Customer Reviews for

Underdogs

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

His writing is so real, he makes you think, cry and laugh.Beautiful, just beautiful. Nothing else needs to be said.

posted by MarcoMom on November 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Boys will be boys

Zusak's first 3 novels are short and explore a short period of time in the lives of two brothers in Australia. There is the predictable angst of being teenagers. But glimpsing their world makes the reader appreciate 2 very average boys.

posted by 3024977 on September 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    His writing is so real, he makes you think, cry and laugh.Beautiful, just beautiful. Nothing else needs to be said.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    Alexander

    He waits.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    &dot &club &spade &king &queen &rook

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Orangekit

    Can someone adopt this one month old kit? He has nit had a mommy for two weeks. Hes hungry and cant survive on his own he will die from eatung garbage and left over and nothing. He is orange with dim white stripes. Please adopt this tiny little kit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Moonstar of Jayclan to Silverstar of Silverclan

    The white longhaired shecat padded into the clearing. Her fur shaped to her slender figure(she looks like a white angora, which is a pretty breed of cat). Her bright, aqua blue eyes gazed around till she spotted Silverstar and padded over to him. She dipped her head respectfully and spoke in a soft yet assertive voice "I have come like you have asked. Unfortunatly, my deputy wasnt available. I havent been able to tell her about this meeting. But anyways, you said that what you had to say was important so I am ready to listen."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Icetail to goldtail

    Umm... this isnt a clan. There is no leader or deputy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Glitterkit to post below

    What clan r u in? Can i join?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Stormfur

    Pads in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Cherrystar to silverfang

    Cherry res 3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Eclipsestar to silverstar

    Do you know where bloodclan camp is?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Snowpaw

    Ok she goes there

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Silverfang

    Shrugged and followed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Hn

    Ffjxgxjxvjf

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Silverstar

    "I am really close to disbanning this clan. I have no active members."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Good book

    I love Markus Zusak and this was another great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    I am a junior in high school and not much of a reader at all. I

    I am a junior in high school and not much of a reader at all. I read this book and I absolutely could not stop reading. Zusak has a way of pulling you into the story and making it seem so surreal and you truly can feel what the boys feel. This book will make you feel the struggle and you will truly want to keep reading to find out what happens next. Absolutely amazing book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    Amazing. Simply amazing.

    I've never cried so much for three books. Especially the third one. The characters were all so real, so true, so simple. Simple, yet powerful. I felt a connection with every character, and I found myself caring about Cameron and Rube as if they were my own brothers. No, the whole Wolfe family, actually. I was becoming part of the Wolfe pack as I read this, every step of the way. I cried when the characters were in trouble. I laughed when the characters mocked the rodent-like dog Mitzy. I felt the same shame and embarressment Cameron experienced in the boxing ring. Yes, I loved Markus Zusak's first three books. He is a genious, plain and simple.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Wow!

    via goodreads
    *This is an omnibus edition.* I am going to break this up into sections.
    The first book of the trilogy, The Underdog, can only be described as an adolescent boy coming of age story. Cameron Wolfe is an introverted boy on a journey of self discovery. Through his dreams and nightmares a battle is told and with his own observations his insights become teaching tools. He starts to wonder and care what others judgments are of him and if they are justified. Through it all he feels painfully alone.
    All I could think about while reading this was my own son and the sons' of my friends. This is amazingly real and vivid. Cameron Wolfe could be any boy that I know or that I see from a distance. As a parent you know that self discovery is a journey we all must take, but your heart still clenches at how cruel that process can feel and you wish you could shelter them from it.
    In the second book, Fighting Ruben Wolfe, Cameron is still looking for himself. Life deals the Wolfe family some hard times and the dynamic changes. Cameron and his older brother have always been close but there's a strain on their relationship now. That strain intensifies when they take up fighting for money and the possibility of facing each other in the ring is a real threat.
    This one was much more emotionally intense. I didn't see it as just a story about personal paths but also about respect for the people that are important. I got a better look at the whole Wolfe family and a greater feel for their relationships. Even though the message was deep there were some laugh out loud moments and some tender moments as well.
    Finally the third book, Getting the Girl, takes us to Cameron's romantic side. He has seen his brother, Ruben's, romantic escapades and knows that he doesn't want to be like that. He wants to find a girl to love and treat right. The problem is that the girl he finds causes a rift between the brothers. There are bigger problems on the horizon for Ruben and if they can't look past their differences things could go very badly.
    This book was also emotionally charged. There's not much to say without giving the story away. This was a great conclusion and I definitely recommend this one to anyone. There is something for everyone: family values, adventure, romance and the emphasis on self confidence. Young boys will look up to Cameron and young girls will fall head over heels for him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Markus Suzak Rules.....

    Markus suzak books rule how often u enjoy a book that has childlike writting but translaletted into adult themes... Marksus is a blessed writter and able to capture best of both worlds youth & adult without killing it.. I checked out his books at the L.A library fighting ruben wolfe to precise good book but i never realized it part of a trilogy so i decided to pirchase all 3 books under one great price...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    Got Guts

    Under Dogs is the most sincere and true to life book about teen guys I've read in a long while. Honest, frequently hilarious, and at times heartbreaking Zusak's first books made me remember what it was like to discover "who I am" when I was young(er).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2