Customer Reviews for

Undone

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2006

    Best romance story I've ever read!

    Words can hardly describe how much I loved this book. It really draws you in and puts you in the story. I recommed this book to anyone who likes a good romance story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2007

    A romantic

    Undone is my first romance novel from Virginia Henley and its one of my favorites. I¿m been reading romance for three years, and after break from reading, Undone brought me right back in. This is the best romance & historical fiction book I¿ve ever read. Henley has truly mastered how to create a mesmerizing mixture of the two genres. || I have to admit, this book did have some draw backs for those who are looking for a strong romance book. This book is more like a narrative of the life of Elizabeth Gunning and how she raised to become a duchess, not once but twice. The beginning was also kind of slow, as Henley spends time developing the background of the book. But to be fair, the two leads meet at the opening of the novel and had a very fun and seductive encounter. The leads don¿t quite dominate this novel, as she only sees him about every 30 or so pages for a short 5-10 page encounter. But true to its romance root, every time the two leads met, I could sense a love that isn¿t there in other regular historical fiction, not to mention the passion. As the story progresses, I became so involved in the plot that it didn¿t matter if the leads only meet for half the book. || Overall, this book showed Henley as a writer who doesn¿t just write romance, but also a fiction with a twisting and entertaining plot. I see other writers who were soon bored with their romance genre and tried to expand to others such as suspense, and failed. I¿m glad that Henley was able to find her calling. In reading her book, Henley displayed her research efforts and mastery of characters she wrote about. Trivia: 'The truths to this historical fiction' 1. As Prince George became king, he named Elizabeth a Baroness in her own right. She became the 1st Baroness Hamilton of Hameldon. 2. In history, her mother was really the daughter of the 6th Viscount Mayo. 3. Tom Sheridan was the ones who supplied the girls with costumes to the ball at Dublin Castle. 4. She was painted by many artists, such as Sir Joshua Reynolds and Gavin Hamilton. One of her paintings were sold recently for about $1 million. 5. She was once courted by the Duke of Bridgwater. When scandal erupted concerning her sister Maria, the Duke presented her with an ultimatum: either she disowns her sister, or he won¿t marry her. She didn¿t disown Maria. The Duke retired to his castle, left society, and sworn off women. He later built the first canal in England.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2004

    Still My Favorite Author, But

    ...this was not one of her best. It was well written but not very romantic. Lately VH's last few books have been keeping the heroine and hero apart for most of the book. It makes it hard to see them as a couple. I also found this book depressing. It was very bitter-sweet, with more bitter and not enough sweets. This seems to be her pattern of late. All of the books VH has written after 1997 have been very disappointing. However, she was my first romance author and will forever be my favorite. I hope she goes back to writting romances like 'The Pirate and the Pagan' and 'The Hawk and the Dove'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2004

    Outstanding, beautifully written.

    This was my frist book I read from Mrs.Henley and I couldn't put it down. I found that Elizabeth character very realistic. She was young and naive and she became a strong woman to be able to resist what life had in stored for her. I love this book. I Highly recommended it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2004

    Depressing

    Although well written, the book was depressing. Not enough romance or love, too much sadness. This is the first Virginia Henley book I've read and will be the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2004

    It's a good read

    Virginia Henley usually delivers wonderful stories and steamy love scenes to the avid Romance reader. Undone, however, seemed less of a romance novel, and more of a character study of the book's heroine. Elizabth's journey from a young and timid girl to a self-assured woman was the crux of this story. The relationship between Elizabeth and her family was secondary. The importance of Elizabeth and John's relationship seemed to be a side plot. Sadly, I didn't truly believe in the love they shared or what it was based upon: Certainly not John's obsession with her incomparable beauty or Elizabeth's draw to his 'animal magnetism'! All that aside, Undone made for an enjoyable read, but left the reader wanting more depth, more passion, and more romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2004

    Her Best Yet!

    This is Virginia Henley's best yet. I enjoyed the entire plot and her use of animals in the story. A real page-turner! Didn't want to put it down. And the fact that it was based on real people was a nice twist. Let's have more in this tradition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2004

    An Emotional Captivator

    I absolutely loved this book. It is the first book by Virginia Henley I have read and will not be the last. I love historical romance books, and this one was true to the calling. It was so descriptive that I could imagine myself there with them. I got chill bumps and stomach flutters with every love scene and argument. And would find myself in the same mood of the characters. It took my to another place in time and allowed me to experience or feel what being in love like that could be like. It was a wonderful escape. One that followed me all day til I could get back and read some more. It was bitter sweet when I finished. I wanted more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2003

    a very good read

    i like v. henley. only book of hers i was a liitle dissappointed in was seduced. undone is a very good historical romance. it took elizabeth and john long enough to get together towards the end, though. i'm glad bridget is not my mother, i understand why maria was the way she was. read it, you'll like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2003

    Good read, but I have read better from V. Henley

    I have read more interesting stories from Virginia Henley. I couldn¿t seem to find the basis of the romance between Campbell and Elizabeth. Although they had some very romantic moments and some passionate love scenes I didn¿t feel like I really understood the hero. He came and went so sporadically I had a hard time understanding why they fell in love in the first place. The tragic story of her first husband was underdeveloped. I wanted to hate him but couldn¿t because I felt sorry for him. I would have liked to see John trounce the man at least once. The growth of Elizabeth was the saving grace of the book, she took some real strides toward adulthood, and her motherly instinct was touching and often a piece left out of historical romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2003

    A grand read!

    I read this book in one day! And that is with a 2 & 3.5 year old running around! This is the first book I have read by V. Henley and I look forward to reading her other works. Although I read this in a day, it should not be confused with minor or a simple book. It gives great detail and keeps one's attention. You understand everything about the characters - pure insight into their soul - except for Bridget's who is a kind of mommy dearest of the 1750s. Awesome read! Would put this up beside my copy of Gone with the Wind!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1