Customer Reviews for

Under the Tuscan Sun: At Home In Italy

Average Rating 3.5
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A superb feast

I am an avid reader. I don't waste time on books if they don't catch my interest right in the beginning. Hey, there are sooo many books out there to read and so little time. Anway, this book is beyond words. I tasted the food described and felt the sun on my...
I am an avid reader. I don't waste time on books if they don't catch my interest right in the beginning. Hey, there are sooo many books out there to read and so little time. Anway, this book is beyond words. I tasted the food described and felt the sun on my back and sensed the colors of the terrain. It was such a treat to read. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a book that transports them to another place! She has a new one coming out too....titled "Swan".

posted by Anonymous on October 8, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

It Really Just Depends

I started reading this book knowing that it was going to be nothing like the movie. And let me tell you, I was right. I knew it wouldn't have the fluff and romance the movie did, and I was okay with that- or so I thought.
This book is beautifully written, and if you...
I started reading this book knowing that it was going to be nothing like the movie. And let me tell you, I was right. I knew it wouldn't have the fluff and romance the movie did, and I was okay with that- or so I thought.
This book is beautifully written, and if you're one of those armchair travelers, you'll absolutely LOVE IT- go buy it right now! Although, if you're not...then think a bit more before.
I think that this book would be something fantastic to read if you wanted to relax and escape from your world, if only for a little bit. Maybe the reason I didn't like it so much was because I was on my school's winter break, and therefore- already too relaxed. This book had no action, no romance, and nothing really to get me INTO it. Then again, if I ever have a really rough day where everything seems to be going wrong- I will
definitely pick up this book and read a couple of pages. Because it's relaxing, it's interesting, it's descriptions are flawless.
If you want to read this book and ENJOY it, you have to love learning, because that's what it is, really. It's teaching you about her experience in Italy and the country's culture as well.
To sum it up, this book is for those who love biographies, beautiful and descriptive writing, culture, and something that you can sit down and relax to.

posted by Mrs_Fitzwilliam_Darcy on January 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2002

    A superb feast

    I am an avid reader. I don't waste time on books if they don't catch my interest right in the beginning. Hey, there are sooo many books out there to read and so little time. Anway, this book is beyond words. I tasted the food described and felt the sun on my back and sensed the colors of the terrain. It was such a treat to read. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a book that transports them to another place! She has a new one coming out too....titled "Swan".

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2000

    smell the pasta

    I think the best part of the book was to remind me how pathetic most Americans have become in reference to taking the time to enjoy the 'given'. 'Given' meaning such things as the simple joy of food, wildlife, what makes an individual unique, taking a walk, etc. In the U.S. we are so concerned with making a buck, doing things as fast as we can so that we have more time to do what? This book reminded me at least of what is most important and how the most enjoyable things in life are either in your home or right outside the door....

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2008

    A wonderfull biography, unlike the movie

    This is a wonderfull book on the exsperiences of Frances Mayers and her friend Ed who buy bramasole villa in Tuscany. The author goes into every detail about the house, gardens and problems with remodling. As well as the countryside of Tuscany. If you are looking for something like the movie, this book is not for you. The movie is pure fiction. This book is more like a biography, and need to be read as such.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2000

    Lovely

    A lovely book about a woman who took a chance and changed her life. The descriptions of the flowers, views and daily life are marvelous. Although I've never been to Tuscany, her book has taken me there and I will never forget it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I could feel the warmth of the Tuscan sun

    I enjoyed and could feel the author's love for this region of Italy and found it a bit contagious. I loved her descriptions of their house on the hill overlooking a river valley and their discoveries of Etruscan roads and artifacts on their property and close by. She takes us with her on a tour of Tuscany and Umbria searching out Etruscan sites and tombs and savoring all the food and wine the region has to offer. It was very inspiring to read about their restoration projects and how they progressed. About how they terraced the hillside all around their home and took great care in planning and planting all of their gardens and outdoor dining and sitting areas. Her love for food and cooking is hard to ignore and there are some wonderful recipes included in this book which I can't wait to try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2005

    One of the most successful travel books of the past 20 years!

    Frances Mayes' breakthrough book is an elegant, poetic stroll through her personnel odyssey and her adopted Italian home. She struck a nerve with her courage and initiative, and she became a heroine to women (and a good many men, also!), triumphing over personal crisis. Her writing flows beautifully. An artist with a pen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2005

    The best book

    I just finished the book and I feel as if I just returned from a wonderful trip to Tuscany. Frances Mayes is such a wonderful writer. She really made me feel and see everything she was. Reading about some of the food made me miss by Aunt who was from Italy. I used to love hearing her talk of the culture, food and people. Frances brought that all back. After reading this book I am on my way to Italy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2004

    Much Better Than Movie

    I read Mayes' book before I saw the movie. Aside from the scenery, I could not find anything of the book in the movie. I was so disappointed! Mayes is a wonderful writer. She paints landscapes with her words. She made me feel, see, and taste all the beauty of Tuscany without being there. I loved her second book, too.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2004

    Beautiful

    This was just wonderful. I wasn't expecting the movie when I picked it up and when you read it you shouldn't. Its not the movie. I loved how she talked about the land and the way of life there. The book makes me want to go to Italy, to buy a house and learn to cook. I'll have to go to the book store now and buy her other books. And the best part of this book was that it was so personal. You find the house with her, you prune the olive trees. It was so beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2003

    lovely and light a book I enjoy relaxing to

    Just find a comfortable chair, relax open the book and Frances Mayes will take you there. Even better if visiting Italy is on your wish list (read it to enjoy it -and not to pick it apart). P.S Now I'm hoping that Lidia will make her cookbooks like a memoir.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2002

    Under the Tuscan Sun Is A Joy To Read

    This book was masterfully written & I hardily recommend it to all readers, regardless of what interests they have. The author's love for Italy, Tuscany, the city of Cortona and her house Bramasole is apparent on every page of this book. It came to no surprise to me that Frances Mayes is not only a poet, but a food & travel writer, as well as a department head at San Francisco State University. I could not wait to read Bella Tuscany & find out what happened next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2000

    Insight into Italy

    This is an exceptional book allowing the reader insight into the Italian thought process as well as appreciating it's culture and cuisine. Recipes and daily living accounts of the author present the true flavor of Italy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2