BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Undone (Outcast Season Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable fantasy

    I am not a fantasy reader, but I thought I'd give this book a chance. I'm glad I did. First of all, the cover intrigued me--a woman on a motorcycle. When I read on the back cover that this woman was foreign to living in the three-dimensional earth plane, and that she had been outcast from a world where she had much more power, I decided to read it. The idea that she had to get power from another human being to keep her strength, made her vulnerable, thus more likable. Yet she had to be careful not to take too much power or she would injure her donor. I was also grateful she was not a vampire; there are too many vampire stories out there already. The only thing I didn't like about the book was that it was a cliffhanger, and the next book in the series hasn't been published yet.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    Definitely Recommend

    I was captivated throughout the story by the writing and story concept. Great cliff hanger. Can't wait to read the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    Excellent Book and Introduction into a new series.

    I feel this will end up another master piece series for Rachel Cain. I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars because as first books usually go, it's an introduction so it's not always over the edge thrilling. I love the new characters and the fact that it spins directly off the last series and actually drops right into the crisis from the other Weather Warden Series. The ending is pretty awsome and leaves you wanting to run out and purchase the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    Interesting new twist

    An interesting change in perspective from the Weather Wardens. Probably better to have read at least one of the Weather Warden series before reading this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Outcast #1

    I have read Caine's other series, the Weather Warden books. If you enjoyed that series, you'll enjoy this continuation in the Weather Warden world. This book is told from the point of a Djinn who has been stripped of her powers and left as a human. It is a unique world and enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Love Rachel Caine

    I love the Weather Warden series, so was excited to pick up this new one. While the setting is in the same world, it gives you a closer look into the world of the Djinn. I was not disipointed and look forward to the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I love this series.

    This book focuses on a Dijinn who has been sent to earth and made nearly mortal as punishment for disobeying the Dijinn ruler. She works with the wardens to prevent disasters. Along the way she discovers her own feelings for mankind. This book takes place in the same world and timeline as Rachel Caine's Weather Warden Series. Suspense, romance and science fiction combine to make this book appealing to readers of other genres.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Not-So-Closet-Geek Review

    Cassiel was once Djinn. But when she refused to do what she was asked, she became human.

    Cassiel doesn't like or understand humankind. To live, she has to use the power of the human Wardens, so she is partnered with the Warden Manny. Manny is somehow different from what she expected. He gives her a chance when no one else will, and he trusts her enough to introduce her to his family. As Cassiel watches Manny and his family, her views of the human race begin to change. She can no longer observe humankind distantly; now Cassiel is a participant. She forms a bond with Manny's young daughter, Isabel, and a different sort of connection with Manny's intense brother, Luis.

    Cassiel is content to remain distant from it all until a tragedy occurs, and she is forced to partner up with Luis to prevent an unknown disaster from occurring.

    I loved Cassiel's fresh perspective as a human who doesn't like.humans. She begins as a very cold protagonist, but that changes as the novel progresses. The longer she is human, the more kind and caring she becomes. This is especially apparent as Cassiel's understanding of right and wrong develops, and her feelings for her fellow humans form. I loved the contrast shown between the early and late Cassiel. What surprised me was how much I liked her throughout. She doesn't come off as the likeable sort, but I understood the choices she made in Undone.

    The world Rachel Caine created, full of Wardens and Djinn, had a tremendous amount of depth and her characters were extremely convincing. Undone started off fast and never really slowed down. Putting down this book was near impossible and with good reason. A question is formed in the reader's mind during the first few pages that isn't answered until the closing few. Though some questions are answered, Undone doesn't really reach a true resolution. Instead, the novel wraps up with a classic cliffhanger. One thing is for sure- Rachel Caine knows how to keep her fans reading.

    It is clear that Rachel Caine knows what she's doing where writing is concerned. When the rest of the series comes out, I will be reading them. I'm excited to have come across such superb series recently.particularly since some of my old favorites (Gemma Doyle Trilogy, Twilight Series, etc.) came to a close this past year.

    ~bella aire~

    This review was written for the Not-So-Closet-Geek book review site:
    http://not-so-cg.blogspot.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2