better than real?

    All of that changes when her mother goes missing. Soon after, Aria's world changes forever. Exiled from her comfortable home, Aria is thrown into the wilderness with little hope of survival--the outside world is called the Death Shop for a reason.

    When Peregrine, an Outsider, finds Aria wandering in the desert he knows she will be nothing but trouble and he certainly already has his share. But somehow Aria is also his only hope of atoning for the horrible mistakes he's made.

    Aria is less than thrilled to be working with a Savage. Perry has little use for a pampered Mole. But if either of them ever want to get home this unlikely pair will have to work together--an alliance that will change everything in Under the Never Sky (2012) by Veronica Rossi.

    Under the Never Sky is Rossi's first novel. It is also the first in a trilogy.

    This book is an unexpected blend of science fiction and fantasy complete with a Dystopian setting.* These elements do not always blend well, particularly in the beginning when the main characters are separated. Told in chapters alternating between Aria and Perry's points of view, the story picks up when the characters meet and the disparate elements (and storylines) have a chance to gel.

    Perry and Aria similarly come into their own as the novel progresses as they move from less-interesting, naive characters to more fully developed protagonists. The romantic aspect of the story also moves along a natural progression and is quite fun to follow.

    Rossi creates an interesting world with some unique elements but little explanation in the way of world building or history.** A lot of ideas or events are referenced but little to no explanation is given. Similarly characters are mentioned, repeatedly, over the course of the story only to have literally no role in the story.*** That said, what is presented in Under the Never Sky is an original premise that will appeal to readers or pure fantasy and straight science fiction alike.

    *I say unexpected because the jacket copy makes no mention of the "Realms" aspect of the world making the story read more like straight fantasy when really there are a lot of science fiction elements as well.

    **Being a trilogy perhaps this information will eventually come together in bits and pieces throughout the series.

    ***Will they turn up in book two or three? Time will tell.

    Possible Pairings: Brightly Woven by Alexandra Bracken, Graceling by Kristin Cashore, Incarceron by Catherine Fisher, Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi, Unison Spark by Andy Marino, Divergent by Veronica Roth, Extras by Scott Westerfeld

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2