Customer Reviews for

Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 449 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(313)

4 Star

(98)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

5 STARS

Under The Never Sky is the BEST opener to the coming New Year!! It renders you speechless in how great it is! I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!
Right from the very first pages you will know that you would have to cancel your daily chores and activities and cuddle up to this book. B...
Under The Never Sky is the BEST opener to the coming New Year!! It renders you speechless in how great it is! I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!
Right from the very first pages you will know that you would have to cancel your daily chores and activities and cuddle up to this book. Because it will grab your attention from start to finish! Expect sleepless nights!
Aria is a character that you can easily find yourself wanting to be friends with. At first you'd think she's nothing more than a sheltered brat wanting her mother, but as she goes through her journey to seek the truth and in finding her mom she tremendously matures right before your eyes.
I enjoyed that in the beginning Perry was repulsed by Aria; not only in her actions but by her smell. That was hilarious when I first read it. It's great when the leading male doesn't fall for the leading gal right away. I also loved how blunt Perry was with his words even though he doesn't say much. He never held back in fear of hurting her feelings, and Aria would just take it without sulking.
The story is told in the point of views of Aria and Perry. They go hand in hand in telling their part in their journey. Never missing a step from each other and not having you skip a beat on what's going on. Veronica Rossi has done a fine job in getting you in the mindset of 'Under The Never Sky'. I cried when it came to it, and I screamed at characters I wanted beaten. The descriptions of the 'PODS', Aether, surroundings, and just everything wasn't lacking or overly done. There was balance, and I guess that's what made me enjoy the story a lot.
The ending is such a TEASE!! When I got to the last page my heart sunk. I can't believe it is just coming into release! I don't know how I can hold over till Book #2 =)
Under The Never Sky by Veronica Rossi is a MUST READ DEBUT!! A definite 2012 favorite!!

posted by AcesMommy on January 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Science fiction meets dystopian

Combining science fiction with hints of dystopian ideas, Under the Never Sky is a fresh story that, after my recent luck with sci-fi titles, I was looking forward to reading. For me, however, this book did not live up to its hype.

Aria has spent her life in the Rever...
Combining science fiction with hints of dystopian ideas, Under the Never Sky is a fresh story that, after my recent luck with sci-fi titles, I was looking forward to reading. For me, however, this book did not live up to its hype.

Aria has spent her life in the Reverie Pod, hanging out with her friends in virtual Realms through her Smarteye. But after an adventure gone wrong in a rundown part of the Pod, Aria is cast out into the Death Shop and left there on her own, without a Smarteye. Fortunately, she runs into Perry, an Outsider who is facing his own struggles. Despite the fact that Aria is a Dweller and Perry is an Outsider, it turns out that they have much in common. Both were blamed for something that wasn't their fault, and both have to embark on a journey to try and make everything right again. Together they travel across the Death Shop and make some surprising discoveries about each other and themselves along the way.

It took me a while to get into this book and even longer to care about the main characters. I felt as though Aria's home world, the pod of Reverie, was not well established before Aria was forced to leave it. Similarly, though Perry's world is easier to grasp, I wanted more detail here as well. However, I could have overlooked this, because over the course of the book more is eventually revealed. What bothered me the most throughout this story was the lack of connection with the characters - both my connection as a reader and also Aria and Perry's connection with each other. For a time there was so little dialogue between them that it was very hard for me to appreciate where these two characters ended up. With that, although both Aria and Perry are (or try to be) genuinely good people, for some reason they just didn't seem quite real to me.

All of that being said, there were things about this book that I did like. The story was very inventive and it was very interesting to see such different worlds coexisting and colliding. Also, I enjoyed the alternating points of view between Aria and Perry. There were moments of beautiful writing and some issues that were raised in the book that made me think. Despite my issues with this book, I do plan to read the next installment in the trilogy; I think it will be easier to connect to the second book now that I have more background, and I want to see where Rossi takes this story.

I know that other bloggers have absolutely loved this book, and so I will leave you with their reviews to give you different opinions: See these reviews from Parajunkee and Mundie Moms.

posted by BookPortrait on February 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 313 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    5 STARS

    Under The Never Sky is the BEST opener to the coming New Year!! It renders you speechless in how great it is! I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!
    Right from the very first pages you will know that you would have to cancel your daily chores and activities and cuddle up to this book. Because it will grab your attention from start to finish! Expect sleepless nights!
    Aria is a character that you can easily find yourself wanting to be friends with. At first you'd think she's nothing more than a sheltered brat wanting her mother, but as she goes through her journey to seek the truth and in finding her mom she tremendously matures right before your eyes.
    I enjoyed that in the beginning Perry was repulsed by Aria; not only in her actions but by her smell. That was hilarious when I first read it. It's great when the leading male doesn't fall for the leading gal right away. I also loved how blunt Perry was with his words even though he doesn't say much. He never held back in fear of hurting her feelings, and Aria would just take it without sulking.
    The story is told in the point of views of Aria and Perry. They go hand in hand in telling their part in their journey. Never missing a step from each other and not having you skip a beat on what's going on. Veronica Rossi has done a fine job in getting you in the mindset of 'Under The Never Sky'. I cried when it came to it, and I screamed at characters I wanted beaten. The descriptions of the 'PODS', Aether, surroundings, and just everything wasn't lacking or overly done. There was balance, and I guess that's what made me enjoy the story a lot.
    The ending is such a TEASE!! When I got to the last page my heart sunk. I can't believe it is just coming into release! I don't know how I can hold over till Book #2 =)
    Under The Never Sky by Veronica Rossi is a MUST READ DEBUT!! A definite 2012 favorite!!

    42 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    After reading The Hunger Games trilogy I was looking for somethi

    After reading The Hunger Games trilogy I was looking for something just as gritty with the underlying romantic element that I crave. Amazon recommended this book to me to fill the Hunger Games void...but now I'm finding that I need something to fill the chasm that Under the Never Sky left! The characters were likable and had real flaws that they had to work out. The relationships were heartfelt and believable, and I could not get enough of the love game between the leads. As for the writing, it was beautifully crafted between the two perspectives and it was cleverly handled so there was minimal overlap and absolutely zero gaps. All in all, this was an exciting adventure and I cannot wait for the second book!!

    21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    WOW

    This book is AMAZINGGGGG One of the best books ive read n a while! Tbh, i was really reluctant to start, fearing another utopia cliche,but... woah.this blew my expectations outa the water!! I was hooked in a way i havent been in a long time from the first pg and never ever ever everrrrr got bored or skipped a paragraph. LOVED EVERY SECOND OF IT. If u no whats good 4 u, ull check it out.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended Dystopian/Romance

    Characters- I like Aria from the start. She was determined to get answers from people who might have them so she used her singing abilities to her advantage. When things went awry, she took charge and tried to find a way out. When she has to tell her story, she does, even though it may condemn her. And when she finds herself alone outside of the safety of Reverie, she doesn't sit down and have a pity fest. I would have the biggest sob fest ever and wait to die. But she gets up and looks for a way back to where she thinks she can find her mother. I like this character very much! I like Perry as much as I like Aria. He's not nice to her, but that's not really his way. Being nice is not a survival skill and that's what it takes to live outside. He takes Aria's insults really well when I'm sure he'd like to backhand her. And he has a slow growing admiration for her which is well deserved. He makes no allowances for her, makes her keep up, but he also feeds her and clothes her. It's more than I would do for the enemy. The Writing and Storyline- The story is told with one chapter narrated in Aria's point of view and the other Perry's. I loved it being written this way. I love knowing what's going on in both characters minds instead of having to guess what the other character is thinking and feeling. It makes me feel more a part of the story. I got so involved with this one I had to read it straight through. The writing is neither spare nor overly descriptive but perfect for each scene or character. Each word was chosen carefully, even the names Aria, who has a singing voice like an opera diva and Perry or Peregrine who has the sight and smell of a master hunter, the falcon. Reverie was like a dream land, unrealistic in that you couldn't feel, didn't even touch. Touch was so foreign to Aria that she was repulsed by it, even from her mother. I loved this story, this coming from a reader that says she doesn't like dystopians. I'll have to change my opinion as this and other stories have proven me wrong. Under the Never Sky was like nothing I've read before. The world was brutal, yet softened by the love between Aria and Perry, which only happened maybe in the last third of the book. But they took care of each other, helped each other and their feelings grew slowly over time. I guess I fell in love with the characters, individually and as a couple. Aria is strong, never helpless, yet doesn't refuse help when offered. Perry is confused by his feelings, but follows through on them, he doesn't deny them, he even cries and is thought none the less for it by Aria.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Beyond Loved It!

    This was a really amazing book. It kept me reading for hours without putting it down. This is NOT just a quick beach read it's well written, exiting, interesting, and so much more. I can't wait to see if there will be a second, I hope so!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Imagination plus! An original plot, to be sure, a futuristic wor

    Imagination plus! An original plot, to be sure, a futuristic world is where Aria lives in a pod, a technology-filled compound, but is not a wimp. Perry lives outside, unprotected, fighting to survive tribe wars and the elements. His past comes through slowly revealing flaws but has a remarkable strength of character. If you are looking for “different”, you can’t get more different than this.


    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Let me get one thing out of the way: I am in love with Under the

    Let me get one thing out of the way: I am in love with Under the Never Sky. Veronica Rossi has woven a tale so intricate and amazing, it is impossible to put down.
    Rossi’s characters in Under the Never Sky are nothing short of stupendous. They are rich and so full of life that you forget they are simply words in a book. Aria in particular is a fabulous main character and I really loved her. She is strong without being over-bearing. She is also incredibly interesting; I often found myself wanting to be in her head MORE. Her growth throughout the book was beautiful and done perfectly. I couldn’t find one flaw, but better yet, because it was so well-done, I didn’t want to look for flaws.
    Move over Four, I’M IN LOVE WITH PEREGRINE!! Perry was such a perfect counter-balance to Aria. He had grit, wisdom and he was a fighter. I heart everything about him. EVERYTHING.
    All of her secondary characters were believable. I even enjoyed the Croven and their sinister bells.
    Veronica Rossi goes into incredible detail throughout the story, from the differences between the Dwellers and the Outsiders, right down to the different abilities of people, like the Auds and Scires. At one point, she describes the scent of Dwellers to the Outsiders as “decaying” and I was so intrigued. She later answers that question, by way of other incidents, and that just made me love it even more.
    I was also absolutely fascinated with the landscape, the Realms and the Aether sky. I imagined the Aether looking something like a sinister Aurora Borealis. I don’t know if that’s what Rossi intended, but that’s the miracle of a great book: you get to pick the details for yourself. The world she created was so striking and awe-inspiring that I want to step into the pages, even now. I want to revisit it and see the characters again.
    This young-adult, science-fiction, dystopian has everything for everybody: blossoming romance, interesting gadgets (I want a Smarteye!), and a beautiful, dangerous landscape in an unknown future. I couldn’t have asked for better. The only thing I want now is the next book. Full of passion and adventure, it’s a story I will Never forget.

    I received a copy of this book for review from the publisher.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This is another one of those books that I am very glad I read. I

    This is another one of those books that I am very glad I read. I only wish the next book would come out sooner. You really fall in love with the characters, and while I've seen some complain about the ending, I must say that I found it to be perfect and simple.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    Amazing! Read Now!

    Review:
    Veronica Rossi did an amazing job with Under the Never Sky. It was the kind of book that you couldn't put down, and didn't want to put down. A dystopian book that was a major hit with me! :)

    Cover: The cover is absolutely gorgeous! I loved the Aether swirling around in the background! Plus the cover, even with all the trees and stuff in the background, is pretty simple and we know where our attention is supposed to be diverted! :) I love it!

    Plot/Writing:
    Veronica did a great job with keeping the reader entertained. She kept us focus and intent on the story. It might've started off a little slow, but it gradually grew and made me fall in love with the story! Everything about it was simply amazing. The new technology was explained and it helped you understand the book better!

    She switched off on POV's every few chapters or so, and it took me a little bit to get that. When she first switched, I was thinking, "Who is this Perry kid? How does Aria know him?" Then I realized that it was actually in his POV and I had my moment of blondness and moved on. The switch though helped me understand the story better and it was really interesting to see into the characters minds.

    Characters:
    The way Veronica wrote her characters, it was like meeting a new person and watching them gradually change and grow before your eyes. She had her characters make a complete 180 from the people they were and they were all amazing. Her characters were so strong and so brave that it was as if they had no fears in the world.

    Aria is a beautiful, sweet, and a little curious 17 year old girl. She has one of the best voices around and that's what makes her a little different than the people in the Realms. That is until she is kicked out of the Realms and is forced out of the only home she has ever known. You watch Aria grow into a strong and fierce woman as you go through the book. She doesn't complain, and she is stubborn and will fight for what she thinks is right.

    Then there's Perry, who is dark and mysterious, and a outsider. He is always saving Aria from the dangers that she doesn't know existed. He is harsh and rude at the beginning, but as you get inside his head, and farther in the book, he opens up. Telling Aria things that nobody has ever known about him. He is one of those people who will sacrifice himself if it means saving others. I LOVED PERRY, but all I thought while reading was "IT'S AGENT P!" from Phineas and Ferb! :)

    All in All: I loved Under the Never Sky so much! I even wrote a poem about it.. It wasn't that bad, even if Anne wants to think it is!:) You should really consider picking up a copy of this book. It will leave you breathless and wanting much much more! :) 5 out of 5 tacos!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Amazing

    I didnt get the ending. Did she see/hear perry? Oh by the way this book is awesome!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    I loved this book couldnt put it down

    I loved how the author described this world. Very unique plot. The ending left me breathless!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Exciting new Dystopian

    Aria lives a comfortable life, safe in her pod. She’s a “Dweller”, someone who lives inside, protected from the dangerous elements of the outside world. When she loses contact with her mother who has gone to another pod on a top-secret mission, she’ll do anything to get information on her. She makes the decision to venture off with some of her friends into a restricted area of the pod, hoping to gather information on her mother from the son of the security chief. This one decision is all it takes to turn her world upside down. Aria is banished from her pod, left alone in the Death Shop – the dangerous world outside the pod where a violent energy storm could take your life in an instant – if the cannibals don’t get you first.

    Perry is part of the Tide tribe. A band of people living above ground, braving the elements. They are warriors, hunters, and know how to fight. When Perry loses someone special to him to the Dwellers, he vows to fight to get them back. When he meets Aria, alone and afraid, he knows she is his only hope of getting the information he needs to rescue his beloved family member, even though he’d rather see her dead. Together they must put aside their differences in order to face the dangerous elements standing in their way if either of them hope to survive.

    This is what I like to call a forget-about-it book. Once you pick it up you can forget about the laundry, forget about the dishes waiting in the sink, and forget about answering the phone. You won’t be able to put it down until you’ve finished. I was absolutely glued to his book. I haven’t been this into something since reading Divergent. There’s tons of action, plenty of surprises and a love story that actually feels real. The book is told in the third-person POV, alternating focus between Aria and Perry. Though I didn’t find a real distinction in voice when the focus shifted from Aria to Perry, I was okay with it. The story flowed well, and is very fast-paced. This is the perfect read to kick of 2012, and I HIGHLY recommend it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    Great book ! Loved it !

    Under The Never Sky is a wonderfully written story of survival and endurance . The characters are well developed and the worlds they live in are vividly described .The plot is gripping and very original and exciting. One of the best books I've read this year. Can't wait for the sequel!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Best mother fucking book ever.

    It was amazing, the suspense and fear told by a teenage girl who is abandoned by those who were meant to protect her from the danger lurking, savages and canibals. It was simply, purely and utterly breath taking, romance and terror. A wonderful mix as a young boy keeps her alive, thinking of her as a mere burden at first but, quickly and desperately needing her at his side although she is a simple half like creature. Half his race but, half dweller with a smart eye that may help him find his young nephew who was tooken by none othee than her people. Suspense runs high as Aria fights to find her mother and Perry finds a devastating discovery that is a major backstabm betrayal and will make you stand on your toes with each flip of a page. Read this book, I am only 12 and could not set it down until I finished the entire book. Cannot wait for the second one. Vile or corrupt language? Perhaps but, if a 12 year old can read this with ease and still use proper vocabulary I do have faith that many of you can read this and will enjoy it very much indeed. Pricy yes, but totally worth it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    New favorite.

    At first I was a little confused by all the foreign things being described in the beginning but it all makes sense later on and will make you want to read again. I loved the characters. I loved the stoory line. There was just as much, if not more, action as romance. It wasn't a typical boy meets girl fall in love. The characters evolded together and fell in love once they knew each other better. Even though perry(male lead) seems like a jerk you still love him because of all detail the author puts into him and his world. The author had a great imagination. I actually laughed out loud. I was looking for a fallen angel/vampire but was willing to try this and I LOVE it. My new favorite book. Second one is just as good and continues the story in a non sloppy way. Can't wait for the third.
    Also, I am 23. Thought I should include. Seems reviews from teens versus young adults versus alduts are all different. I personally feel any age group would love this story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2012

    I got this book, not really knowing what to expect. Soon enough

    I got this book, not really knowing what to expect. Soon enough I was unable to put it down and found myself thinking about it long after I had finished it. I really enjoyed this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Omg AWESOME

    I could not put this book down!!!!!! I spent 9:00-3:00 last night and morning readin it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book with fantastic story line. Kept me entertained

    Great book with fantastic story line. Kept me entertained

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Powerful Story

    With all of the dystopian, post-apocalyptic literature I've been reading lately, I was beginning to think the stories were all blending together. I was starting to think that the genre may be coming to it's fill-line. Then Under the Never Sky comes along and rocks my world.

    Peregrine and Aria are two of the most interesting characters I have read so far this year. Peregrine alone had many layers to his personality, all of them interesting. Aria is so brave and able to overcome what is thrown at her, from information to fights. Perry is a strong male with a very sensitive side. Won't give away too much, but I found myself really enjoying the tribal aspect to the Outside world. The Aether storms kind of felt like a minor character themselves, too. It's both scary and neat to think of weather that is so unlike our own.

    Veronica Rossi's choice to alternate chapters between the two was brilliant. It gives the reader ample time to be inside both Perry an Aria's heads. This was particularly good for me, as both character were suffering from fish-out-of-water syndrome and to see the new land through their eyes was breath-taking and shocking. There was the perfect balance between down time and action scenes. I must say that while I was enjoying the way this story was wrapping up at the end, it also left a huge question to answer in the next one! Must read the next book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Amazing read

    One of my favorite dystopian books... its very different from the other znd rossi is definately a super creative writer. She is amazing at making you see what she is writing and be apart of it. I highly recommend this book if ur a fan of any dystopian novels

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 313 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16