Customer Reviews for

Unearthly (Unearthly Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 705 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(457)

4 Star

(163)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

love it

Awesome Weekend Read. Loved it from beginning to end

posted by BookaholicTracy on January 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Don't bother...

I pride myself on always giving a book a chance to pick up later on so even if it starts out bad I always finish the book. This was not the case here. The story actually has a lot of promise but the writing is way below average. I couldn't make it through even the first...
I pride myself on always giving a book a chance to pick up later on so even if it starts out bad I always finish the book. This was not the case here. The story actually has a lot of promise but the writing is way below average. I couldn't make it through even the first few chapters before I put the book down and couldn't continue. A child writes as good or better than this author. I don't say that to be unjustly cruel it is just a fact. From the very beginning you are thrown right into the middle of a story that you feel has been going on sometime. It was like picking up any other book and opening to the 25th chapter. There was no introduction to the characters or the the families history. I realize some beginnings of books are very slow because they are giving you the background information but it is necessary to not feel like you are playing catch up through the whole book. In the first chapter I was left with more questions than answers and not the kind of questions you are SUPPOSED to figure out as the book goes on but the kind of questions that are in the details. The author gives no description of people or surroundings. It is like sitting down to coffee with a friend and having them give you a very condensed version of the last year of their life. I was originally very excited to pick up this book because as I said I really do think that the story would have been a good one if the writing had been of a higher standard.

posted by DarkDreamer4389 on February 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 709 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 36
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is actually a reread for me. I read Unearthly sometime last

    This is actually a reread for me. I read Unearthly sometime last year, I didn't have Hallowed at the time and Boundless wasn't even out yet so I decided to wait until it was before I kept going. I wanted to have a refresher as it's been a while, to make sure I remembered everything before I moved on. But lets face it, I also couldn't wait to read this again. Out of all the things that you could file under the Paranormal/Fantasy/Supernatural categories, angels is my most favorite thing to read about. And I think that so far out of every series about angels that I've read to date Unearthly is my absolute favorite.

    I found my self every bit as enchanted with it this read through as I was the first time. I still felt every thing just as strongly as when they happened the first read through, even though I knew and expected things to happen. And that to me, makes for a good book. The setting has me wishing I could drop everything and move to this town in Wyoming. The characters were all loveable and fun to read and the book itself was smooth and engaging from start to finish.

    It's the type of book that makes you think. What would you do? If you were there in that moment, and you had to make a choice between following your heart... choosing love, or going with duty and destiny, knowing that you could lose that love forever? A duty that's been drilled into your head, that it's the reason you were put on this earth. I dunno I suppose I'm just a romantic at heart because in the face of it all I'd probably choose love and say screw destiny..I'll make my own! Though I guess it's a little different if you're part angel and the destiny is coming from the Almighty! *Laughs nervously and waves at the ceiling* Okay no lightning strike so I think I'm in the clear.

    Anyway I'm super excited to finally be reading the last two books. So if like me you enjoy the YA books of the angelic kind Unearthly is your book. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Elexx5

    I ABSOLUTELY loved this book. It was something I could not set down and I kept reading till the wee hours of the morning. I started to get so into the book that I felt the emotions and thoughts of the main character, Clara. Definetely an interesting and intriguing book. I would recommend this to anyone. If you like this book, you'll want to read the rest of this series. What are you waiting for! I suggest you buy it now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Love the book, its like an angel blood version of Twilight.

    I love the book, Clara is your average straight A student, but she is also an angel blood. She moves to Wyoming, to fulfill her purpose, but she finds friends like Angela and Wendy. She also meets Tucker, Wendy's twin brother, and also her dream come true. She also meets Christian, who is the man in her visions, but he is going out with Kay, a diva. He seems to have a large part in her purpose though... Clara has to decide between Tucker, who she wants to be with and Christian, who she is meant to be with. I love Clara's careful, but outgoing personality and the storyline itself, it is hard to put down. If you are into love triangles and supernatural stories you might like this, it is a sweet and elegant tale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    !

    Hmm.. im sorry but if your looking for a really good read about finding out angels and love triangles, i recommend City of Bones by Cassandra Clare. Its a thousand times a better love story and a really good edgy urban fantasy book too. This book on the other hand pales in comparison. Sorry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Amazing

    I bought this book a while ago but never read it, not sure why but i didnt. I started reading it two days ago and i couldnt put it down!! I enjoyed it so much. One of the best books i have ever read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Excellent!

    What a great book. I could not put it down. I read it in less than two days!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    This is the first time I've truly enjoyed a book in the angel ge

    This is the first time I've truly enjoyed a book in the angel genre. I have read quite a few angel books, but most of the time I find them tacky and cliche. Unearthly had it's fair share of cliche's, but I enjoyed the characters so much that I almost didn't even notice the things that would normally bother me.

    I loved Cynthia Hand's writing. Especially in the first few chapters, I thought her writing was beautiful. As the story moves further along it loses a bit of the eloquence, but by that point I was so wrapped up in everything that I didn't care.

    I found the concept of a Purpose very interesting, especially since Clara has such diluted angel blood. She is only a quarter part angel. The way her Purpose is communicated to her was fascinating, coming in a dreamlike vision while she is wide awake. The love triangle was different than in most YA novels, and I liked the way Clara navigated her love life. I felt like she fell in love with the right guy. ;)

    Christian is a typical, overly gorgeous hero that most people seem to love and I never do. Not that there is really anything to dislike, but I just like Tucker more. Tucker is awesome. He is 100% adorable. His reaction to Clara was perfectly normal and I was happy to finally see that in a paranormal romance.

    I was left with a lot of questions about the story, which was probably intentional so that I will read the next books in the series. I couldn't help but wonder what Clara's brother was involved in, and why she didn't really seem too concerned about it. I also wondered what was the deal with the dark angel and why did he pop up in the story? Why was he even there?

    There were a few things that irritated me about the book, but I really enjoyed reading it. It was an intriguing book and I have to admit that I am hooked and will definitely be reading the rest of the series.

    The Cover: It's a nice representation of the actual story. It is similar to other books in the genre while still having a unique aspect about it. I LOVE the title design. I want to find that font...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Fantastic

    One of my favorites!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Amasing

    A must read about angles and life

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Love

    I love this book. It is one of my faves.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Deserves more than 5 stats

    This book is so good! I can't wait to read Hallowed. If you are thinking of buying this, DO IT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    OMG!!!!!!!!!

    Amazing
    I couldnt stop reading!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Best book ever!

    I love this book it is so good if you read fallen read this and if you read this read fallen

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Ponys

    FOUND YOU!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Great read!

    Read this in one sitting. Was hooked from the very beginning!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Unearthly and howlowed

    Love the book!! Vant wait to read the nexst book!! ;)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    LOVE! :D

    This book was just amazing i loved it to beging to the end! This was awsome i totally recomend it to anyone who loves fairy tales! :D Have fun reading the book!


    WARNING: This Book Is Very Hard To Put Down! :D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    I loved it

    I loved this book so much! It was awesome! Go tucker!!!!!!!!!!


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Good book

    It was a pretty good book. Recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Well-written

    I wasn't expecting much from this book, but to my surprise it's a good story, with good characters, and it's very well-written. If you're looking for a fun, easy read, then I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 709 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 36