Customer Reviews for

Understanding Exposure: How to Shoot Great Photographs with a Film or Digital Camera

Average Rating 4.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2006

    Great book!

    I started shooting photojournalistc style shots for weddings with a professional photographer, and I really had no experience with photography. So I was totally lost trying to get the right exposure. This book explained it all to me. I had no idea how the apurture, shutter speed, ISO, and light meter all related to each other and this book made it simple and easy to understand.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2008

    simple to understand!

    i entered the world of dslr photography and felt a little overwhelmed by it all. this book by Bryan Peterson came highly recommended by many members of a photography forum. i was a bit skeptical at first about how a book could really help me out, but i was wonderfully surprised. this book is easy to understand, very thorough in its explanations, and full of beautiful photos to inspire. i would highly recommend this book for not only the newbies, but even for the more seasoned photographer who needs to refine some skills. wonderful

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    This is a must if you are starting out

    I am a beginner photographer and continually go back and re-read sections in this book. Even with today's technology, one really has to be aware of what the camera is metering and what adjustments you might have to make to have the picture turn out the way you intend. This is one of those books that everyone should read if they are interested in getting away from the auto modes and becoming more creative in their photography.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    VERY Informative Book!

    I had read a couple of other books on digital photography, although they were not specific to "exposure", but have to say that this book goes above and beyond those others (but they were good in their own rights). Bryan Peterson does an unbelievable job explaining the difference between a "correct" exposure and an "artistically correct" exposure. He gives you examples of what not to do, in addition to how to correct the problems - and doesn't just put perfect picures in the book to say "look how good I am". He breaks the different parts of exposure down so that even the beginning photographer - whether you wish to be a pro or not - can understand the different aspects of exposure. I HIGHLY recommend this book to anyone who is having trouble understanding exposure or wants to be a better photographer. Very well done, Mr. Peterson!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2007

    This is the only book you'll need

    I have spent hundreds of dollars on photography books. If only I had known. This is the only book you'll ever need. Peterson brings everything together in a fun, easy-to-understand book that you'll read again and again. His knowledge of photography is outstanding. I'll never shoot in automatic mode again. Outstanding!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2004

    A GREAT READ AND RE-READ

    Easy to understand.I have been photographing for all most 20 years, but have never taken it seriuosly until after I read this book. The easy to understand principles have increased the outcome of my photos by leaps and bounds.I've read it twice and continue to use it as a reference to draw from.Thank you Mr. Peterson for setting me free from the snapshot mode.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    Exposure explained!

    As a novice photographer, I found this book to be an excellent source for explaining and clarifying the challenges associated with exposure. Mr. Peterson provides numerous examples (situational and photographical) to demonstrate his determination of proper exposure. This book has answered many of the questions I could not find in numerous manuals or online searches. Absolutely recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    This book was great!

    I really enjoy this book. It gives insights into exposure for digital and film cameras that are easy to understand for a beginner but not so basic that an intermediate level photographer wouldn't enjoy or use. I usually buy such books just to use as reference material but I found myself reading this book page by page. I would definitely recommend this book as a purchase for yourself or as a gift to a photographer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2009

    Just Great!

    This is a great book!
    From first pages I got involved in read-try-enjoy cicle. Simple, clearly understandable even for me with less than moderate English. Gives Understanding of Exposure indeed. This is the book I was missing to find a way to implement my creativity.
    Great appreciation to the Author.

    Artak

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2006

    This is THE photography book

    I've read photo web sites from top to bottom, dozens of photography books, and tons of magazines from cover to cover as well as taken photography courses to self-educate myself in the art of photography. This is 'THE' book that pulled all the information from other sources together and gave it meaning to me. I love this book and if you are still grappling with pulling all the pieces together I'd certainly recommend this book to you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    This Book Is A MUST HAVE

    This book taught me more on exposure, in the first 10 minutes of reading then ,a well known on line school taught in 8 lessons.Simple and well written,to the point...I all so bought his book on shutter speed,and in a few minutes, 2 more of his books....I shoot weddings and he has made it possible for me to spend a lot less time in the editing ,by getting it correct right out of the camera.......Mary Morris

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    Worth its weight in GOLD!

    This book takes the reader from a few basics to the advanced seamlessly. Clear explanations for every photograph in the book and how to achieve the similar results. I began applying the techniques in this book and have the best exposure I've seen yet in my photographs! Bryan Peterson is very thorough in his lessons and very creative. A must for the serious photographer be it amateur, hobbyist, or aspiring pro!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2009

    Educational

    Great book for beginners, Quite pleased.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great for beginners!

    Terrific book. Full of great examples, and easy to follow exercises. I recommend this book for people who want to learn how to take photographs in the manual setting. This book helps you get the most out of your digital camera.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    A must read for persons going to "manual" photography.

    Thsi book should come in the box with all cameras. It will ease the challenge of going from just taking pictures to "real photography."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A very good book, I recommend it widely.

    A book that you must have with you all the time to read it over and over.
    It has many practical examples. It shows you how the same subject looks using different aperture or shutter speed. And gives a good explanation of how the depth of field works to make a photo looks great or bad. It has many ideas of projects to work on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Foundational manual for anyone entering photography

    I bought this book to help me understand how a camera works, and what type of digital camera to buy. It did not help me pick a model in specific, but what it did do was help me understand how cameras work as a tool to allow individuals to create beautiful images. I found it an exceptional read and a very useful reseource.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    Wonderful Book!

    Great book, very helpful... being new to photography it was a great book to improve my photos!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2004

    Read It And Weep!

    Finally! A book about exposure I understand. For the first time I felt as if an author was trying to teach me exposure, not teach me they know all about exposure and I know nothing. I've read and re-read this book so many times it is beginning to fall apart. If understanding exposure always seems to be just out of your reach, read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2003

    I finally understand exposure!

    This author presents the subject in terms that even a beginning photographer can readily grasp. The comparison shots and explanations of how each shot was exposed are very helpful. I've never had a solid understanding of just how to get the exposure results I see in my mind's eye, but now it is so clear. The author is a great photographer and a great teacher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3