BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Under the Sabers: The Unwritten Code of Army Wives

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Buy the print version

    I've owned my nook for a few months and am also addicted to the Army Wives tv show so I bought this nookbook. I am so disappointed with the editing in this book, I wish I had bought the print version. The story is great, wonderfully well written, touching and emotional. However, the transfer to the nook needs some serious editing. Paragraphs were slpit up mid-sentence, sometimes even mid-word. The number one is used in place of the letter "I" in places. Random italics occur throughout the story. All of these formatting and/or editing errors are very distracting while one is trying to focus on the story. Save your nookbook money on this one and get the print version.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2006

    great read

    After dating a soldier for a while, and us talking about marriage and a family, i decided to buy this book to see exactly what i was getting into. It was very very informative and actually kinda scared me because I didn't seem anything like these women in the book. BUT after asking around to other military wives, my fears were put at ease. Although the book is wonderful the author should point out that a lot of the activities that these women MUST participate in and such...are basically officers wives or e7's and higher. Having said that...i would still recommend the book to anyone not only army wives or girlfriends because it gives a great in depth look into their lives in general, and they really do differ greatly from civilians.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A CLOISTERED LIFE REVEALED

    In 2002 the murder of four Army wives within a six week period at Fort Bragg, North Carolina was a shocker. These tragic stories were covered by Tanya Biank, then a military reporter for the Fayetteville Observer. The Army was her logical beat she¿s the daughter and wife of an Army officer. She wasn¿t naive yet these killings stunned her, and the further she probed the more she realized that she had more than these sad stories to tell. She wanted to present what life was really like for Army wives, to highlight their strengths and perseverance. As she has written, ¿We often hear about the sacrifices soldiers made for their nation, but we rarely hear about their spouses struggles. Army wives are bound by an unwritten code. They are expected to endure hardships with graciousness and tragedies with heads held high.¿ Biank used as her springboard the story of four typical Army wives each of whom reaches a crisis point in their lives at Fort Bragg. We first meet Rita Odom, a recent bride who viewed Army life with wide eyes. She came from a small Alabama town where had suffered abuse and lived in poverty. Having known him for only a short while, her husband was almost a stranger. Thus, it was Rita¿s task to grow in her marriage and as an individual in an atmosphere that applauded conformity. Next, we¿re introduced to Delores Kalinofski, a woman with 20 years of Army life behind her, much of which was spent at Fort Bragg. Tragedy was to come - how would the Army community respond? Andrea Lynne Cory is a battle commander¿s wife, therefore very much a part of Fort Bragg¿s social scene, which is rich in protocol and customs. Finally, we find Andrea Floyd, a wife whose life was given or lost, depending upon your point of view. The final character in Biank¿s book is the city itself, Fayetteville, the place some call Fayettenam. She loves this city due largely to its diversity, a blend of races, religions, rich and poor. One black Vietnam vet described it thusly, ¿If you have to die next to each other, living together isn¿t so hard.¿ ¿Under the Sabers¿ is an uncompromising look at Army life, its privileges and pitfalls. Well written and absorbing it will gain nods of understanding from those who have shared similar experiences and wide-eyed surprise from those who have not. - Gail Cooke

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2009

    A great read

    I thought this book was very well written. She did an excellent job of putting the reader in the places of the characters. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2006

    An Odd Mix of Satisfying and Disappointing

    I found the book very easy to read and very interesting, but my only complaint is about the title. I was expecting a completely different book after reading the title. I was under the impression that there was an actual 'code' to being a military wife, other than the obvious '[the wife] is an extension of the husband' statements. While I'm sure that sentiment is heightened in the military, its true of all marriages. Ms. Biank is an excellent writer, however. I was sucked into the book almost as soon as I began reading it. And I do wish it would have been longer. I found myself wishing that the book was fictional when the women experienced heart-wrenching losses. I would recommend this book more as a true crime than an examination of what it is to be a military wife. Maybe we could even get a sequel?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2006

    True to Life Depiction of the Life of a Military Wife

    If you would like to know what it is like to be the wife of a career Army soldier, you must read this book. I was in the Army for over 17 years, and I know first hand what is expected of an Army wife. I have known Tanya Biank for about 10 years and can personally vouch for her credibility.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2