Customer Reviews for

Undone

Average Rating 4
( 206 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(95)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Wishing for another direction

I love the Grant County series. Undone would be a good description for me at the end of the previous book. I was hoping for a dream sequence. Anything to bring Jeffrey back. But, alas, no such luck. Undone was a great book. I enjoyed that it tied the Grant County ...
I love the Grant County series. Undone would be a good description for me at the end of the previous book. I was hoping for a dream sequence. Anything to bring Jeffrey back. But, alas, no such luck. Undone was a great book. I enjoyed that it tied the Grant County Series in with her other series, which I have also read entirely. I just didn't want the Grant County series to take the direction that it did. I hope one day I will get over it. I trust that Karin Slaughter will make me get over it, but she hasn't yet. The writing is good, the plot twists are still there. It is a great read. I just miss Jeffrey.

posted by bookworminGA on November 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

"The one who cannot restrain their anger will wish undone what their temper and irritation prompted them to do." Horace

In Karin Slaughter's "Undone," a badly injured woman is hit by a passing car. The woman had been tortured and didn't know what she was doing when she stepped into the vehicle's path.

Will Trent, a detective with the Georgia Bureau of Investigation, goes to the accide...
In Karin Slaughter's "Undone," a badly injured woman is hit by a passing car. The woman had been tortured and didn't know what she was doing when she stepped into the vehicle's path.

Will Trent, a detective with the Georgia Bureau of Investigation, goes to the accident scene and discovers a cave where at least two victims were tortured. The local police resent his intrusion in their case. They order him to leave but before he does, he discovers a second victim, another woman and this time, the victim is dead.

As I was reading this story, I was struck by the number of plot similarities between this 2009 novel and Lisa Gardner's "Hide" which was published by Bantam, January 30, 2007.

Both novels have an underground area where victims are brought in order to be tortured and killed. In "Hide" the area is called a chamber. In "Undone" it is called a cave. Both novels have the antagonist with some family connection to someone already in the story. In addition, both villain's are in need of mental care and in both novels we have a police detective who is compassionate while having a female associate who is a no nonsense woman.

I enjoyed both stories and both contain a surprise toward the conclusion of the novel but the commonalities in plot were disturbing.

posted by MikeDraper on November 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    KARIN SLAUGHTER THRILLS US!

    FIND KARIN SLAUGHTER'S FIRST BOOK BLINDSIGHTED AND READ EACH OF HER BOOKS UNTIL YOU COME TO UNDONE. HER TWISTED PLOTS AND REALISTIC WRITING WILL LEAVE YOU CRAVING FOR THE NEXT BOOK TO COME OUT. SEE HER WEBPAGE FOR A LIST OF ALL HER BOOKS. SHE IS AWESOME!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An exciting poice thriller

    Henry and Judith Codfield are driving home one night when they run into what he assumes was a deer; it turns out to be person hurt badly enough that they take the injured party to Atlanta's Grady Hospital. Trauma center physician Dr. Sara Linton treats the patient; stabilizing her for surgery. She is shocked at the tortured body of Anna Lindsey whom she tries to save.------------------

    Meanwhile as the local police work the burbs for clues, Georgia Bureau of Investigation Detectives Will Trent looks for the site where the torture takes place. When he finds it he realizes another woman was there with the tortured woman. He finds the body of the second woman who was tortured before she committed suicide. Faith Mitchell and Will think the kidnapping of a woman outsider the supermarket is related to their own inquiry. A fourth female fitting the profile of the other three is also missing. Evidence points to the killer abducting the women in pairs and if they don't find the missing two females within days they will be dead.----------------------

    Once again as in FRACTURED, Will and Faith prove they are a dedicated team who know together they perform much better than separately though they are total opposites; a sort of GBI yin and yang who complement one another by overcoming the other's weaknesses. The current case of a deranged serial killer is not new, but refreshed by the increasingly frantic hunt by the GBI pair. Reader will enjoy UNDONE, as Karin Slaughter provides a tense police procedural in which the clock is ticking while the killer remains on a twisted schedule.------------

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    Karin Slaughter is Great!

    Karin Slaughter knows how to write a book. Like always, this book grabs you and will not allow you to sleep until you complete it....then...you can not wait until her next book comes out.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    Another great Slaughter book

    This book is my favorite of the series and very well written. I read this book in 2 days and am already looking for the next one to come out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    Wonderful book.

    I read this book in 2 days. I couldn't put it down. The characters were interesting and intriguing. Her writing style is fast paced and thorough. I have read numerous Karen Slaughter books and have enjoyed all of them, although I think this was her best.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Fabuloud

    I cannot get eniugh of this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2012

    Luv this series

    Just started reading this author and i must say LOVE reading her. Even if i read out of order

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Love it

    I love Karin Slaughter's books, but have never seen such a cast of character who have such crappy luck. These oeople must have been born on Friday the 13th, walk under ladders everyday, sleep surrounded by black cats, ect, ect. Her characters should be crazy by now. Slaughter writes with a stomach clenching flair for the horrors that humans can inflict on one another. Very gritty and visceral.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    My favorite so far!

    I've read this entire series but this one was the best. I was blindsided by the killer. I will probably go back and read it again because I was reading so fast I'm sure I missed alot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    I loved it

    Wonderful book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Read this book!

    Wow! Great read! Suspenseful, fast-paced and well written! Will definitely be looking for more from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another Addictive Series

    Also published under the title "Genesis"

    Book 1, in the Georgia series

    Fans will surely be pleased with this thriller, Ms. Slaughter's new series joins well-known characters from her other two bestselling series to create a captivating and suspenseful saga that will without any doubt become another addictive read.

    The story opens with a car accident and the woman injured being transported to the trauma center in Atlanta. The attending physician, Dr. Sara Linton soon discovers most of the wounds were not caused in the crash but rather appear to be the result of torture, brutally administered long before the car accident. With the Doctor's medical assessment it is obvious there is foul play involved so, Special Agents Will Trent and his partner Faith Mitchell are assigned as lead investigators in the case.

    A search near the accident site reveals the woman was not the only one held captive and tortured so the hunt for second victim is launched with the hope she may be somewhere near by.....When a third woman with the same physical features is abducted in broad day light, there is no time to waste, it becomes a race against time to see what the connection is between them and track down the serial offender before other victims surface. Hindering the case is an ongoing turf war and lack of communication between them and the local police force.

    One of the riveting aspects and key elements are the mood setting and detailed descriptions of the abductees and what happened to them. The characterization is striking and is one of Ms. Slaughter's strong points; she creates realistic protagonists showing their strengths and weakness and never holds back when describing their emotions which can be quite intense at times, this goes a long way in creating a strong atmosphere. This story is very suspenseful and superbly plotted with many twists and turns that are totally unpredictable. This is a recipe guaranteed to please most readers and the cliff- hanger ending left me hungry for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    undone

    her best book yet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Great book. Kept my interest throughout and couldn't wait to find out the end!

    Would recommend it to friends and would reread it in spare time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    Best book yet!

    Once started, I could not put this book down. Loved the characters. Loved the suspense. I eagerly await her next book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    Great read

    This is a really good author...we always enjoy her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    wonderful local author

    I always enjoy reading Ms Slaughter's books and look forward to more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Riveting

    This is a typical Slaughter book, you won't be able to put it down. I can't wait until her next one comes out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thriller fans will love this.. dont miss !!

    I could not put this book down! The plot twisted throughtout the book, characters were believeable and the ending was a shock! I almost hated to see this book end...Karin Slaughter has written another must read book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Quite the page turner!

    Wow, what a book! Great characters, great storyline, great thrills all combine to make this one hard book to put down. I have read a couple of her other books, and they were good, but I think this is her best yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5