Customer Reviews for

Undone

Average Rating 4
( 205 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(95)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Wishing for another direction

I love the Grant County series. Undone would be a good description for me at the end of the previous book. I was hoping for a dream sequence. Anything to bring Jeffrey back. But, alas, no such luck. Undone was a great book. I enjoyed that it tied the Grant County ...
I love the Grant County series. Undone would be a good description for me at the end of the previous book. I was hoping for a dream sequence. Anything to bring Jeffrey back. But, alas, no such luck. Undone was a great book. I enjoyed that it tied the Grant County Series in with her other series, which I have also read entirely. I just didn't want the Grant County series to take the direction that it did. I hope one day I will get over it. I trust that Karin Slaughter will make me get over it, but she hasn't yet. The writing is good, the plot twists are still there. It is a great read. I just miss Jeffrey.

posted by bookworminGA on November 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

"The one who cannot restrain their anger will wish undone what their temper and irritation prompted them to do." Horace

In Karin Slaughter's "Undone," a badly injured woman is hit by a passing car. The woman had been tortured and didn't know what she was doing when she stepped into the vehicle's path.

Will Trent, a detective with the Georgia Bureau of Investigation, goes to the accide...
In Karin Slaughter's "Undone," a badly injured woman is hit by a passing car. The woman had been tortured and didn't know what she was doing when she stepped into the vehicle's path.

Will Trent, a detective with the Georgia Bureau of Investigation, goes to the accident scene and discovers a cave where at least two victims were tortured. The local police resent his intrusion in their case. They order him to leave but before he does, he discovers a second victim, another woman and this time, the victim is dead.

As I was reading this story, I was struck by the number of plot similarities between this 2009 novel and Lisa Gardner's "Hide" which was published by Bantam, January 30, 2007.

Both novels have an underground area where victims are brought in order to be tortured and killed. In "Hide" the area is called a chamber. In "Undone" it is called a cave. Both novels have the antagonist with some family connection to someone already in the story. In addition, both villain's are in need of mental care and in both novels we have a police detective who is compassionate while having a female associate who is a no nonsense woman.

I enjoyed both stories and both contain a surprise toward the conclusion of the novel but the commonalities in plot were disturbing.

posted by MikeDraper on November 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 206 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted November 28, 2009

    Wishing for another direction

    I love the Grant County series. Undone would be a good description for me at the end of the previous book. I was hoping for a dream sequence. Anything to bring Jeffrey back. But, alas, no such luck. Undone was a great book. I enjoyed that it tied the Grant County Series in with her other series, which I have also read entirely. I just didn't want the Grant County series to take the direction that it did. I hope one day I will get over it. I trust that Karin Slaughter will make me get over it, but she hasn't yet. The writing is good, the plot twists are still there. It is a great read. I just miss Jeffrey.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    KARIN SLAUGHTER THRILLS US!

    FIND KARIN SLAUGHTER'S FIRST BOOK BLINDSIGHTED AND READ EACH OF HER BOOKS UNTIL YOU COME TO UNDONE. HER TWISTED PLOTS AND REALISTIC WRITING WILL LEAVE YOU CRAVING FOR THE NEXT BOOK TO COME OUT. SEE HER WEBPAGE FOR A LIST OF ALL HER BOOKS. SHE IS AWESOME!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An exciting poice thriller

    Henry and Judith Codfield are driving home one night when they run into what he assumes was a deer; it turns out to be person hurt badly enough that they take the injured party to Atlanta's Grady Hospital. Trauma center physician Dr. Sara Linton treats the patient; stabilizing her for surgery. She is shocked at the tortured body of Anna Lindsey whom she tries to save.------------------

    Meanwhile as the local police work the burbs for clues, Georgia Bureau of Investigation Detectives Will Trent looks for the site where the torture takes place. When he finds it he realizes another woman was there with the tortured woman. He finds the body of the second woman who was tortured before she committed suicide. Faith Mitchell and Will think the kidnapping of a woman outsider the supermarket is related to their own inquiry. A fourth female fitting the profile of the other three is also missing. Evidence points to the killer abducting the women in pairs and if they don't find the missing two females within days they will be dead.----------------------

    Once again as in FRACTURED, Will and Faith prove they are a dedicated team who know together they perform much better than separately though they are total opposites; a sort of GBI yin and yang who complement one another by overcoming the other's weaknesses. The current case of a deranged serial killer is not new, but refreshed by the increasingly frantic hunt by the GBI pair. Reader will enjoy UNDONE, as Karin Slaughter provides a tense police procedural in which the clock is ticking while the killer remains on a twisted schedule.------------

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Reading a review copy

    Some characters are back, some aren't yet. Grabs you from the start with a shocking crime you need to have solved. Will Trent is back, with his new partner and his uncompromising boss. Sarah Linton is also a main character, but it does not feel like a forced mash up of the two series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    Karin Slaughter is Great!

    Karin Slaughter knows how to write a book. Like always, this book grabs you and will not allow you to sleep until you complete it....then...you can not wait until her next book comes out.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I lost interest about halfway through...

    This book got off to a great start and made an interesting introduction of two new main characters, special sgent Will Trent and his partner Faith Mitchell, but then the story slowed down quite a bit and I lost interest. While reading, my mind wondered - I was preoccupied with trying to imagine how the severly dyslexic Will Trent made it past the academic requirements to become a special agent. The focus and extent of Will's dyslexia quickly became annoying. Perhaps readers receive more insight to this issue later in the story but I will never know because I am done with this book, even though I did not get anywhere near finishing it. I read the entire Grant County series and will not be moving on to the Georgia Series. To me, the story ended with the shocking and abrupt death of Jeffrey Tolliver.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    LOVED IT! graphic, scary and gory, just how I like a book!

    I love the characters in this book. Graphic details about the victims. Wasn't sure who to look for as the bad guy but DUH! Once I got to the end I was kicking myself for not knowing sooner. I liked it. A lot. I read it again, and bought a bunch of books in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    "The one who cannot restrain their anger will wish undone what their temper and irritation prompted them to do." Horace

    In Karin Slaughter's "Undone," a badly injured woman is hit by a passing car. The woman had been tortured and didn't know what she was doing when she stepped into the vehicle's path.

    Will Trent, a detective with the Georgia Bureau of Investigation, goes to the accident scene and discovers a cave where at least two victims were tortured. The local police resent his intrusion in their case. They order him to leave but before he does, he discovers a second victim, another woman and this time, the victim is dead.

    As I was reading this story, I was struck by the number of plot similarities between this 2009 novel and Lisa Gardner's "Hide" which was published by Bantam, January 30, 2007.

    Both novels have an underground area where victims are brought in order to be tortured and killed. In "Hide" the area is called a chamber. In "Undone" it is called a cave. Both novels have the antagonist with some family connection to someone already in the story. In addition, both villain's are in need of mental care and in both novels we have a police detective who is compassionate while having a female associate who is a no nonsense woman.

    I enjoyed both stories and both contain a surprise toward the conclusion of the novel but the commonalities in plot were disturbing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    Slaughter does it again

    I have read all of Karin Slaughter's books and have enjoyed them all,each have been better then the one before. In her latest novel, "Undone", she has spun a tale that is not only a good who-done-it, but contiues to explore the depths of several ongoing people from her previous work, that have to deal with their own flaws and secretes. I would recommend this book to anyone wanting a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    Sweet

    Great Book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Decent Read (contains spoilers--beware!)

    Like a lot of other readers I was severely disappointed in her last book with the twist that happened at the end. Through all of her Grant County books I loved all of the characters because they were unique and entertaining in their own way. The kill one of them at the end was horrible in my opinion. I wasn't sure that I would want to read her next book because of this, but I decided to pick it up and give it a shot.

    I was fairly impressed. I loved the interaction between the two police officers because they represented actual human traits...however I was disappointed that Sara really didn't have much depth to her role in this book as in other novels. It was supposed to be a mixing of characters between her two series, but the spotlight focused more on Will & Faith than on Sara. She had about as much page time as the victims in this story.

    Also I think it is interesting to note that the author did not make the victims likeable in the least, but you were still hoping they would come out alive in the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    Another great Slaughter book

    This book is my favorite of the series and very well written. I read this book in 2 days and am already looking for the next one to come out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    Wonderful book.

    I read this book in 2 days. I couldn't put it down. The characters were interesting and intriguing. Her writing style is fast paced and thorough. I have read numerous Karen Slaughter books and have enjoyed all of them, although I think this was her best.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Really enjoyed

    Slaughter's novels keep the reader guessing. This one is another goody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Sissy 5/2013 Did not like ending

    Sissy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Fabuloud

    I cannot get eniugh of this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    AS USUAL

    She wrote another same ol same ol book. I love her writing but this one did not blow me out of the water. Maybe she has run out of ideas. I live in Atlanta so I like reading about my area in her books. I recommend it but she needs some new material. I'm reading Criminal and really HATE that one so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Overdone

    A misuse of writers talent. Her ability to create interesting characters and plot is overwhelmed by the sadism and gore that permeates the book. I could not get through it even though i liked her other work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2012

    Luv this series

    Just started reading this author and i must say LOVE reading her. Even if i read out of order

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Love it

    I love Karin Slaughter's books, but have never seen such a cast of character who have such crappy luck. These oeople must have been born on Friday the 13th, walk under ladders everyday, sleep surrounded by black cats, ect, ect. Her characters should be crazy by now. Slaughter writes with a stomach clenching flair for the horrors that humans can inflict on one another. Very gritty and visceral.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 206 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11