Customer Reviews for

Underworld: Rise of the Lycans

Average Rating 4.5
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Still going strong

The book really filled in the gaps that were left in the movie. Full of all the blood and gore that we like, Cox continues to write the enthralling story with heart.

posted by Candelize on May 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ok story line

I think the previous story lines were better... but this was still a good read.

posted by NFormby on April 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    War between immortals

    Better than the movie , tells the story of how one of the Immortal twins ( William ) became the first Werewolf, and how
    the first Lycan (Lucian) came to be the most terrible enemy
    of the Vampire race.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Still going strong

    The book really filled in the gaps that were left in the movie. Full of all the blood and gore that we like, Cox continues to write the enthralling story with heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    The perfect companion to the films

    Immediately prior to the film release of the sequel, Underworld: Evolution, I sought out this book and began reading it, thinking that some of the early flashbacks sequences to appear in that film would be the backstory presented here. Sadly, I was extremely disappointed with the film, but this book made up for it! Using the details provided by the creators of Underworld, Greg Cox was able to capture and give life to characters that lived both inside and outside of the film, offering a backstory that breathes new life into the original from 2003. As a book lover and a holder of a degree in English Literature, I was deeply impressed and moved by this novel and Cox's ability to transport the reader into the narrative. I haven't read his version of the films yet, but if a third comes along, I may be picking up a copy to prepare.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2007

    OMG!

    This is the best book i've ever read! I saw it and thought that the movie was pretty good so I'd try this book out. I can't put it down! I stay up until 12:00 P.M. just to read it. I'm still reading it, but this is one of the first books ever for me to actually want to continue reading since I dont find many books that I like.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2006

    beautifully written

    i loved this book. it answered all my burning questions about what the movie left open. i am a total fan of the writer and love vampires and werewolves. i would've loved to see this book in the movies, the next two are some of the best vampire and werewolf movies i've seen i quite a while.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2005

    Must Read!

    This book was very good and I would suggest it to anyone that took vauge interest in the movie. It answered many if not all the questions that the other book left. Keep in mind that there were subtle differences between the Underworld book and the movie. The prequel answers the questions to the book but leaves a few inconsistancies with the movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2005

    Way Awesome

    I loved the book for the adventure and the knowledge provided. It is also comforting that the Greg Cox consulted with Danny McBride, the author of the original screenplay for the Underworld movie, to find out the small/finer points for the book. It puts a new twist on the story and it makes you understand origins of the war, as well as, the reasons for why each of the sides are pitted against each other. It is an extrodinary story intertwining the past and present.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2005

    A fan of Lucien.

    Thought the book was great. It answer a lot of questions about the characters past.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Team hybrid

    :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Loved the movie and the book was just as good!

    Loved the movie and the book was just as good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Marcus

    Im taylor...but as marcus:none

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    I love this book!

    over all this is the best book I've read by this author. its a great read and i highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Best!

    Underworld is an amazing creation between Lycans and Vampyres. I have never read any of the books, maybe because the movies are a bit more entertaining and gory. Underworld Awakining is badass and i feel like I spelled awakining wrong but yea. It has a great story line. So read and watch i guess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    LOVE IT!!!!

    Awesome book! I just seen Underworld Awakening and it was amazing!!! I cant wait for the next movie!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Love the movie

    I love the movies so i figured there is a book to read its amazing now if i can just find the other two

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    An amzing story

    This story was amzing after i read it.this is a thrilling story and anyone who likes dramatic movies should defenitely buy it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    an inspiraing story

    This story showed how people can be enemies but still be close together.
    The more you get closer the frienship grows.I enjoyed reading this storie of legendery creatures.I recomend this book to whoever wants something exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this movie

    This movie was really good to me. They made a differnt twist on werewolve's and vampires. I thought the werewolves were a lot better then the vampires though. I say watch it, it wasn't boring in the least bit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    good movie interpretation

    the great prequel to the underworld series, if you are looking for the one that fits the timeline of the series then this is it. blood enemy is good but was written before rise of the lycans was created so it does not have continuity, this one however is excellent. if you love the series, pick it up. it explores more characters and relationships that the movie doesn't touch on and is worth the read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4