Customer Reviews for

Undertow

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A classic slab of early 90's metal/alternative rock

    This is one of my favorite albums. I had originally only had a burned copy of the CD but I just got a new copy off of Barnes and Noble.com. This is one of the few CD's I own that I can listen to every track without skipping. Each song showcases Tool's signature weird and dark sound.

    This is a CD that should be in any rock fan's collection!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    LOL

    Wow, dogging on other peoples reviews, huh? Anyways, I believe all the songs on this album are amazing. Someone complained cause there's a track with just crickets. It's supposed to set the tone and anyways, there's already enough tracks without it to equal more than a full album so quit your whining. Not to mention, I'm pretty sure there's a hidden track at the very end. Don't sue me if I'm wrong. Sure, Lateralus may have been personally a tad better, but by no means is this a 3 star album. Definitely 5 stars worth here. I'm still not sure why everyone macks on Lateralus and 10,000 Days when their both amazing, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    check this out...

    1. Take your Undertow CD case. 2.Open it up. 3.Take the tray that the disc sits on and remove it from the case. 4.Pretty crazy huh?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It's all right

    It's amazing how someone who thinks they understand Tool's music so well, can't even spell the name of his favorite CD from them. Anyway, it's an all right CD. Some songs are great, and some are just filler songs. Play the samples and decide for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Second favorite album

    Maynard James Keenan has some the best vocals I've heard in a long time. My favorite album is probably Aenema. If your new to Tool, buy 10,000 Days first or Lateralus, because they are easier to listen to and understand. Undertow is still one of their best albums.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awsome

    This was the first Tool album I ever heard. It is very good. But, what is up with "Disgustipated"? That song is messed up! It has crickets chirping for like 9 minutes! And it goes from track 15 to track 60! Why?! But the rest of it's good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    There are only four good songs

    There are only four good songs: "Intolerance," "Prison Sex," "Undertow" and "Sober." Play all the samples and decide for yourself. I would hardly call "Disgustipated" an awesome song, dude!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    best band ever

    i am fully and completly obsessed with tool.. undertow just rocks.. all of the albums do.. maynard is god!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    does not meet up to my standards

    TOOL is my favorite band. I have every album however if I had to make a list from best to worst it would be 1. ÆNIMA 5 STARS 2. LATERALUS 5 STARS 3. OPIATE 4.5 STARS 4. UNDERTOWER 4 STARS 5. SALIVA 4 STARS personally I only found three songs on this album that I deeply appreiciated and felt helped me: Sober, crawl away, and prison sex. If you are new to TOOL buy ÆNIMA or LATERALUS then once you become obsessed like myself buy them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Tool

    Tool's an awesome band that really knows how to bring it. They're one of the few bands now-a-days that actually has raw emotion in practically all their songs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Tool

    Anything that's said about Tool's music will never quite fully explain the true meaning of it. I'm listening to the Aenima album as I'm writing this, and number thirteen (Aenima), is how I look at life itself. Tool puts the pathetic truth of life and intense but beautiful music together and makes music the way it should be made, straight from their mind, heart, and soul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AMAZING

    The greatest Tool album ever. Period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A paragon of consistency

    Until the last track, this album doesn't stop doing what it does. The songs have intelligent lyrics, when they can be understoond. It also features very good musicianship, and the first 3 tracks are just great. Not that any of the next six aren't great, but they do not stick out to me as much. Even Henry Rollins seems cool when he reads his poem in the middle of Bottom. The only complaints against this album can be that the last epic takes forever to get to, and it does not seem worth the time to listen to. Also, this does not have anything as good as 46 & 2 or Ænima. But when a band gets better with time that is not much of an actual criticism...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hell yes.

    I just bought this album and if you're thinking about it, buy it. ''Sober'' is a well-known, incredibly powerful track - also Prison Sex and Bottom are amazing. Tool really is an experience. They just came out with a new track, Schism, long but with the same degree of wrenching emotion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hardcore Tool Fan

    Undertow is an extremely powerful album with hard hitting tracks like 'prison sex' and 'sober.' The band produces on their CD's and produces on stage as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pro Reviewers Suck

    If you read the review by this dipfock you will assume TOOL is an average band. This is as far from the truth as one can possibly get. TOOL is much more than a band, it's a way of thinking. A tool to better thinking, deeper understanding of yourself and an insight to worlds we aren't ordinarily allowed to see. Listening to TOOL is an experience like seeing a beautiful mountain in the early morning hours erupting into a volcano or seeing the sun setting over the ocean and as the dark sets in demons begin attacking the very fiber of your being. TOOL is not for the faint of heart. (If you want something softer try 'A Perfect Circle') And you can't dance to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2