BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Underworld: Rise of the Lycans

Average Rating 4.5
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Still going strong

The book really filled in the gaps that were left in the movie. Full of all the blood and gore that we like, Cox continues to write the enthralling story with heart.

posted by Candelize on May 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ok story line

I think the previous story lines were better... but this was still a good read.

posted by NFormby on April 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A good read for fans of the Underworld series

    Blood Enemy was published as an original novel after the release of the first Underworld movie, and is based upon Lucian's flashbacks to Sonja's death and the beginning of the war. Basically, it's the story that became Rise of the Lycans. It was very interesting to read such a different interpretation of the story and characters. Sonja is portrayed as more of a fairy tale princess, and the story has a Beauty and the Beast tone. I think the filmmakers ultimately made stronger story and character choices for Rise of the Lycans, but this is a good read for fans of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good horror fun!

    This is the story of how "Underworld"'s war between the vampires and lycans began.Like the movie,it's just as good as the first two stories.<BR/>Cox has done a terrific job of adapting the movie into a novel.This is<BR/>a well-written,entertaining book with great characters,a solid story that <BR/>works up a good deal of suspense,and excellent action sequences.Men,<BR/>"Underworld" fans,action lovers,and horror freaks will all enjoy this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2006

    The Begining of the Blood War

    Fast paced, moody, and full of blood, fire, and beauty, Underworld Blood Enemy is the prequel for the first Underworld film. Written by Greg Cox, who also wrote the novelization for the film, it provides a sense of beginning the story that some people felt was lacking in Underworld itself. With a slight subplot that takes place in modern times, the novel focuses on more than 800 years past, relating the ill-fated love story of Lucian and Sonja. It provides rich, lavish detail, so much so that when you re-watch Underworld and see Sonja¿s fate on screen, your heart breaks with Lucian¿s. Other characters- Kraven, Soren, Viktor, and Marcus- are given form, fleshed out so much more than they had time for in the movie. I love the characterization and back-story, but the only down side is that Cox¿s dialogue is often overdone. One of my favorites is ¿Never underestimate a lycan in love!¿ Yes, he uses an exclamation point. That is my other complaint. The author uses far to many exclamation points, usually with character¿s thoughts so they seem even more out of place. A nit-picking detail, but it breaks up the flow of the story. Over all, I think every die hard Underworld fan should read this book to understand the film better, and I think most people that like vampire/werewolf mythos will find this book quite enjoyable. Recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2005

    Worth the Read

    'Blood Enemy' was very good; I picked it up right after seeing the film 'Underworld'. The main character is not Selene, but instead the lycan Lucien, and it is the story of his love affair with Lady Sonja. Although both the film and the book outright say that Selene is in many ways like Sonja, Sonja is much more quick to showing her emotions than Selene. This is her only failing as a character. She's constantly crying. Other than this, however, the book was excellent, flashing foward and backwards in time, between the points-of-view of Selene and Lucien, and even more minor characters like Kraven and Viktor. Although not a necessary read in the storyline, it creates interesting parallels between the relationships of Selene and Michael (who never makes an appearnece, as the modern parts of the story take place about six months before the films events) and Lucien and Sonja. it also helps to create a sense of time in terms of actual years. Finally, the book finally gives an example of how exactly the lycans would defend the vampyres from the outside world during the daylight hours.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Loved the movie and the book was just as good!

    Loved the movie and the book was just as good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Anonymus

    I think the book was better than the movie since the history and plot is explained better. Although, I think the author should have writen sequels about future characters. Otherwise this is a very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    good read for a fan of the series

    a great read, however because it was written before rise of the lycans it doesn't fit into the story line. if you read the other 3 first, this one is good for those who want to get even more out the rapidly expanding series. expands the characters even more, definitely worth reading if you love underworld

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    Great action vampire novel.

    I had enjoyed the Underworld movies but the books have so much action and details to them. It's a great escape from the regular hum drum life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Bought for Husband

    My husband enjoyed it, and thought it was a pretty good follow-up to both the book and movie version of Underworld.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2006

    pretty cool

    even though underworld evolution hasn't came out yet, i was so excited i wanted to get a taste of the movie. from what i read, its pretty good. even though i kinda of figured most of this stuff out from the first movie. including things about marcus and viktor, and the truth about selene's past about why her family was killed. i figured there to be more of reason then viktor saying she reminded her to much of sonja. but i dont wanna spoil the rest for everyone else. but u should read it. its cool. you can sorta visualize urself being there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2004

    Vampires Kick Ass

    it was very good. i like it. werewolves are just too stupid and vampires are like totally the masters of the world. i should know. all i can say is that the book is good. so read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2004

    very good

    its very entertaining the movie cuts lots of parts but its very good so if youv never seen the movie i suggest u read the book first,the movie is a little hard to follow because of their wondering accsents.and its very goood ^_^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2